Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Fps drops with modern games  (Read 2906 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

lumark

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
  • Last login:September 08, 2021, 05:07:09 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Fps drops with modern games
« on: July 24, 2021, 02:13:17 am »
Hello everyone,

I have a PC with an AMD 4650 gpu connect to a CRT SONY Trintron TV using crtemudriver.
If I run Mame games everything works properly, the issue comes when I try to play 'modern games' on my TV.
If I play Outrun2 coast to coast (Pc version, not the emulated one) the frame drops to 30fps, but the weird thing is that if I run the same title on a Pc monitor, on the same machine the frame goes back to 60 and everything is smooth and delicious.(Tried different resolutions, same results)
Same thing happens with Sonic Mania or Devil Engine, just to give you guys some other titles.
I think it could be a directx related issue.Does anyone have the same issue or could give me any advice how to fix that?
Thanks!

psakhis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 210
  • Last login:Today at 08:05:03 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Fps drops with modern games
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2021, 04:19:48 am »
Hi,

probably these games are using 640x480@30hz modeline from your settings.

Install and try another modeline resolution with vmmaker, for example at 646@483@60hz, and change to it before executing the game.


lumark

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
  • Last login:September 08, 2021, 05:07:09 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Fps drops with modern games
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2021, 05:03:27 am »
Hi,

probably these games are using 640x480@30hz modeline from your settings.

Install and try another modeline resolution with vmmaker, for example at 646@483@60hz, and change to it before executing the game.

Thanks for answering me back, I' m using Windows 10 and from Display settings it already says 640x480@60Hz.

psakhis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 210
  • Last login:Today at 08:05:03 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Fps drops with modern games
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2021, 11:43:36 am »
This doesn't matter..if the game can run at another resolution, try it.

Substring

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 676
  • Last login:Today at 12:27:33 pm
  • Forking GroovyArcade
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,160023.0.html
    • GroovyArcade active fork
Re: Fps drops with modern games
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2021, 07:28:57 am »
My 2 cents: 640x480 on a consummer TV means it runs on interlaced, so despite a 60Hz, that's 30 full frames per second ...
GroovyMAME / GroovyArcade discord: https://discord.gg/YtQ6pJh
GroovyArcade doc: https://gitlab.com/groovyarcade/support/-/wikis/home

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1214
  • Last login:Today at 06:12:25 pm
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Fps drops with modern games
« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2021, 08:28:58 pm »
There used to be a problem with crt_emudriver where games using interlaced modes would run at half speed. Older cards, certainly. Older builds of the driver too? The only fix used to be to do with sync polarity, IIRC, but some monitors couldn't handle it.

This is a thread about the issue: http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=154706.0

Make sure the version of crt_emudriver is up to date, might be a starting point.


lumark

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
  • Last login:September 08, 2021, 05:07:09 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Fps drops with modern games
« Reply #6 on: July 26, 2021, 09:55:09 am »
The only fix used to be to do with sync polarity, IIRC, but some monitors couldn't handle it.
Make sure the version of crt_emudriver is up to date, might be a starting point.

Thanks, yes driver version is up to date (ver 2.0 beta 15).
How can I do the sync polarity thing you mentioned?
Is there a guide or tutorial that I can follow?Sorry, but I have no idea what sync polarity is.

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1214
  • Last login:Today at 06:12:25 pm
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Fps drops with modern games
« Reply #7 on: July 26, 2021, 07:55:21 pm »
There is a sticky at the top of this forum about monitor presets. At the top, in purple, you will see the terms in the VMM modeline. Hsyncpol and Vsyncpol are the sync polarities. I'm not sure which one you want to mess with, or even if it will work right :/

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7178
  • Last login:October 10, 2021, 07:55:06 am
  • Quote me with care
Re: Fps drops with modern games
« Reply #8 on: July 27, 2021, 12:55:26 pm »
Thanks buttersoft, I almost forgot the sync polarity hack. Iirc I used to apply it to both hsync and vsync.

