Main > Consoles

Best Retro Console?

(1/19) > >>

AJgamer:
Just having a debate with some friends about this, want to get some other opinions on it.

danny_galaga:

I used to say N64, but now I'm digging Dreamcast a lot more. And in a surprising contrast, the Atari 2600

bobbyb13:
Depends on how old you are maybe?

Atari 2600-
with NES a very close second for me.

Gilrock:
I'm old enough to remember when my parents bought Pong when it came out.  They bought me an Atari 2600 when I was in high school and then an Atari 800 before I graduated.  I credit the Atari 800 with its Basic programming cartridge as the kickstart to my software engineering career.  On the Atari 800 I loaded games via cassette deck and then later floppy disks.  After I got out of college Sega Genesis came out so I spent tons of money on those games.  Then I upgraded to a Sega Saturn and eventually got into PC's.  So there were a ton of other brand consoles I never got to try.  I think some of the best games were on the Sega Saturn.  Virtua Fighter, Sega Rally Championship, and one of the most beautiful games of its time Panzer Dragoon Saga.  I'm kicking myself for not holding onto all those games and systems.

Vigo:

--- Quote from: danny_galaga on March 24, 2021, 02:05:10 am ---
I used to say N64, but now I'm digging Dreamcast a lot more. And in a surprising contrast, the Atari 2600

--- End quote ---