Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Need advice on CRT (25k7197) hookup to Arcade VGA 3000.  (Read 1668 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

OldTimeArcader

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • Last login:July 07, 2022, 08:25:15 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Need advice on CRT (25k7197) hookup to Arcade VGA 3000.
« on: January 03, 2022, 01:46:16 pm »
Hi,

I wish to upgrade my hardware (just the PC minus the VGA 3000) to something more recent so I can run a newer Mame release.Would like to keep using my ArcadeVGA 3000 by Ultimarc and CRT (WG25k7197) in my arcade cabinet. 

I guess my question would be what would be a recommendation for the resolution software that would work with my old VGA 3000  (GroovyMAME?) and is there some type of walk through easy setup guide? I am also open to front end recommendations as I am not sure if  Maximus Arcade will work with newer versions of Mame. Have not done this for 8 years and i am a bit lost even in my old configuration lol.
So something not to complex would be appreciated.

Current config is Mame .144, Maximus Arcade, M.A.M.E. Resolution Tool v3.2, Winows vista.

Any help would be apricated. Thanks.
« Last Edit: January 03, 2022, 02:47:16 pm by OldTimeArcader »

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1433
  • Last login:Today at 07:06:41 am
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Need advice on CRT (25k7197) hookup to Arcade VGA 3000.
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2022, 05:38:50 pm »
Errr, i believe GroovyMAME's switchres module (that changes and adjusts resolutions for you) only works properly with crt_emudriver, and crt_emudriver won't work with an AVGA. You can still use GM, but you might need to disable switchres, which is really the point. Can you keep using the tools you already are? Ultimarc provide their own software tools for installing resolutions, don't they? I do know those tools sometimes fall over, and the usual advice is to talk to Andy at Ultimarc for support, but no one has ever posted back on here with a successful fix. It seems sometimes the Ultimarc drivers just won't install.

Sorry to be difficult, but for a complete solution you could look at grabbing a cheap Radeon HD 7450 for $30-$40 from eBay and then go the crt_emudriver route, which is a lot cleaner. And you might think about updating to Win10/11 which is going to be a lot more future-proof.

OldTimeArcader

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • Last login:July 07, 2022, 08:25:15 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Need advice on CRT (25k7197) hookup to Arcade VGA 3000.
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2022, 12:06:36 pm »
Thanks for the advice. I will reach out to Andy and make my decision from there.

OldTimeArcader

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • Last login:July 07, 2022, 08:25:15 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Need advice on CRT (25k7197) hookup to Arcade VGA 3000.
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2022, 05:10:41 pm »
Andy got back to me his response was "check on the Arcadecontrols.com forum, video section"  :laugh2:

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1433
  • Last login:Today at 07:06:41 am
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Need advice on CRT (25k7197) hookup to Arcade VGA 3000.
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2022, 07:20:47 pm »
For drivers, for software to install resolutions, or for solutions, though? I guess you could try searching...

I'm not sure what happens if you try to use the VMM tols from crt_emudriver with an AVGA, but you could give it a go.

jimj

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 112
  • Last login:Today at 09:03:32 am
Re: Need advice on CRT (25k7197) hookup to Arcade VGA 3000.
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2022, 12:09:41 pm »
My understanding is ArcadeVGA cards will work with GroovyMAME, but not CRT Emudriver.  If you don't want to go the GroovyMAME route you should still be able to use it with Ultimarc drivers in Windows.

Ultimarc drivers:
https://www.ultimarc.com/software-for-older-boards/
http://www.ultimarc2.com/avgadrivers.html

CRT Emudriver ArcadeVGA posts:
https://forums.arcade-museum.com/threads/looking-for-ultimarc-arcadevga-5000-card-pcie.476773/
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=157580.0
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=151781.0