E.g., for arcade_15, change this:

 crt_range0  15625-16200, 49.50-65.00, 2.000, 4.700, 8.000, 0.064, 0.192, 1.024, 0, 0, 192, 288, 448, 576

by this:

 crt_range0  15625-16200, 49.50-65.00, 2.000, 4.700, 8.000, 0.064, 0.192, 1.024, 1, 1, 192, 288, 448, 576


No idea if this still works.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

lumark

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
  • Last login:September 08, 2021, 05:07:09 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Fps drops with modern games
« Reply #9 on: July 28, 2021, 07:08:30 am »
Thanks buttersoft, I almost forgot the sync polarity hack. Iirc I used to apply it to both hsync and vsync.

E.g., for arcade_15, change this:

 crt_range0  15625-16200, 49.50-65.00, 2.000, 4.700, 8.000, 0.064, 0.192, 1.024, 0, 0, 192, 288, 448, 576

by this:

 crt_range0  15625-16200, 49.50-65.00, 2.000, 4.700, 8.000, 0.064, 0.192, 1.024, 1, 1, 192, 288, 448, 576


No idea if this still works.

Thank you SO much guys for all the infos!I ll let you know if it works!

lumark

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
  • Last login:September 08, 2021, 05:07:09 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Fps drops with modern games
« Reply #10 on: July 28, 2021, 11:24:56 am »
Thanks buttersoft, I almost forgot the sync polarity hack. Iirc I used to apply it to both hsync and vsync.

E.g., for arcade_15, change this:

 crt_range0  15625-16200, 49.50-65.00, 2.000, 4.700, 8.000, 0.064, 0.192, 1.024, 0, 0, 192, 288, 448, 576

by this:

 crt_range0  15625-16200, 49.50-65.00, 2.000, 4.700, 8.000, 0.064, 0.192, 1.024, 1, 1, 192, 288, 448, 576

No idea if this still works.


It works!!!...Thank you SO SUPER much!...Outrun2 is gorgeous @60fps!...but for some reasons Sonic Mania runs at 50fps instead of 60, i've tried to disable v-sync but it doesnt work...still 50fps

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1214
  • Last login:Today at 06:12:25 pm
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Fps drops with modern games
« Reply #11 on: July 28, 2021, 07:05:24 pm »
How are you disabling v-sync? crt_emudriver itself doesn't have that ability, does it? There is a version of Radeon Settings you can install, and you used to be able to use CCC for older versions of the driver. I'm asking mostly for interest's sake, any method is good.

One thing you can try is using RTSS (RivaTuner Statistics Server). That program will allow you to disable v-sync and then framelimit applications to what you want. (I *think* it lets you disable v-sync, you might need to use your old method first). If this doesn't work, try running the game in windowed mode. I managed to do that to run Outrun 2 arcade (OR2SPSDX, which is even more gorgeous than the PC port ;)) at 60fps on an 800x600@50i video mode. Without RTSS, in windowed mode the game would run at 150%+ variable speed and wasn't playable. (I then use an autohotkey fullscreen bordless window script to make it fullscreen, but most borderless windowed apps could help there).

Not all games will let you disable v-sync and/or go windowed, of course. Battle Gear 4 won't, and i'm still looking for a way around that because it's locked to 50Hz.

Hmm, i hope this post made sense. Feel free to ask if anything was unclear...

