Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Ridge Racer 2 and Rave Racer link play working in MAME WIP test build.  (Read 2301 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

flybynight

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
  • Last login:Today at 11:41:20 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Over on the UKVAC forums, John Bennett has posted a WIP build of MAME with his Ridge Racer 2 and Rave Racer link play code working for testing. More details in his post at the link below

www.ukvac.com/forum/ridge-racer-full-scale-3-screens_topic378519_page2.html

Hopefully John submits the code to the main branch of MAME. It's great to have another driver cab working in link play. We are spoiled with all the link play progress lately :)

Hydreigon

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
  • Last login:October 24, 2021, 02:45:45 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Ridge Racer 2 and Rave Racer link play working in MAME WIP test build.
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2021, 10:08:44 pm »
Sadly the forum is inaccessible for non UK VAC members.

I'm praying for Konami network play as well.

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1010
  • Last login:Today at 02:14:27 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Ridge Racer 2 and Rave Racer link play working in MAME WIP test build.
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2021, 10:37:19 pm »
very cool

it takes all of 2 mins to quickly sign up to their forum so not a huge deal. I just registered and grabbed link etc

*EDIT*
actually i see John Bennett already gave permission for link and info to be posted elsewhere so here is his post below

Ok, I've not done anything much on this in a while, but folk wanted to have a try of the multiplayer linkup WIP.
So, if you download this link, you should be able to have a go at:
Rave Racer
Ridge Racer2

https://philwip.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/09/Mamejb_1.zip

Install it then get the ROMs for those 2 games.

In the folder you will see some batch files
linkup1_to_2.bat
linkup2_to_1.bat

Run both of these to open 2 MAME instances and open the game twice.
It will run like sh*te (1fps) until both instances are open as there's a comms wait in there I need to improve somehow.

Anyway when both running, go into the service menu (Tab, dip switches) and set the CPU number to 2 in the second player and maybe pick a different car colour). Unset the dip to save it. MAME should have two sets of configuration folders - one for each instance. It might be a pain to do as the keyboard may input to both sides, but you should be able to muddle through.

It should now work with 2 players on one PC. Windows will ask for access rights for MAME - say yes. This is because it uses 'globalcomms' to link the games up, the same way the Sega stuff does.

If you read up on how to use that, you should be able to put one instance on another PC over a LAN. It'll involve editing the addresses in the bat files. I've never tried it.


If you want a play of fullscale, then so linkups1_to2, 2_to_3 and 3_to_1 (as it's 3 instances). I think I set the jumpers right for it to run. It's obviously a technicolour nightmare with bad video ROMs. Needs a beefy PC, but it's now spreading the load over multiple cores, unlike one instance of MAME, so I can run it at 60fps here

3 or more players craps out on RR2 and Rave Racer - too many dropped packets in the chain. I need to think of a sync method, but it's hard when there is no 'master' PCB in the Namco system (all boards are considered equal).

Ignore any other 'supported' games in this mini-build - just things I've been dicking on with. You'll want to turn scanlines down too - not appropriate for VGA games and looks awful.

Anyway, this is NOT any kind of official release and I don't know when I'll get to work on it again, but consider yourselves playtesters if you like.

« Last Edit: October 07, 2021, 10:43:33 pm by Boomslang »

flybynight

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
  • Last login:Today at 11:41:20 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Ridge Racer 2 and Rave Racer link play working in MAME WIP test build.
« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2021, 03:50:31 am »
If you are using two PC's, add these to the mame.ini file:

PC#1 Left side, Car 1, hostname: PC1 mame.ini settings:

# CORE COMM OPTIONS
comm_localhost            0.0.0.0
comm_localport            15111
comm_remotehost           PC2
comm_remoteport           15112
comm_framesync            0

PC#2 Right side, Car 2, hostname: PC2 mame.ini settings:

# CORE COMM OPTIONS
comm_localhost            0.0.0.0
comm_localport            15112
comm_remotehost           PC1
comm_remoteport           15111
comm_framesync            0




Then start up PC2, launch the game and tap F2 to enter service mode. Set it to Car 2 and change the colour to Yellow.


