Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Advice on building a PC  (Read 9457 times)

Howard_Casto

• Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:April 15, 2024, 10:59:21 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Advice on building a PC
« on: May 09, 2020, 02:45:24 am »
Ok I've been threatening to build/buy a new pc for a few years now but it's finally time.  I've got some extra money, my current desktop will be 10 years old in a few months and I currently have to hot wire it to get it to boot because of failing caps. 

I'm trying to keep the budget for the pc itself around $400, which is tight, but I need to upgrade my monitor and buy a new UPS, so I'm setting some aside for that
So obviously I haven't done this in a looong time and I'm unfamiliar with the performance/quality of popular components.
I'm fairly certain this is the MB I want to use:

https://www.newegg.com/gigabyte-b450m-ds3h/p/N82E16813145083?Item=N82E16813145083

It has all the necessary slots and was the cheapest I could find with 4 ram slots.  Ram should be easy btw... I'll get 16gigs (2x8) of ddr4 running at least 3000mhz.  I should be able to find that for about $60.