Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Ad stick w/ lightgun (mouse) how to configure?  (Read 5469 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Marsupial

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 509
  • Last login:April 28, 2022, 09:39:48 pm
  • I am teh Mars!
Ad stick w/ lightgun (mouse) how to configure?
« on: May 17, 2021, 10:27:55 pm »
There are a few "positional" gun games that were intended for joystick style gun hardware.

Can we interface them with light guns?

Games like Jurassic Park, revolution X, T2 or Alien3 comes to mind.

I've been trying to get them to configure with my lightgun but can't seem to understand how to do so.

They offer "Adstick" x and y for configuration. What's that?

Thanks for chiming in.
-Mars

Titchgamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4220
  • Last login:Yesterday at 01:46:36 am
  • I have a gaming addiction.....
Re: Ad stick w/ lightgun (mouse) how to configure?
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2021, 03:17:19 am »
Yeah you set the adstick x and y the same as you would lightgun x and y.
You also need to enable adstick to use mouse in the ini file.


But dont expect line of sight aiming with any of them. They dont for the most part have any calibration and tuning the settings for speed etc will take you hours!

Crosshairs required really heh

Marsupial

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 509
  • Last login:April 28, 2022, 09:39:48 pm
  • I am teh Mars!
Re: Ad stick w/ lightgun (mouse) how to configure?
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2021, 12:57:04 pm »
anyone knows how to enable adstick to use mouse ?  Is that in the mame.ini or what?  I think that's what's missing on some games.
-Mars

PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 8895
  • Last login:Today at 10:35:44 pm
  • Designated spam hunter
Re: Ad stick w/ lightgun (mouse) how to configure?
« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2021, 03:06:47 pm »
anyone knows how to enable adstick to use mouse ?  Is that in the mame.ini or what?
These settings are in mame.ini and the game-specific .ini if one exists.
- Game-specific .ini settings override mame.ini settings.

1.)  Enable (1) or disable (0) input types as desired.
Code: [Select]
#
# CORE INPUT OPTIONS
#
mouse                     1
joystick                  1
lightgun                  0

2.)  Set the auto-enabled input options as desired.
Code: [Select]
#
# CORE INPUT AUTOMATIC ENABLE OPTIONS
#
paddle_device             mouse
adstick_device            keyboard


Scott

Marsupial

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 509
  • Last login:April 28, 2022, 09:39:48 pm
  • I am teh Mars!
Re: Ad stick w/ lightgun (mouse) how to configure?
« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2021, 03:27:40 pm »
I am not quite sure how the mame.ini works when using the Mala front-end.


Modifying the mane.ini where the mame executable is located seems to have no effect. Is there another mame.ini linked to the front-end?
-Mars

PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 8895
  • Last login:Today at 10:35:44 pm
  • Designated spam hunter
Re: Ad stick w/ lightgun (mouse) how to configure?
« Reply #5 on: May 28, 2021, 05:51:24 pm »
I am not quite sure how the mame.ini works when using the Mala front-end.


Modifying the mane.ini where the mame executable is located seems to have no effect. Is there another mame.ini linked to the front-end?
There's no separate mame.ini for the front end.
- You may have more than one copy of mame.ini and MAME is using the one you aren't editing.

1. Check where MAME is looking for mame.ini -- probably either the ".\mame\" or ".\mame\ini\" folder.
- In this example, "inipath" tells MAME to look in the ".\mame\ini\" folder.

Code: [Select]
#
# CORE SEARCH PATH OPTIONS
#
rompath                   roms
hashpath                  hash
samplepath                samples
artpath                   artwork
ctrlrpath                 ctrlr
inipath                   ini

2. If there is a game-specific .ini that you didn't change, it will override the settings in mame.ini that you did change.

3. If you copied mame.ini from a different version/installation of mame, some settings/options may have changed.
- Delete that mame.ini and generate a new one using the command "mame.exe -cc". (create config)

4. If generating a fresh mame.ini doesn't work:
- Rename the MAME folder to something like "mame_bad".
- Do a fresh install of MAME.
- Cut/paste your ROMs, artwork, support files, etc. from "mame_bad" to "mame".
- Generate a fresh mame.ini and edit it as desired.