« Last Edit: October 08, 2021, 08:05:23 am by flybynight »

MrThunderwing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 815
  • Last login:Yesterday at 04:22:07 pm
  • As I pass, do I give you the ass or the crotch?
Re: Ridge Racer 2 and Rave Racer link play working in MAME WIP test build.
« Reply #4 on: October 08, 2021, 01:56:16 pm »
Thanks for sharing the link and the info from the site Boomslang. I've created a single batch file for each game that'll load both versions of MAME (P1 & P2) at the same time and go directly into the game without having to navigate the MAME GUI. I'm sure you all know how to make batch files, but for anyone who doesn't, just add the following text into a notepad file then save it with the extension .bat on the end of whatever you call it.

for Rave Racer add the following:
start /b jb_build64.exe raveracw -w -cfg_directory cfg -nvram_directory nvram1 -comm_localport 15111 -comm_remoteport 15112 -comm_localhost 0.0.0.0 -comm_remotehost 127.0.0.1
start /b jb_build64.exe raveracw -w -cfg_directory cfg2 -nvram_directory nvram2 -comm_localport 15112 -comm_remoteport 15111 -comm_localhost 0.0.0.0 -comm_remotehost 127.0.0.1

For Ridge Racer 2:
start /b jb_build64.exe ridgera2 -w -cfg_directory cfg -nvram_directory nvram1 -comm_localport 15111 -comm_remoteport 15112 -comm_localhost 0.0.0.0 -comm_remotehost 127.0.0.1
start /b jb_build64.exe ridgera2 -w -cfg_directory cfg2 -nvram_directory nvram2 -comm_localport 15112 -comm_remoteport 15111 -comm_localhost 0.0.0.0 -comm_remotehost 127.0.0.1

Navigating the test menu was a bit of a pain in the arse as I was trying to figure out what keys you press to select the options. Pressing F2 will take you straight into the test menu without having to use the dipswitch options. Once in there, use the left arrow key on the keyboard to move through the options. Use the ctrl button (the default accelerator) to select the option you want and use left and right arrow keys to select the car number and the CPU number (I think it was under 'machine options' off the top of my head).
« Last Edit: October 08, 2021, 08:23:42 pm by MrThunderwing »

Hydreigon

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
  • Last login:October 24, 2021, 02:45:45 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Ridge Racer 2 and Rave Racer link play working in MAME WIP test build.
« Reply #5 on: October 09, 2021, 12:32:04 pm »
very cool

it takes all of 2 mins to quickly sign up to their forum so not a huge deal. I just registered and grabbed link etc
If you don't live in Europe or UK, then it's virtually impossible to register because they restrict IP address ranges within certain countries. I'd rather not resort to lying/cheating by using a VPN either.

Done some extensive testing and JB was correct, only a few games work (can't get other games like Cyber Cycles to link for the lolz). I'm starting to feel sorry because of all the setbacks in emulating this device. I personally consider this a supercharged RS232.

MrThunderwing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 815
  • Last login:Yesterday at 04:22:07 pm
  • As I pass, do I give you the ass or the crotch?
Re: Ridge Racer 2 and Rave Racer link play working in MAME WIP test build.
« Reply #6 on: October 09, 2021, 01:35:43 pm »
very cool

it takes all of 2 mins to quickly sign up to their forum so not a huge deal. I just registered and grabbed link etc
If you don't live in Europe or UK, then it's virtually impossible to register because they restrict IP address ranges within certain countries. I'd rather not resort to lying/cheating by using a VPN either.

Done some extensive testing and JB was correct, only a few games work (can't get other games like Cyber Cycles to link for the lolz). I'm starting to feel sorry because of all the setbacks in emulating this device. I personally consider this a supercharged RS232.

...? You don't need to register there, Boomslang put a link to download the special RR build from in his comment, along with the information from the UKVAC thread. I got the 2 Player build set up last night.


MrThunderwing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 815
  • Last login:Yesterday at 04:22:07 pm
  • As I pass, do I give you the ass or the crotch?
Re: Ridge Racer 2 and Rave Racer link play working in MAME WIP test build.
« Reply #7 on: October 09, 2021, 01:42:31 pm »
If you want a play of fullscale, then so linkups1_to2, 2_to_3 and 3_to_1 (as it's 3 instances). I think I set the jumpers right for it to run. It's obviously a technicolour nightmare with bad video ROMs. Needs a beefy PC, but it's now spreading the load over multiple cores, unlike one instance of MAME, so I can run it at 60fps here


Has anyone figured out how to get the full scale version into the 3 screen mode? I've got the correct ROM, I've got my -comm_localport and -comm_remoteport all setup correctly in my batch file for the 3 versions of MAME, but when they open up, they're acting like 3 separate machines that aren't linked. I've had a look in the game's test menu to see if there's an option there to get them linked up, but I couldn't see anything. Anyone figured it out?

