Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Outrun 2 SP - Teknoparrot - Issues  (Read 3075 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

esoteric_rt

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 52
  • Last login:June 29, 2022, 05:27:54 pm
Outrun 2 SP - Teknoparrot - Issues
« on: January 08, 2022, 11:57:28 pm »
I'm converting a gutted Initial D to an Outrun 2. It's coming along, controls are hooked up and it plays pretty well.

A couple of issues to get feedback on:

1. SunHeightValue - Pretty frustrating when it hits you in the face. I know its been talked about a lot before and there isn't currently a fix? But what do these numbers actually do in the game settings? What number are you running to minimize the sun strike?

2. Scratchy audio - This occurs regularly when changing music etc. If you move to a different track it corrects itself. Is this common? I haven't seen much mention of this online. This problem exists on both 'Jennifer' and 'Jennifer_VGA'. I've tried it on separate PCs and issue remains. Perhaps I have a corrupted dump?

FYI - I'm running an Nvidia GT1030

Thanks
« Last Edit: January 09, 2022, 02:47:20 pm by esoteric_rt »

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1445
  • Last login:Today at 01:53:10 am
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Outrun 2 SP - Tecknoparrot - Issues
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2022, 12:34:21 am »
The problem is clearly that someone has pulled the CRT out of that cab and replaced it with an LCD :lol

I've noticed that scratchy audio too. It comes and goes. I though it was just my audio connections but hearing someone else say there's a problem makes me think you must be right. If that's the case, there probably isn't a fix unless the TP guys get onto it. You might think about submitting an issue on github.

Sunheightvalue i'm less sure of. I'm running at 1024x576, and it works really well on about 40, i think it is. Or just above default. Nice and glary when you're staring into the sun, as it should be, but not at other times.

esoteric_rt

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 52
  • Last login:June 29, 2022, 05:27:54 pm
Re: Outrun 2 SP - Tecknoparrot - Issues
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2022, 01:11:16 am »
Ha, yes the monitor was removed when I picked up the cabinet. I would have kept the original too as connecting a VGA PC would have been easy. But those hi-res monitors are hard to repair if they crap out. I thought about putting in a standard res monitor with CRT Emudriver but wasn't sure how Tecknoparrot would handle that. Plus OR2 looks great at full HD, so went with the LCD.

Somewhat good to hear that someone else has the audio issues and its not just my set-up...

I played around with the hack-sun numbers and can't see any consistency in what they do, its a bit of a mystery.

I really hope the Tecknoparrot team manage to put some more time into this game and get it running 100%. I think its one of, if not the best driving arcade game.

Anyone else, please speak up if you have any more info about this

Cheers

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1046
  • Last login:Yesterday at 08:17:52 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Outrun 2 SP - Tecknoparrot - Issues
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2022, 02:22:31 am »
run game with default elf running at normal resolution and no sun issue

its only if you try to upscale resolution and bunch of elfs have been hacked to try do that

esoteric_rt

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 52
  • Last login:June 29, 2022, 05:27:54 pm
Re: Outrun 2 SP - Tecknoparrot - Issues
« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2022, 03:22:20 am »
Yes, I had it running for awhile via the low res 'Jennifer_VGA' file and you are right, no sun issue. The crackling audio was still there though. Sadly I couldn't live with the low resolution, it was too pixelated. Even tried smoothing it out a bit with a scanline generator which made it look a bit better but still not good enough. Came to the conclusion that I preferred full HD, despite having to suffer the sun and audio issues.

MrThunderwing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 908
  • Last login:August 17, 2022, 02:01:27 pm
  • As I pass, do I give you the ass or the crotch?
Re: Outrun 2 SP - Tecknoparrot - Issues
« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2022, 07:13:52 am »
Oooooh, that cabinet looks nice!

esoteric_rt

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 52
  • Last login:June 29, 2022, 05:27:54 pm
Re: Outrun 2 SP - Tecknoparrot - Issues
« Reply #6 on: January 09, 2022, 02:46:37 pm »
Oooooh, that cabinet looks nice!

