Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Asteroids Deluxe WHITE DOT help  (Read 4210 times)

SpaceTimeGuy

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:September 08, 2020, 08:30:12 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Asteroids Deluxe WHITE DOT help
« on: February 15, 2020, 07:10:31 am »
Hi,
This is my first time fixing an arcade game so please cut me a little slack if I ask a dumb question ...

I have an Asteroids Deluxe ... When I got it > only half of the screen was lighting up and the red LED (spot killer) on the deflection board was ON.  I reflowed the solder on the pins on the DB and the red LED is Off and now have a great looking full screen image > great except there is a WHITE DOT in middle of screen !  I have tried "googling" this and see it mentioned in posts but only saw one post where anyone said how to fix this (they said they replaced some transistors and capacitors on the deflection board) ... Should that solve the white dot problem?  If it does not > what to do next?   

On that DB there are 2 large white ?ceramic? resistors (maybe 100 and 101??) ... I saw a post that said Atari issued a service bulletin that said to remove them and install jumpers wires instead ... Is that true?  In a home use environment where it will get very limited use > is it worth doing this if the resistors test "Good" ??