Edit: NVM JB has replied to me over at UKVAC.
« Last Edit: October 09, 2021, 05:16:27 pm by MrThunderwing »

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1010
  • Last login:Today at 02:14:27 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Ridge Racer 2 and Rave Racer link play working in MAME WIP test build.
« Reply #8 on: October 09, 2021, 07:40:50 pm »
very cool

it takes all of 2 mins to quickly sign up to their forum so not a huge deal. I just registered and grabbed link etc
If you don't live in Europe or UK, then it's virtually impossible to register because they restrict IP address ranges within certain countries. I'd rather not resort to lying/cheating by using a VPN either.

Done some extensive testing and JB was correct, only a few games work (can't get other games like Cyber Cycles to link for the lolz). I'm starting to feel sorry because of all the setbacks in emulating this device. I personally consider this a supercharged RS232.

Hm strange. I live in New Zealand but had no issues

*EDIT*

John Bennett has tried to make forum account here but says he never gets sent the confirmation email?
« Last Edit: October 09, 2021, 07:47:59 pm by Boomslang »

PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 8580
  • Last login:Today at 05:15:00 pm
  • Designated spam hunter
Re: Ridge Racer 2 and Rave Racer link play working in MAME WIP test build.
« Reply #9 on: October 09, 2021, 08:34:53 pm »
John Bennett has tried to make forum account here but says he never gets sent the confirmation email?
Saint has run into this issue before.   :banghead:
Multiple services, including Hotmail, flag activity from the arcadecontrols.com server as SPAM and deny it. I don't know how to resolve this, I have made efforts before with various services as per whatever instructions they give to get off their spam list, but since the server sends people notifications and other bits of automated email in fairly high volume, our server gets flagged as SPAM-sending, even though all the emails are legitimate and opt-in.

I don't have a way to fix this, though it's been some time since I looked.

Boomslang, can you ask John Bennett to try registering here with another e-mail address?
- Hopefully he has one on a domain that doesn't flag activity from the arcadecontrols.com server as spam.


Scott

flybynight

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
  • Last login:Today at 11:41:20 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Ridge Racer 2 and Rave Racer link play working in MAME WIP test build.
« Reply #10 on: October 11, 2021, 03:17:25 pm »
The SMTP email transactions logs on the server will have the full details on the reason for the failed email delivery. At a guess it looks like the email server IP is listed on the RATS blacklist.

https://www.spamrats.com/lookup.php?ip=74.208.43.115
(74.208.43.115 is the IP of the forum server)



Some email providers will reject  messages at time of connection if the incoming SMTP connection is on a blacklist.


1. The webmaster can request a de-listing here:
https://www.spamrats.com/rats-spam.php?ip=74.208.43.115#removal



2. Also the webmaster could ask the hosting company to "set up a reverse DNS PTR record for 74.208.43.115 to reverse to mail.arcadecontrols.com" (FQDN of the sending SMTP server) as the current PTR record is odd (74.208.43.115 PTR is set to u21482513.onlinehome-server.com)


« Last Edit: October 11, 2021, 03:26:53 pm by flybynight »

John Bennett

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • Last login:October 18, 2021, 06:15:57 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Ridge Racer 2 and Rave Racer link play working in MAME WIP test build.
« Reply #11 on: October 12, 2021, 02:00:36 am »
Hi everyone, and thanks for sorting  :). I was going to look into another email address, I just donít have many as Iíd get too disorganised.


John Bennett

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • Last login:October 18, 2021, 06:15:57 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Ridge Racer 2 and Rave Racer link play working in MAME WIP test build.
« Reply #12 on: October 12, 2021, 07:32:49 am »
Done some extensive testing and JB was correct, only a few games work (can't get other games like Cyber Cycles to link for the lolz). I'm starting to feel sorry because of all the setbacks in emulating this device. I personally consider this a supercharged RS232.

It's fair to assume that anything not listed (Drivers eyes, fullscale, RR2, Rave Racer) will NOT work.

It's basically because this device takes up to a 4K block of data and shoves it out over a 1MBit RS232-like interface to another chip, which will write to 4k on that game board.
The chip has various registers that we don't fully understand that are read or written to and each game seems to do something different that I haven't seen before (full scale is maybe the simplest). It also looks like the chip manipulates the data too, just to add to the pain (appending bits onto ends of frames etc). So for every game I have to implement something different -it's almost like I've written 4 different chip drivers so-far!.

