Main > Main Forum

DKAFE - Donkey Kong Arcade Frontend (Windows and Raspberry Pi4)

(1/16) > >>

10yard:
Hi,  I haven't been here for a while.  I took a long break from the hobby to sort out my life and health issues.  I now find myself in a much better place and am getting excited about arcade gaming again. I wasn't able to reset my forum password from my original login (degenatrons) but maybe it's good to start over.

To give myself a project and some focus during lockdown,  I decided to build a Donkey Kong arcade machine.  The machine was made 2/3 scale and adapted to a bartop form factor from the plans at https://www.classicarcadecabinets.com/donkey-kong.html

I wondered for some time about making my own frontend to compliment the arcade machine - I'm a software developer.  I did not like the feel of the 60-in-1 and I was only really interested in running DK on the machine.  The frontend would be based on Donkey Kong gameplay.  You would control Jumpman on the girders stage navigating the platforms to pick an arcade game to launch by simply walking up to it.  This led me to think about the frontend becoming more like a game itself, having the frontend set challenges and awarding coins when you play well.  I researched into Donkey Kong Hacking and the LUA scripting language for MAME.  I was inspired to create DKAFE (The Donkey Kong Arcade Frontend). 

https://github.com/10yard/dkafe#readme

A very short video review - https://www.youtube.com/shorts/_RtjCKfJuoo

DKAFE can be configured to work with any roms as a general arcade frontend BUT the default setup is geared towards Donkey Kong.

The frontend comes bundled with DKWolf emulator.  It's my own custom lightweight build of WolfMAME (for Windows and Raspberry Pi4) which supports only the Donkey Kong drivers. LUA scripts integrate with DKWolf to add functionality to all the Donkey Kong roms including visibility of your progress towards objectives during gameplay and a HUD.