Its looking tidy now, I stripped the whole thing down and had the red parts powder-coated. Will look better once I have a full art package installed

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1445
  • Last login:Today at 01:53:10 am
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Outrun 2 SP - Tecknoparrot - Issues
« Reply #7 on: January 09, 2022, 07:35:46 pm »
run game with default elf running at normal resolution and no sun issue

its only if you try to upscale resolution and bunch of elfs have been hacked to try do that

What's the res on the default elf, as opposed to the jennifer_VGA elf?

esoteric_rt

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 52
  • Last login:June 29, 2022, 05:27:54 pm
Re: Outrun 2 SP - Tecknoparrot - Issues
« Reply #8 on: January 09, 2022, 07:51:18 pm »
run game with default elf running at normal resolution and no sun issue

its only if you try to upscale resolution and bunch of elfs have been hacked to try do that

What's the res on the default elf, as opposed to the jennifer_VGA elf?

800*480

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1445
  • Last login:Today at 01:53:10 am
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Outrun 2 SP - Tecknoparrot - Issues
« Reply #9 on: January 10, 2022, 03:16:39 am »
What's the res on the default elf, as opposed to the jennifer_VGA elf?

800*480

I see.

xbrunox

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 127
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:16:31 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Outrun 2 SP - Teknoparrot - Issues
« Reply #10 on: January 11, 2022, 03:40:46 pm »
Hi for outrun I use an older version of TP 1.0.0.320 in that version u can change resolution in TP options without a modified elf.... Personally I downgrade res tos 640x480 for a crt monitor... The grafico change to a 4:3 aspect ratio too unfortunally not the elements in foreground.

esoteric_rt

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 52
  • Last login:June 29, 2022, 05:27:54 pm
Re: Outrun 2 SP - Teknoparrot - Issues
« Reply #11 on: January 11, 2022, 06:20:49 pm »
Hi for outrun I use an older version of TP 1.0.0.320 in that version u can change resolution in TP options without a modified elf.... Personally I downgrade res tos 640x480 for a crt monitor... The grafico change to a 4:3 aspect ratio too unfortunally not the elements in foreground.

Interesting, how would one acquire that older version of Teknoparrot? I always keep mine updated

xbrunox

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 127
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:16:31 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Outrun 2 SP - Teknoparrot - Issues
« Reply #12 on: January 12, 2022, 02:05:54 am »
If is possible share I've a mega link

flybynight

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 57
  • Last login:August 13, 2022, 06:15:32 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Outrun 2 SP - Tecknoparrot - Issues
« Reply #13 on: January 15, 2022, 04:49:30 pm »
run game with default elf running at normal resolution and no sun issue

its only if you try to upscale resolution and bunch of elfs have been hacked to try do that

What's the res on the default elf, as opposed to the jennifer_VGA elf?

800*480


My CRTs are quad sync 4:3 and I run it 640x480. The cars look a little squished but it plays fine. Is there a way to patch a perfect 640x480 jennifer binary?


buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1445
  • Last login:Today at 01:53:10 am
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Outrun 2 SP - Teknoparrot - Issues
« Reply #14 on: January 15, 2022, 09:10:01 pm »
The tekonparrot resolution patcher doesn't adjust the aspect ratio, from memory. I'm running OR2SPSDX at 1024x576@50i (has to be done in a bordless window but fill the screen). I save that particular res for 16:9 games, and so i used ArcadeOSD tool in the crt_emudriver suite to stretch only that one modeline so it looks right on my 4:3 screens (while chopping off the sides, of course.) This works really well for most games.

Apart from that, you might think about running it letterboxed in a window. There must be a tool out there that can black out the rest of the screen as well.

FYI that running OR2 windowed means you'll also need to throttle the FPS using something like RTSS or SpecialK