Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Controller Recommendations for Joysticks (2), Spinner, Trackball and buttons?  (Read 2196 times)

kramdenfan

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:March 19, 2020, 02:35:57 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Hi All,
I'm building my first MAME cabinet and very excited about getting started! 
As a newbie, I'm getting confused in what I have been reading about the controller board options and hoping someone can lend some advice.
My planned setup will be 2 joysticks, trackball and spinner, along with at least 6 buttons per joystick for gameplay, coin button, 1&2 player buttons and side buttons for pinball flippers (at least 17 buttons). 

Is there a single controller board that can house all of these or will I need a second board for the spinner and trackball? 

I plan to use a Raspberry PI 3 for the CPU.   

PL1

• Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Online Online
  • Last login:Today at 04:40:00 am
  • Designated spam hunter
My planned setup will be 2 joysticks, trackball and spinner, along with at least 6 buttons per joystick for gameplay, coin button, 1&2 player buttons and side buttons for pinball flippers (at least 17 buttons). 

Is there a single controller board that can house all of these or will I need a second board for the spinner and trackball?
Adding up the number of inputs required (optional):
8 - 2 joysticks