Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Started developing a Frogger clone  (Read 9131 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

nitrogen_widget

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1565
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:24:42 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Started developing a Frogger clone
« Reply #40 on: April 19, 2021, 08:48:45 pm »
since you leave the squished frog on the freeway, might as well have the drowned frog float away. :)

shponglefan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1587
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:51:08 pm
  • Correct horse battery staple
Re: Started developing a Frogger clone
« Reply #41 on: August 07, 2021, 06:58:30 pm »
since you leave the squished frog on the freeway, might as well have the drowned frog float away. :)

I do love that idea and I'm going to see if there is a way I can make that work. :)

shponglefan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1587
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:51:08 pm
  • Correct horse battery staple
Re: Started developing a Frogger clone
« Reply #42 on: August 07, 2021, 07:05:09 pm »
Bit of a development update.

Over the past couple months I've been experimenting with different ideas insofar as where to take the game. Two things I've been experimenting with have included scrolling levels and a possible switch to isometric graphics.



Note the graphics in the above level are purely placeholders at this time.

Scrolling levels is an opportunity to create more involved, interesting levels. The idea is to grab objects throughout the level required for meeting level completion goals. This is a departure from the traditional Frogger gameplay of simply hopping the frog to the other side of the screen and then repeating.

Switching to isometric graphics will also allow for more interesting terrain features and obstacles. One thing I had struggled with the top-down view was creating interesting elements to add to levels. Isometric graphics solves that problem especially since it allows for better representation of size and scale.

I'm also thinking of doing away with the lives mechanic and going for more of a Super Meat Boy style with endless attempts. I do still want to come up with ways to incentivize speed, but haven't figured that out yet.

So development is slowly but surely continuing! Lots of experimenting going on and I'll see how it all plays out.
« Last Edit: August 08, 2021, 06:16:32 pm by shponglefan »

shponglefan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1587
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:51:08 pm
  • Correct horse battery staple
Re: Started developing a Frogger clone
« Reply #43 on: August 19, 2021, 09:45:06 pm »
Minor development update, working on a revamped GUI and menus:

« Last Edit: August 19, 2021, 09:49:30 pm by shponglefan »

nitrogen_widget

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1565
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:24:42 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Started developing a Frogger clone
« Reply #44 on: August 20, 2021, 01:05:42 pm »
looking forward to trying this one.

any chance on a linux build?

shponglefan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1587
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:51:08 pm
  • Correct horse battery staple
Re: Started developing a Frogger clone
« Reply #45 on: August 20, 2021, 07:58:02 pm »
looking forward to trying this one.

any chance on a linux build?

The Godot engine I'm using does support Linux, so I should be able to produce a Linux build. The only caveat is I don't have a Linux machine to test it personally.

nitrogen_widget

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1565
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:24:42 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Started developing a Frogger clone
« Reply #46 on: August 21, 2021, 12:08:59 am »
looking forward to trying this one.

any chance on a linux build?

The Godot engine I'm using does support Linux, so I should be able to produce a Linux build. The only caveat is I don't have a Linux machine to test it personally.

I have a few of those. 32 and 64 bit.
but, for the 32 bit version, how low an os does the export support?
win7?
winXP?

shponglefan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1587
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:51:08 pm
  • Correct horse battery staple
Re: Started developing a Frogger clone
« Reply #47 on: August 21, 2021, 11:09:40 am »
I have a few of those. 32 and 64 bit.
but, for the 32 bit version, how low an os does the export support?
win7?
winXP?

From what I've read it doesn't support WinXP due to the APIs used by the engine.

I did test it with Win7 a year ago and it was working at least at that time.

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19226
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:19:55 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Started developing a Frogger clone
« Reply #48 on: August 21, 2021, 03:13:35 pm »
Lots of times win 7x apis can be used in xp, they just have to be manually installed. Then again nobody should be using xp at this point, even in a cab unless it's a legacy one.

shponglefan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1587
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:51:08 pm
  • Correct horse battery staple
Re: Started developing a Frogger clone
« Reply #49 on: August 22, 2021, 09:57:33 am »
Lots of times win 7x apis can be used in xp, they just have to be manually installed. Then again nobody should be using xp at this point, even in a cab unless it's a legacy one.

Plus from a development POV if I was going to develop for legacy systems, it would make more sense to use frameworks / APIs for those systems (like XNA or something).

On a related note, I have occasionally thought about installing an old version of Borland C++ and doing some vintage DOS games development. Might be a fun nostalgia trip to revisit some of that old games code from the 90's.
« Last Edit: August 22, 2021, 10:00:18 am by shponglefan »

10yard

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
  • Last login:Yesterday at 08:15:32 pm
  • L BREAK into program
    • DKAFE Frontend
Re: Started developing a Frogger clone
« Reply #50 on: August 24, 2021, 04:24:35 pm »
I'm using Python for cross-platform development along with the pygame and pygame-menu libraries for my game related projects.  I've managed to build on Win 64, Win 32 including XP, Linux and Raspberry Pi with no issues.  Mac and Android shouldn't be a problem either.

