Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Arcade1Up Pacman to Hyperspin MAME  (Read 1648 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Phreakwars

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 469
  • Last login:Today at 08:16:07 pm
  • Waka-Waka
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,146325.0.html
    • My Facebook Page
Arcade1Up Pacman to Hyperspin MAME
« on: October 24, 2020, 01:26:59 am »






« Last Edit: October 24, 2020, 05:12:49 pm by Phreakwars »

leapinlew

  • Some questionable things going on in this room with cheetos
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7691
  • Last login:Today at 02:52:34 pm
Re: Arcade1Up Pacman to Hyperspin MAME
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2020, 09:36:20 am »
You sure packed a lot of stuff into that machine!

I'm a fan of the Arcade1ups and can see when they bring value. They clearly hit an emerging market at the right time. I've messed with quite a few of these, and if you want to see what happened when I bought a whole pallet of them, check this out: http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,159663.0.html. Funny thing is, I would've made out better if I would've held on to them for another 18 months.

My kids have a couple in their playroom:


And I heavily modified one to turn into a Gorf. Actually used a Pacman Cabinet as the base. You can see the build here: http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,161128.40.html but a final pic is:


I saw on your video you were talking about how the existing pacman control deck artwork would be messed up when you installed your controls, and I wasn't sure why that would be if you were using a vertical format. I didn't imagine you would use a street fighter layout, so that makes sense now. You can see how I did the kids cabinet, I put a pac-man sticker over the word "move" and use a button in the joystick hole. It looks like you are shifting back to a landscape version of Hyperspin?

Good luck with the build. It's looking good.

Vocalitus

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 184
  • Last login:Today at 07:02:15 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Arcade1Up Pacman to Hyperspin MAME
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2020, 02:53:17 pm »
Quote
I've messed with quite a few of these,

Just a few Lew.

 :duckhunt

Phreakwars

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 469
  • Last login:Today at 08:16:07 pm
  • Waka-Waka
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,146325.0.html
    • My Facebook Page
Re: Arcade1Up Pacman to Hyperspin MAME
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2020, 08:42:32 pm »
Here's part 2. Lots more to cover and a long way to go.


Phreakwars

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 469
  • Last login:Today at 08:16:07 pm
  • Waka-Waka
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,146325.0.html
    • My Facebook Page
Re: Arcade1Up Pacman to Hyperspin MAME
« Reply #4 on: October 26, 2020, 07:29:50 am »
Part 3, short video, but here I am testing out initial hyperspin looks:


Phreakwars

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 469
  • Last login:Today at 08:16:07 pm
  • Waka-Waka
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,146325.0.html
    • My Facebook Page
Re: Arcade1Up Pacman to Hyperspin MAME
« Reply #5 on: October 26, 2020, 07:15:32 pm »
Here's a video of what I'm using for the Hyperspin load screen.


Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19070
  • Last login:Today at 07:39:55 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Arcade1Up Pacman to Hyperspin MAME
« Reply #6 on: October 27, 2020, 05:40:18 pm »
Yeah you might as well delete that video now.  It's entirely too long and you'll get sick of it after two or three tries.

Phreakwars

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 469
  • Last login:Today at 08:16:07 pm
  • Waka-Waka
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,146325.0.html
    • My Facebook Page
Re: Arcade1Up Pacman to Hyperspin MAME
« Reply #7 on: October 27, 2020, 05:47:47 pm »
Nah, I'll keep it. Hyperspin is set to end intro video with key press. So it's one of those deals where if you wanna show off the boot you let it play through, if you just wanna play Donkey Kong, tap any key or move the joystick and get on with it.  :cheers:

Phreakwars

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 469
  • Last login:Today at 08:16:07 pm
  • Waka-Waka
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,146325.0.html
    • My Facebook Page
Re: Arcade1Up Pacman to Hyperspin MAME
« Reply #8 on: October 27, 2020, 06:50:13 pm »
Part 4. Here I talk a bit about the boot hacks you seen in part 3, and wiring the 12v together on the marquee and coin button to turn on when power is applied, and even show Howard what I was talking about with having the boot vid stop on key press 8) .


Phreakwars

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 469
  • Last login:Today at 08:16:07 pm
  • Waka-Waka
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,146325.0.html
    • My Facebook Page
Re: Arcade1Up Pacman to Hyperspin MAME
« Reply #9 on: October 28, 2020, 05:02:44 am »
Just a few more pics while I'm getting part 5 ready.






Phreakwars

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 469
  • Last login:Today at 08:16:07 pm
  • Waka-Waka
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,146325.0.html
    • My Facebook Page
Re: Arcade1Up Pacman to Hyperspin MAME
« Reply #10 on: October 28, 2020, 06:17:26 am »
Long video with some long rants and explanations, but here is the one that can be hard for some people...

Part 5 - Control Panel Setup


Phreakwars

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 469
  • Last login:Today at 08:16:07 pm
  • Waka-Waka
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,146325.0.html
    • My Facebook Page
Re: Arcade1Up Pacman to Hyperspin MAME
« Reply #11 on: November 16, 2020, 02:03:52 pm »
Part 6 - Pause & Rethink. Arcade DoubleUp, Raspberry Pi.

Here I talk about changes that will be made and an upcoming project using leftover parts from the Arcade1Up. Also give some commentary about cost.


Phreakwars

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 469
  • Last login:Today at 08:16:07 pm
  • Waka-Waka
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,146325.0.html
    • My Facebook Page
Re: Arcade1Up Pacman to Hyperspin MAME
« Reply #12 on: December 01, 2020, 03:34:50 am »
Fixed a few things, made a few changes, progressing along. No new videos on this will be posted until I get into the Arcade DoubleUp with Raspberry Pi videos later this month. This will tie into the Hyperspin build using a PC and then I'll fork off into common ground wiring and controls, as well as cover LED blinky, and then... a surprise bonus for those wanting a dedicated Pandora's Box type control deck. I'll save the details till the videos get done, for now though, here are some updated photos.













« Last Edit: December 02, 2020, 02:30:54 am by Phreakwars »