Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Complete NOOB question re: buiding a controller  (Read 2337 times)

Vinni

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:November 18, 2021, 01:57:56 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Complete NOOB question re: buiding a controller
« on: November 17, 2021, 06:49:19 pm »
I'm about to attempt building a MAME controller (only for a single player) to hook to my PC. I would ideally like 2 joysticks, a trackball, a spinner, and about 12 buttons, as well as a few other buttons such as coin, start, etc. Is there any way to accomplish this with only 1 USB out to the computer? Will I need to use both the Optipac and Ulimarc boards? I only want to use quality parts, so any advice, thoughts would be welcome ... this looks to be a VERY expensive endeavour.

As an aside, do you think it would be more beneficial to me to buy kit parts and build a cheapo controller just to get my feet wet?

I know what I want, I think, I'm just not sure how to go about it.

Thanks for any help in advance.

PL1

• Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:Today at 10:37:59 am
  • Designated spam hunter
Re: Complete NOOB question re: buiding a controller
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2021, 07:23:54 pm »