I did start to look at Ace Driver and I'll come back to it again at some point.
I'm sure I'll get a better picture once more stuff is working.
What doesn't help is that global comms drops bytes too and I've not worked out a good way to synchonise multiple instances yet (Sega have a 'master' PCB in their linkups, this stuff is just a big loop of identical priority boards). I had some ideas. It'd be great to see more than 2 on a linkup without it falling over.

System2 stuff I couldn't get anywhere with, other than to pass the loopback test in the settings. Made me think it couldn't tolerate any dropped data. I've got a final-lap setup I could fire up one day if I had to.

Anyway, so busy this year I'm not sure if I'll get anything done short-term, but I will at some point

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1010
  • Last login:Today at 02:14:27 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Ridge Racer 2 and Rave Racer link play working in MAME WIP test build.
« Reply #13 on: October 12, 2021, 01:51:50 pm »
Frustrating that each game seems so different. It would be great to get more then 2p supported like you said, look forward to more updates

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1010
  • Last login:Today at 02:14:27 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Ridge Racer 2 and Rave Racer link play working in MAME WIP test build.
« Reply #14 on: October 12, 2021, 08:52:15 pm »
Done some extensive testing and JB was correct, only a few games work (can't get other games like Cyber Cycles to link for the lolz). I'm starting to feel sorry because of all the setbacks in emulating this device. I personally consider this a supercharged RS232.

It's fair to assume that anything not listed (Drivers eyes, fullscale, RR2, Rave Racer) will NOT work.

It's basically because this device takes up to a 4K block of data and shoves it out over a 1MBit RS232-like interface to another chip, which will write to 4k on that game board.
The chip has various registers that we don't fully understand that are read or written to and each game seems to do something different that I haven't seen before (full scale is maybe the simplest). It also looks like the chip manipulates the data too, just to add to the pain (appending bits onto ends of frames etc). So for every game I have to implement something different -it's almost like I've written 4 different chip drivers so-far!.

I did start to look at Ace Driver and I'll come back to it again at some point.
I'm sure I'll get a better picture once more stuff is working.
What doesn't help is that global comms drops bytes too and I've not worked out a good way to synchonise multiple instances yet (Sega have a 'master' PCB in their linkups, this stuff is just a big loop of identical priority boards). I had some ideas. It'd be great to see more than 2 on a linkup without it falling over.

System2 stuff I couldn't get anywhere with, other than to pass the loopback test in the settings. Made me think it couldn't tolerate any dropped data. I've got a final-lap setup I could fire up one day if I had to.

Anyway, so busy this year I'm not sure if I'll get anything done short-term, but I will at some point

Have you looked at Dirt Dash at all?

John Bennett

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • Last login:October 18, 2021, 06:15:57 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Ridge Racer 2 and Rave Racer link play working in MAME WIP test build.
« Reply #15 on: October 18, 2021, 05:54:54 pm »
Nope, haven't looked at Dirt Dash at all.
I was going to have another look at Ace Driver when I got a moment, although need to clear a few other projects out the way.

Something I just noticed - Ridge Racer 2's manual suggests it only supports pairs of cabinets, whereas I tried 3 and it didn't work, so maybe you need to try 4.

Does anyone know a good way to set the controls/focus to just one instance of MAME? It's really annoying trying to edit one game and changing the settings for four  :angry:

JoeShmo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • Last login:Today at 05:00:31 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Ridge Racer 2 and Rave Racer link play working in MAME WIP test build.
« Reply #16 on: October 23, 2021, 09:45:56 am »
I happen to have a physical RR2 (twin version) cabinet that I'm in the process of converting to MAME.  So if you want to know how anything looks/connects physically on this cabinet, let me know.  One thing that's odd is this cabinet is a SINGLE cabinet, yet has two complete games in it; two board sets, two power supplies, etc..  So it's odd that cabinets would have to connect in pairs.  I'll have to take a look at the link connectors, and see if the two are already linked in some way.

Does anyone know a good way to set the controls/focus to just one instance of MAME? It's really annoying trying to edit one game and changing the settings for four  :angry:

I'm using MultiSeat for this (linux), which allows you to have two players share a single computer but having two of everything connected.  You assign USB, PCI, and Video devices to each "seat".  Each player has their own mame config, but all the roms and such are stored centrally.  Not sure if such a setup would help or hinder you having to change settings for four.  You'd still have to edit four config files, then just tell the other instances to restart (or send them SIGHUP to re-read config if mame supports that)
« Last Edit: October 23, 2021, 09:50:41 am by JoeShmo »