Python is a dynamic, interpreted language,  so there are advantages for rapid development and realisation of your ideas.  The cost is runtime performance,  you would think,  but for a 2D/Isometric type game,  it should not be an issue at all.  pygame itself is implemented in C, and uses the cross-platform C library SDL2. The performance critical part of pygame are not implemented in Python. This makes pygame reasonably fast.

Worth having a look at least.


Check out my Donkey Kong Arcade Frontend at https://github.com/10yard/dkafe#readme

Thenasty

  • Trade Count: (+16)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4350
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:41:17 pm
    • Thenasty's Arcademania Horizontal/Vertical monitor setup.
Re: Started developing a Frogger clone
« Reply #51 on: August 26, 2021, 06:07:35 am »
did someone mention DOS ? That's me. You need me to test FROGGY (hint hint) on pure DOS, LMK.


Thenasty's Arcademania Horizontal/Vertical setup.
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=26696.0

Free VGA Breakout Cable
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=38228.0

Ultimate All in One Coin Mech write up (Make your own)
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=19200.0

shponglefan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1587
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:51:08 pm
  • Correct horse battery staple
Re: Started developing a Frogger clone
« Reply #52 on: August 26, 2021, 09:05:36 pm »
Thank you 10yard and Thenasty for the advice/offers.

Currently I am developing using the Godot engine which does only support modern Windows (e.g. 7/10) machines. Part of the reason I opted for this route was the engine takes care of a lot of the grunt work, so no need to reinvent a lot of basic systems and I can focus on higher level of development.

So for the moment that means no DOS, Win XP or anything likely older than Win 7 for support. At least not for the meantime.

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13816
  • Last login:Yesterday at 04:15:35 pm
  • Have you played with my GingerBalls?
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: Started developing a Frogger clone
« Reply #53 on: August 27, 2021, 08:55:19 am »
An "endless" mode would be cool.  The game could seamlessly add a new section as you move up. Then like every 5th row of traffic you get past, the game picks from a pool of harder and harder sections which would make it somewhat rogue-like and add a lot of replayability.

I think removing a "lives counter" would kind of make it not "Frogger" but you could incentivize faster game play via bonuses or items that disappear from the screen after X amount of seconds.
If you're replying to a troll you are part of the problem.
I also need to follow this advice. Ignore or report, don't reply.

shponglefan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1587
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:51:08 pm
  • Correct horse battery staple
Re: Started developing a Frogger clone
« Reply #54 on: August 29, 2021, 04:05:30 pm »
An "endless" mode would be cool.  The game could seamlessly add a new section as you move up. Then like every 5th row of traffic you get past, the game picks from a pool of harder and harder sections which would make it somewhat rogue-like and add a lot of replayability.

I think removing a "lives counter" would kind of make it not "Frogger" but you could incentivize faster game play via bonuses or items that disappear from the screen after X amount of seconds.

I'd like to implement an endless mode (or at least attempt it). Though this would mean this game would go from being a Frogger clone to becoming a Crossy Road clone. ;D

In general, I'm trying to move away from making a pure clone and seeing what other possibilities there are for different kinds of gameplay. Ultimately I just want something that feels fun to play. We'll see what happens!
« Last Edit: August 29, 2021, 04:26:34 pm by shponglefan »

shponglefan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1587
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:51:08 pm
  • Correct horse battery staple
Re: Started developing a Frogger clone
« Reply #55 on: August 29, 2021, 04:06:48 pm »


Another development update. This past week I implemented sound effects for the GUI, an audio management system and a save menu/save management system.

Next up will be a character select screen (though there is only one character for now) and a world/level select screen.

Not entirely sure how I'm going to approach the latter. I'm currently torn between an elaborate Super Mario World-style overmap versus something simpler like Super Meat Boy.
« Last Edit: August 29, 2021, 07:33:01 pm by shponglefan »

nitrogen_widget

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1565
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:24:42 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Started developing a Frogger clone
« Reply #56 on: August 30, 2021, 09:04:09 pm »
should let two frogs race. :)

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10013
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:24:51 pm
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: Started developing a Frogger clone
« Reply #57 on: August 30, 2021, 09:23:44 pm »
You should make a Louisiana level where if you die, your next frog has to retrieve the corpse before a Cajun eats it.

I aspire to be involved in the classic gaming community.

shponglefan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1587
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:51:08 pm
  • Correct horse battery staple
Re: Started developing a Frogger clone
« Reply #58 on: September 05, 2021, 10:19:02 pm »
should let two frogs race. :)

I'm envisioning something along those lines; some sort of coop/competitive hybrid.
« Last Edit: September 09, 2021, 03:51:36 pm by shponglefan »