Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Megatouch Force 2004  (Read 3585 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Carlm1975

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • Last login:September 23, 2021, 11:06:20 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Megatouch Force 2004
« on: September 22, 2021, 01:40:11 pm »
Hi everyone. I'm looking for some help. I have a megatouch force 2004 and the screen has blown. I've connected the pc up to another screen and wanted to know if it's possible to use a mouse instead of touchscreen. I've plugged in a usb mouse but it does nothing. Also as soon as i disconnect the touchscreen adapter, it fails to boot. It's there a way of deactivating the touchscreen and going old school with a mouse?

lilshawn

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6877
  • Last login:Today at 05:58:39 pm
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: Megatouch Force 2004
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2021, 05:55:12 pm »
in short, no.

the game needs everything attached to work. you'll have to fix the screen.

if it's a force LCD game it's likely just the backlight/power board. you can get them from LCDPART.NET just plunk the part number into their site and they will come back with a replacement that plugs right in.

if it's a force CRT game, there are a few guides around to fix them. usually it's just capacitors old and dried out that are keeping it from coming on.  have a look around on the board it should have a sticker on it that says TYPE XX it will be like TYPE 51 or something of that nature. I think most of the monitors where from a company called TELCO.

Megatouchmike

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 79
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:40:52 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Megatouch Force 2004
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2021, 02:39:45 am »
Depending upon if you're Linux savvy, you can change a few command line parameters to get the game to display a mouse cursor. A ps/2 mouse should work for operating most of the games.

Carlm1975

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • Last login:September 23, 2021, 11:06:20 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Megatouch Force 2004
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2021, 03:52:12 am »
Thanks for this info. How do i get into the command lines. Firstly to disable it checking for the touchscreen and to then add the mouse command?

navaroli

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • Last login:April 07, 2022, 10:14:21 pm
Re: Megatouch Force 2004
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2022, 03:58:42 pm »
I had a similar issue on my Force Radion machine a while back.  I ended up purchasing a 3M touch screen monitor from Ebay (model 11-81375-227) for about $75, and it worked without issue as a direct replacement.  The game recognizes the touchscreen controller and doesn't complain.

I placed the Force mobo + I/O board in a computer case (discarding the money-handling hardware), and works like new on freeplay.  A lot lighter too :D.