Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: K7000 with Groovymame ripple @any Vf less than 60hz  (Read 798 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

glewis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31
  • Last login:April 15, 2021, 06:43:56 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
K7000 with Groovymame ripple @any Vf less than 60hz
« on: February 12, 2021, 01:56:21 pm »
I have a k7000 25" 7191 with groovymame.  The monitor wobbles on many games (see youtube link for a good idea of what's happening). I noticed in Arcadeosd that when i put all resolution to ~60 on the vert frequency the vibration goes away. So I changed my monitor type from k7000 to NTSC which uses 60hz exclusively.  This works for frequencies @57 and greater. Below that, a few games like Mortal Kombat get wavy and the screen collapses as i approach 60k. MK .of course uses 54k.
This raises a few questions.
Is this behavior because my monitor is in need of service?
    I'm doing the recap now.
Is this monitor supposed to be able to operate at 54k?
 I believe it is but I'm not well versed. This would mean a recap and troubleshooting can get it up to par i hope.

Is this a software issue (not likely) that can be addressed by a software work around?
    I.e can games like MK be forced to use 60hz assuming the monitor is not functionally capable of 54K
Thanks


borrowed this YouTube video from Arroyo



   

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7105
  • Last login:Yesterday at 06:35:21 am
  • Quote me with care
Re: K7000 with Groovymame ripple @any Vf less than 60hz
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2021, 05:11:10 am »
Hi glewis,

I had to read twice because the video didn't match with your K7000 description, no I see you used Arroyo's video  :)

Your k7000 should handle 54 Hz just fine. I won't say it needs service because it's hard to judge without seeing it directly. But since you're doing the recap anyway, we'll see if it improves.

You can force everything to run at 60 Hz by setting monitor ntsc in GroovyMAME's mame.ini. It's far from being ideal but it will workaround your issue.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

glewis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31
  • Last login:April 15, 2021, 06:43:56 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: K7000 with Groovymame ripple @any Vf less than 60hz
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2021, 04:09:58 pm »
I used that picture because it is exactly what i see. Better than any of the 5 videos I tried to take.
I just finished the cap kit and the colors and contrast look great.
Still wobbles though at anything but 60hz
I tested B+ and it is 130.
I replaced the transformer and eliminated any possible source of electrical interference.
I also used separate power sources for the PC and the Monitor.

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7105
  • Last login:Yesterday at 06:35:21 am
  • Quote me with care
Re: K7000 with Groovymame ripple @any Vf less than 60hz
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2021, 05:13:51 pm »
How are you connecting the sync signal to the monitor?
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

glewis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31
  • Last login:April 15, 2021, 06:43:56 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: K7000 with Groovymame ripple @any Vf less than 60hz
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2021, 09:41:11 pm »
My connection to the monitor is done directly using a 15 pin Cable(no amplification or filter). The connection is red, green,blue,ground and then the individual sync at the last terminal(Not composite) I think I bought it years ago from Ultimarc with an arcade vga card. Picture quality on games at 60hz look amazing after the recap. It had the original caps.

Zebidee

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1740
  • Last login:Today at 05:14:43 am
Re: K7000 with Groovymame ripple @any Vf less than 60hz
« Reply #5 on: February 14, 2021, 12:19:15 am »
My connection to the monitor is done directly using a 15 pin Cable(no amplification or filter). The connection is red, green,blue,ground and then the individual sync at the last terminal(Not composite)

Does that mean you have connected horizontal and vertical sync to the same terminal, or separate terminals?

Is there a switch somewhere for composite vs separate sync? Does monitor take composite sync?

The wobbly edges suggest horizontal sync as the issue, or possibly power supply (as related). Could just be poor connection, so triple check connections and cold solder joins of course.

Surprised you aren't using a JPAC or video amp with that monitor, but if bright enough then OK.

Have you tried using an alternative video input source to test the monitor with? You mentioned an ArcadeVGA before.

Check out my completed projects!


glewis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31
  • Last login:April 15, 2021, 06:43:56 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: K7000 with Groovymame ripple @any Vf less than 60hz
« Reply #6 on: February 15, 2021, 02:52:16 pm »
I did not combine them to composite. Separate terminals.
Had the same issue with arcade VGA. And same issue 20 years ago with with dos based advancemame.
Any idea what part of the board (chassis) I should focus on., Since this monitor is supposed to handle mortal kombat at 54hz it must be the chassis. ?

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7105
  • Last login:Yesterday at 06:35:21 am
  • Quote me with care
Re: K7000 with Groovymame ripple @any Vf less than 60hz
« Reply #7 on: February 15, 2021, 03:15:33 pm »
If your monitor has a degauss button, check if pressing it has any effect on the issue. It could be there's some little current flowing through the degauss coil.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

glewis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31
  • Last login:April 15, 2021, 06:43:56 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: K7000 with Groovymame ripple @any Vf less than 60hz
« Reply #8 on: March 02, 2021, 09:43:40 am »
No degaus button but I did disconnect it. No differencej

Zebidee

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1740
  • Last login:Today at 05:14:43 am
Re: K7000 with Groovymame ripple @any Vf less than 60hz
« Reply #9 on: March 02, 2021, 06:54:23 pm »
Horizontal wobbling like that, in absence of sync input issues, suggests power supply or horizontal deflection issues.

So first thing to do is check your B+ voltage (I think for your chassis is at R301, big ceramic 220 ohm 15 watt resistor?).

Next, do an online search with your favourite engine for "k7000 chassis repair flowchart".

EDIT: I missed that you checked B+ above. Anyway, follow the flowchart and which suggests you check C57 and IC4.
« Last Edit: March 02, 2021, 06:57:41 pm by Zebidee »
Check out my completed projects!


glewis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31
  • Last login:April 15, 2021, 06:43:56 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: K7000 with Groovymame ripple @any Vf less than 60hz
« Reply #10 on: March 08, 2021, 02:44:14 pm »
Thanks for the help. I changed the cap and the IC checks out. I believe the cap Kit actually helped because I now only have the issue when running the games in question from Hyperspin. No issues when running the games from CMD prompt. So that I think rules out the monitor.
Now I just need to figure out how to get Hyperspin to read the mame.ini from the groovymame root directory and not wherever/whatever  Hyperspin wants to.

Zebidee

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1740
  • Last login:Today at 05:14:43 am
Re: K7000 with Groovymame ripple @any Vf less than 60hz
« Reply #11 on: March 08, 2021, 03:33:56 pm »
Cool  8)

We love having you here, but ...

Quick online search reveals Hyperspin support forums!!
https://hyperspin-fe.com/forums/
Check out my completed projects!