Scott
P.S. Some programs like LEDBlinky can modify mame.ini so make sure that all of the software you're using is pointing to the same folder for .ini files.
« Last Edit: May 28, 2021, 06:03:10 pm by PL1 »

Marsupial

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 509
  • Last login:April 28, 2022, 09:39:48 pm
  • I am teh Mars!
Re: Ad stick w/ lightgun (mouse) how to configure?
« Reply #6 on: May 29, 2021, 05:00:07 pm »
I figured out why I wasn't getting anywhere with the ini file. While the actlab gun is reported as a mouse to windows, mame sees it as a gun.

Had to set lightgun for adstick, now I can configure the gun in the input (this game) menu.

However it gets really offset when we're not in center, is there a way to tweak that?

I've been toying with Jurassic Park and while the center is somewhat where I shoot, right is much too right, and left is much too left. Up/down aren't as bad.

I can't find tweaks or fine tuning...
-Mars

Foxhole

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 287
  • Last login:May 22, 2022, 06:57:02 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Ad stick w/ lightgun (mouse) how to configure?
« Reply #7 on: May 29, 2021, 05:51:17 pm »
You picked the worst game to try, Jurassic park is broken as far as i know. I would suggest trying terminator 2.

BadMouth

  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9028
  • Last login:Today at 09:36:41 pm
  • ...
Re: Ad stick w/ lightgun (mouse) how to configure?
« Reply #8 on: May 29, 2021, 05:52:58 pm »
I vaguely remember disabling the  lightgun input in mame.ini back when I had mine.  It was an option that worked with the old gameport guns.  As far as I know MAME was seeing mine as mice.  This was probably circa v.132 so many things could have changed since then.

BadMouth

  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9028
  • Last login:Today at 09:36:41 pm
  • ...
Re: Ad stick w/ lightgun (mouse) how to configure?
« Reply #9 on: May 29, 2021, 05:54:40 pm »
You picked the worst game to try, Jurassic park is broken as far as i know. I would suggest trying terminator 2.
Why would you try to play positional(potentiometer based) gun games at all?  It just doesn't work well with true light guns because the only time the gun's position is reported is when you pull the trigger.

Both T2 and jurassic park are gonna suck with an act labs gun.
« Last Edit: May 29, 2021, 05:56:17 pm by BadMouth »

Marsupial

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 509
  • Last login:April 28, 2022, 09:39:48 pm
  • I am teh Mars!
Re: Ad stick w/ lightgun (mouse) how to configure?
« Reply #10 on: May 29, 2021, 07:45:25 pm »
You picked the worst game to try, Jurassic park is broken as far as i know. I would suggest trying terminator 2.
Why would you try to play positional(potentiometer based) gun games at all?  It just doesn't work well with true light guns because the only time the gun's position is reported is when you pull the trigger.

Both T2 and jurassic park are gonna suck with an act labs gun.
I liked playing Jurassic park at the movie theatre....

But... Yeah. I think I'll set them up with the trackball when it's install this summer. Unless I install an analog joystick.
-Mars

Foxhole

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 287
  • Last login:May 22, 2022, 06:57:02 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Ad stick w/ lightgun (mouse) how to configure?
« Reply #11 on: May 30, 2021, 03:03:08 am »
You picked the worst game to try, Jurassic park is broken as far as i know. I would suggest trying terminator 2.
Why would you try to play positional(potentiometer based) gun games at all?  It just doesn't work well with true light guns because the only time the gun's position is reported is when you pull the trigger.

Both T2 and jurassic park are gonna suck with an act labs gun.
As for why he would use a true lightgun on a positional game, that's not for me to say, i was just referring to the fact that the calibration for jpark is broken.
As for "the only time the gun's position is reported is when you pull the trigger."
That's incorrect, it will keep reporting as long as the area you're aiming at is bright enough.

BadMouth

  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9028
  • Last login:Today at 09:36:41 pm
  • ...
Re: Ad stick w/ lightgun (mouse) how to configure?
« Reply #12 on: May 30, 2021, 06:09:54 pm »


As for "the only time the gun's position is reported is when you pull the trigger."
That's incorrect, it will keep reporting as long as the area you're aiming at is bright enough.

I did not know that.  Wish I still had them to test it out.