Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: 3D games not displaying?  (Read 2220 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

gozaimas

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
  • Last login:October 24, 2021, 02:30:41 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
3D games not displaying?
« on: October 24, 2021, 01:44:46 pm »
Hi all -- long time GM user here run a GM set-up on an original New Astro City cab, with a Nanao MS9 screen.

I recently had to reinstall resolutions on my GM PC set-up, and now, for some strange reason, a bunch of 3D games are no longer working (all of my other stuff - Neo Geo, CPS 2-3 boards etc all working fine). These are things like Strider 2, Rival Schools, Virtua Fighter - so not new games at all. When I try to load them in I just get a black screen and can't even call up the same overlay menu. I'm guessing it's trying to run these games in a resolution that is unsupported by my cab?

I'm running the latest rom set, and the latest version of GM, so I have no idea what's wrong. I've attached my mame.ini here. Could someone take a look and see if there's anything obvious wrong here?

PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8967
  • Last login:Today at 08:59:21 am
  • Designated spam hunter
Re: 3D games not displaying?
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2021, 01:50:55 pm »
anything obvious wrong here?
From Calamity's sig:
Quote
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.


Scott

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7287
  • Last login:August 09, 2022, 04:01:28 am
  • Quote me with care
Re: 3D games not displaying?
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2021, 02:03:06 pm »
Anyway: kown bug in 0.236, will be fixed in next release (this week hopefully).
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead of pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

gozaimas

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
  • Last login:October 24, 2021, 02:30:41 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: 3D games not displaying?
« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2021, 02:31:12 pm »
Thanks for letting me know, and apologies re: log. If the issue persists after the next drop, I'll post an example rom log, as suggested.