Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: I'm a noob again:( how do I play console games in mameui?  (Read 2679 times)

ivwshane

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:December 24, 2022, 09:35:21 pm
    • My first mame cab! (WIP)
I'm a noob again:( how do I play console games in mameui?
« on: August 01, 2019, 01:11:49 pm »
So I haven't used mame since it merged with mess and I've decided to give it a try instead trying to configure multiple emulators for Windows (I've been spoiled by preconfigured setups like recalbox).

So I'm using mameui (I'm not a fan of the command line), I figured out how to access the "software list" but every rom I try to run I get a "missing files" error.

What am I doing wrong? Are console roms similar to arcade roms in that you have to have a version of the rom that matches the mame version? Do consoles like genesis and snes now require bios files?

Lastly, how can I load games directly from the mameui front end? I see a list of consoles but I don't see the roms  associated with them.
« Last Edit: November 04, 2019, 01:36:51 am by ivwshane »

PL1

• Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:Today at 10:36:40 am
  • Designated spam hunter
Re: I'm a noob again:( how do I play console games in mameui?
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2019, 02:16:26 pm »