Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Struggling noob - Groovymame & PC CRT  (Read 1855 times)

vagrant_17

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:June 24, 2021, 08:34:17 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Struggling noob - Groovymame & PC CRT
« on: March 17, 2021, 09:35:51 pm »
Hi I'm completely new to GM and are really struggling with it.

The goal is to setup a dedicated dual-monitor machine, using the second display for emulation output.
I have:
i7 6700k
R9 380X
Win 10 (latest build)
display 1: benq lcd
display 2: philips 109b4 PC CRT

I installed the latest GM release, along with CRT Emudriver package. (Emudriver & CRT Tools 2.0 beta 15 (Adrenalin 18.5.1 for GCN* cards))
I followed the 2019 installation guide, and the emudriver install guide on the support site, to set up for super resolutions.
During emudriver driver tutorial, I chose one of the PC CRT monitor presets. I also enabled EDID emulation. (Though I dont think I need to?)

Anyway, long story short, all of the PC CRT & VESA monitor types result in 'out of sync' modes for me. I managed to get display output with a modified version of the Arcade 31khz preset that I found on the forum somewhere.. I changed some of values to try and match my CRT, but I really have no idea what I'm doing lol. I've also tried with & without emulated EDID.

where I'm at now: