Main > Artwork

How would you make an accurate vector template for an arcade stick panel?

(1/2) > >>

Gunstar:
Hello, I've been wanting to customize some of my older arcade sticks and was wondering if anybody had any tips on how to go about getting accurate results?

For example, I have this Hori Soulcalibur stick that has some strange angles on it and was wondering how I would go about making a vector template in something like Affinity Designer (I have an old illustrator version too). I'm new to vector programs but have a little understanding (making curves with a pen tool!)

I assume I should be trying to measure against straights to get the angles right? Is there a bit of trial and error when getting subtle curves right?

The other option I thought about was just tracing a pencil outline but not 100% sure on how to get it to be an accurate recreation when it comes to printing off the artwork.

Any tips or links to tutorials would be most welcome!

lilshawn:
step 1: take a pic of your stick with a ruler.
step 2: stop laughing. this pic should be taken directly overhead as possible. the pic you took already is really good, just needs a ruler.
step 3: open pic in your graphics editor.
step 4: scale your photo so your scale fits the ruler in the pic. (IE draw a 1x1 or an 8x8 box and then scale the pic up or down to match the ruler measurement)
step 5: congrats, you have a scale accurate 1:1 pic of your stick. e-mail it to girls, or draw out your artwork now...artwork will be 1:1 and will print accurately (enough)
step 6: ?????
step 7: profit.

alternately:

step 1a: get a caliper and measure the crap out of every angle, side, dimensions up down all around and plunk the numbers into your editor.
step 2a: get frustrated cause you misplaced a decimal somewhere and start at "step 1" above

PL1:
The one thing I would add as step 4a to lilshawn's process is add a separate layer for your artwork above the 1:1 photo.