Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: groovymame puyo puyo ecc. screen more then the black side bar  (Read 730 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

mjnman

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:59:59 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
groovymame puyo puyo ecc. screen more then the black side bar
« on: October 20, 2020, 04:59:25 pm »
I'm using groovymame 0.204 with debian linux, radeon hd5450 and hantarex crt monitor. In most games the resolution is ok but with puyo puyo and few others games there is a problem with horizontal view because the complete image is over the side bars. I tried to reduce the side trimmer but the image is always more then the black side bar. In the others games the screen image is perfect.
In attachment an example and the game start with verbose option.
I don't know if the problem is modeline or other groovymame settings.
Please, someone can help me or some ideas?  :dizzy:
thanks

Recapnation

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 290
  • Last login:Yesterday at 01:37:25 pm
    • Eiusdemmodi
Re: groovymame puyo puyo ecc. screen more then the black side bar
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2020, 01:08:38 pm »
You seem to be forcing a mode of 256 px on the horizontal axis for games which use 320 px. Do you have integer scaling (nounevenstretch(x)) enabled for some reason?

mjnman

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:59:59 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: groovymame puyo puyo ecc. screen more then the black side bar
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2020, 01:27:27 pm »
I couldn't find the option in ini files.
I tired to force with "/usr/games/groovymame puyo  -v -unevenstretchx" the screen is ok but the image has a strange character. Seems to be attached.

mjnman

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:59:59 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: groovymame puyo puyo ecc. screen more then the black side bar
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2020, 01:31:27 pm »
in attachment a picture

Recapnation

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 290
  • Last login:Yesterday at 01:37:25 pm
    • Eiusdemmodi
Re: groovymame puyo puyo ecc. screen more then the black side bar
« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2020, 04:28:19 pm »
Yep. That's subscaling the 320 px into 256; don't do that. I was wondering if the game was trying to switch from 256 to 320 and your settings were preventing from it, which is the case if you enable integer scaling. As you're on LX and with an old MAME version, I don't know what guide you used to configure the INI, but you normally wouldn't need these:

-nounevenstretch
-nounevenstretchx


Quick per-game solution: force -resolution 320x240 (or whichever the game actually uses).

For the cases where there's a dynamic video mode change at least, ideally you should be using a super wide resolution of, say, 2560 px (for Puyo-Puyo/MD-based games).

« Last Edit: October 21, 2020, 04:35:15 pm by Recapnation »

mjnman

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:59:59 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: groovymame puyo puyo ecc. screen more then the black side bar
« Reply #5 on: October 22, 2020, 04:42:43 pm »
thank you very much, I set "resolution 320x224" and "keepaspect 0" and now the game is ok. (ini file of the game)  ;D
...with "keepaspect 1" the graphics seems to be compressed
Thank you for the infos.