EDIT: Outrun 2 Coast 2 Coast on the PC does have Howard's tools available for it, in the form of the FXT mod to add force feedback, new textures, better control mapping if you need it, and a few other things. He even made a course editor that lets you change the order of stages, or set stages to loop back into one another to create an infinite run, drive stages in reverse, use the night and sunset versions of the beach stages, and a few other things. The editor is slightly buggy but still pretty awesome :)

FXT mod - http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,155979.0.html
The course editor - http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,130891.msg1681494.html#msg1681494
And read that last thread for a lot of info about the game :)
« Last Edit: July 28, 2021, 09:03:30 pm by buttersoft »

lumark

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
  • Last login:September 08, 2021, 05:07:09 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Fps drops with modern games
« Reply #12 on: July 30, 2021, 06:50:00 am »
How are you disabling v-sync? crt_emudriver itself doesn't have that ability, does it? There is a version of Radeon Settings you can install, and you used to be able to use CCC for older versions of the driver. I'm asking mostly for interest's sake, any method is good.

One thing you can try is using RTSS (RivaTuner Statistics Server). That program will allow you to disable v-sync and then framelimit applications to what you want. (I *think* it lets you disable v-sync, you might need to use your old method first). If this doesn't work, try running the game in windowed mode. I managed to do that to run Outrun 2 arcade (OR2SPSDX, which is even more gorgeous than the PC port ;)) at 60fps on an 800x600@50i video mode. Without RTSS, in windowed mode the game would run at 150%+ variable speed and wasn't playable. (I then use an autohotkey fullscreen bordless window script to make it fullscreen, but most borderless windowed apps could help there).

Not all games will let you disable v-sync and/or go windowed, of course. Battle Gear 4 won't, and i'm still looking for a way around that because it's locked to 50Hz.

Hmm, i hope this post made sense. Feel free to ask if anything was unclear...

EDIT: Outrun 2 Coast 2 Coast on the PC does have Howard's tools available for it, in the form of the FXT mod to add force feedback, new textures, better control mapping if you need it, and a few other things. He even made a course editor that lets you change the order of stages, or set stages to loop back into one another to create an infinite run, drive stages in reverse, use the night and sunset versions of the beach stages, and a few other things. The editor is slightly buggy but still pretty awesome :)

FXT mod - http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,155979.0.html
The course editor - http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,130891.msg1681494.html#msg1681494
And read that last thread for a lot of info about the game :)

Thanks for the amazing infos you gave me on outrun!
With Sonic Mania I disabled v-sync straight from the game menu.
I even tried windowed mode like u suggest, but i still get 50fps!
RTTS doesn'let me to disable vsync from there.
Anyway it's too bad because the game looks gorgeus on the crt tv and it supports 4:3 aspect too.

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1214
  • Last login:Today at 06:12:25 pm
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Fps drops with modern games
« Reply #13 on: July 30, 2021, 08:09:36 am »
Which version of the driver are you using, on which GPU? you could try downloading and installing a version of Radeon Settings and disabling v-sync that way... you may still need RTSS, if things run too fast.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1CNXbfJGDFieJaAxVL110K_YLxrqqLbiO/view
or mb
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1k3nh2_KDibChHuCxnoXIlagjLzsiiqVD/view
« Last Edit: July 30, 2021, 08:12:31 am by buttersoft »

lumark

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
  • Last login:September 08, 2021, 05:07:09 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Fps drops with modern games
« Reply #14 on: July 30, 2021, 04:34:11 pm »
Which version of the driver are you using, on which GPU? you could try downloading and installing a version of Radeon Settings and disabling v-sync that way... you may still need RTSS, if things run too fast.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1CNXbfJGDFieJaAxVL110K_YLxrqqLbiO/view
or mb
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1k3nh2_KDibChHuCxnoXIlagjLzsiiqVD/view

Crtemudriver 12.6 beta 15 on amd 4650 1GB GPU.

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1214
  • Last login:Today at 06:12:25 pm
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Fps drops with modern games
« Reply #15 on: July 30, 2021, 08:06:40 pm »
Errr, i think that's pre-crimson, which might mean you need a version of Catalyst Control Center. I know it's possible to do it, but it might involve installing crt_emudriver first to setup test mode, then installing the same version regular Catalyst drivers to get CCC, and then installing crt_emudriver again over the top. It's been to many years since i did it, and that was on XP :/