Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Golden Tee 2005 - replace original monitor with available alternatives  (Read 2817 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

jacko1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
  • Last login:October 17, 2021, 07:25:03 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
My friend's Golden Tee 2005 monitor died and we're trying to figure out how to replace it with something that's readily available, even if it's only a temporary fix.  A local arcade repair person told him (well supposedly, I wasn't there and my friend may have misunderstood) we can connect a regular VGA monitor directly to the video card bypassing the extra stuff that makes it work with the original arcade monitor.  Does that sound correct?

As I'm searching online everything I read suggests that will not work, and that some kind of extra converter will still be needed but I may be confusing different things.  Unfortunately we are both new to working with actual arcade machines.

I have a small LCD TV with VGA, a Sony 4:3 SDTV CRT that probably has component, and I think I still have a couple 21" CRT monitors with VGA packed away.

I will add a bit of backstory, he got this Golden Tee 2005 maybe 3 or 4 months ago, it was fully playable but on the first night of playing it was already freezing now and then.  This local repair person put the power supply in and it seemed fine.  Maybe an hour or two later the monitor was getting screwy, then the monitor shut off and never worked again.  The repair person went back and told him it needs a new monitor.
« Last Edit: September 16, 2021, 02:52:07 pm by jacko1 »

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6090
  • Last login:Yesterday at 02:47:53 am
Re: Golden Tee 2005 - replace original monitor with available alternatives
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2021, 05:03:00 pm »
i think its a medium res game hence the vga direct will not work

 why not just get the chassis repaired?

you could use a cga/ega to converter with an lcd or vga monitor, something like a gbs8200 will do and they are cheap

jacko1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
  • Last login:October 17, 2021, 07:25:03 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Golden Tee 2005 - replace original monitor with available alternatives
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2021, 06:14:50 pm »
i think its a medium res game hence the vga direct will not work

 why not just get the chassis repaired?

you could use a cga/ega to converter with an lcd or vga monitor, something like a gbs8200 will do and they are cheap
Ok so that clears it up, it does need a converter, he misheard what the repair person said, I guess the repair person said that only some monitors would work directly connected.

What do you mean by get the chassis repaired?  Repairing the original arcade monitor?  Or replacing the original arcade monitor?  I don't know for sure but I assume it's beyond repair, the repair person told him to find an LCD and convert as it will be much cheaper.

nitrogen_widget

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1654
  • Last login:May 17, 2022, 08:45:24 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Golden Tee 2005 - replace original monitor with available alternatives
« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2021, 07:05:38 pm »
what was the monitor doing wrong?

lilshawn

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6861
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:47:26 pm
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: Golden Tee 2005 - replace original monitor with available alternatives
« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2021, 11:52:16 pm »
as mentioned before here, http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,129561.msg1325609/topicseen.html#msg1325609

all the IT green/red board games use non-standard video resolutions. not normally an issue for CRT monitors where you can just tweak the ol' horizontal and vertical hold to dial in a picture, computer monitors, especally LCD's are pretty picky with resolutions being within the established standard.

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6090
  • Last login:Yesterday at 02:47:53 am
Re: Golden Tee 2005 - replace original monitor with available alternatives
« Reply #5 on: September 17, 2021, 02:19:53 am »
you can get the odd monitor beyond repair or beyond economical repair, for example if a part such as a flyback is no longer available or the tube is damaged. The majority of the time chassis can be repaired.

If you could post some photo's of the chassis and find out what the actual problem is from the tech that visited

in the uk these cabs were fitted with hantarex polo 2 auto monitors, I would expect usa to have either wells gardner or neotec

maybe if you are in a hurry to get the cab running then fit a lcd and converter as a temporary measure and then search for someone to fix the original monitor, there are plenty of repair techs in the usa and some of which will be on this forum

jacko1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
  • Last login:October 17, 2021, 07:25:03 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Golden Tee 2005 - replace original monitor with available alternatives
« Reply #6 on: September 17, 2021, 02:21:13 pm »
Is there a converter that goes directly to HDMI?  I found one on AliExpress but no idea if it's any good.  If not, is there a recommended second converter that will take the VGA from the GB-8200/8220 to HDMI without adding lag/problems/etc. ?


what was the monitor doing wrong?
It kinda went on/off a couple times and then just off and that was it.


as mentioned before here, http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,129561.msg1325609/topicseen.html#msg1325609

all the IT green/red board games use non-standard video resolutions. not normally an issue for CRT monitors where you can just tweak the ol' horizontal and vertical hold to dial in a picture, computer monitors, especally LCD's are pretty picky with resolutions being within the established standard.
The repair person said to purchase a GB-8200/8220, and also mentioned the switches so I'm guessing that means switch to standard resolution.  That will work won't it?


you can get the odd monitor beyond repair or beyond economical repair, for example if a part such as a flyback is no longer available or the tube is damaged. The majority of the time chassis can be repaired.

If you could post some photo's of the chassis and find out what the actual problem is from the tech that visited

in the uk these cabs were fitted with hantarex polo 2 auto monitors, I would expect usa to have either wells gardner or neotec

maybe if you are in a hurry to get the cab running then fit a lcd and converter as a temporary measure and then search for someone to fix the original monitor, there are plenty of repair techs in the usa and some of which will be on this forum
I wasn't there to discuss it with the repair person myself but if I understand correctly the original monitor is beyond repair, or perhaps as you say beyond economical repair.

We are planning to get something temporary going as my friend will apparently die if he cannot play Golden Tee for a few weeks, and continue looking for a monitor that fits well and has VGA.