Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: UP-200PS1 power supply question  (Read 4354 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

rfancella

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 28
  • Last login:May 06, 2022, 06:02:34 pm
    • www.rfancella.com
UP-200PS1 power supply question
« on: December 11, 2020, 05:04:19 pm »
Hello all!
It has been quite some time since I posted last.
I have what I hope is a simple question:
I have a up-200ps1 power supply.  I has two 120vac outputs.  Does this power supply have an isolation transformer on the AC output side?  Can I power a WG monitor with it?  I have a WG K7401, 7302 & 7191 I would like to power off this PSU.

Thank you!
Ron Fancella

lilshawn

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6861
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:47:26 pm
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: UP-200PS1 power supply question
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2020, 07:47:28 pm »
the peter chou supply does not work this way. (nor any arcade supply for that matter.)

it is to simply supply power to your game boards.

you'd still need an isolation transformer.

rfancella

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 28
  • Last login:May 06, 2022, 06:02:34 pm
    • www.rfancella.com
Re: UP-200PS1 power supply question
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2020, 09:43:23 am »
Thank you for the response. I figured as much but was hoping I could power both the board and monitor.

lilshawn

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6861
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:47:26 pm
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: UP-200PS1 power supply question
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2020, 09:55:29 pm »
some "peter chou" supplies have a switched passthrough for powering other things (lights etc) and COULD be used to power a monitor, but it is just as it sounds... a passthough of power from the outlet that is switched on at the same time as the power supply.

you'd still need an isolation transformer should your monitor require one.

rfancella

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 28
  • Last login:May 06, 2022, 06:02:34 pm
    • www.rfancella.com
Re: UP-200PS1 power supply question
« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2020, 01:09:07 pm »
Thanks for the input!  Yes, that is my plan.  Wire up an isolation transformer to the switched outlet on the side of the power supply.

some "peter chou" supplies have a switched passthrough for powering other things (lights etc) and COULD be used to power a monitor, but it is just as it sounds... a passthough of power from the outlet that is switched on at the same time as the power supply.

you'd still need an isolation transformer should your monitor require one.

Ken Layton

  • Guru
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7061
  • Last login:October 12, 2021, 12:25:59 am
  • Technician
Re: UP-200PS1 power supply question
« Reply #5 on: December 13, 2020, 01:15:20 pm »
How about some pictures of your power supply showing all the cables it has?