Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Starting my first DIY MAME Cabinet Build (based on PC), looking for any advice  (Read 3428 times)

kazemir

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:March 05, 2020, 04:36:17 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
I am planning on building my own Multi Arcade machine (Based on a PC running MAME). As I am just starting out, I am looking for any advice anyone may have. In particular, regarding the controllers. I want to have a complete set (Two joysticks and buttons, two spinners and one track ball). My goal is to spend under $300, but I suspect this will be difficult with all of these controllers. I made a short video of my initial plans if anyone is interested ()

Any suggestions where to buy the joysticks/buttons etc? I am in Canada, so a source in-country would be a bonus.

Richie_jones

• Offline Offline
  • Last login:February 10, 2024, 02:04:21 pm
$300 you`ll be lucky and be full of regrets afterwards.

My advice and its only my opinion don`t scrimp on the controls, theres nothing worse than a "zippy" joystick.  Added in the price of a lcd, PC, speakers etc etc 300 if limited at best.  Dont know what its like where you live but the wood alone would be 70% of your budget where i live!!!!

PL1

• Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:Today at 06:35:46 pm
  • Designated spam hunter