Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Can someone please put to rest the 16:9 vs 4:3 vertical vs horizontal blah blah  (Read 3677 times)

YouknowStuIlltellya

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:January 04, 2021, 10:52:40 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Ok, not looking for any acronyms, or feed rates or refresh rate this or whatever.   Ten word answers would be awesome.  I am not technical.

And I'm not blowing 3 or 400 on a crt monitor.

I have researched this til I'm blue. 

How on earth can some users claim that a 20.1 inch 4:3 is better for a mame upright cab than a 27 inch 16:9?

The dimensions are in favor of the 27 16:9. So what am I missing? They are both lcd.  But the 27 inch 16:9 is wider and higher than a 20.1 4:3 (dell ulta right).  Is there something I'm missing?  Please idiot proof (me not you) your answer. 

YouknowStuIlltellya

• Offline Offline
Failed to mention that I'm largely going to be playing the classics.

Nephasth

• Offline Offline
  • Last login:March 11, 2024, 11:02:52 pm
  • Bitches love Centipede
CRT or GTFO!
%Bartop

opt2not

• Trade Count: (+15)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:April 02, 2024, 07:42:30 pm
Playing the classics on LCD  :whap

JDFan

• Trade Count: (+1)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:May 21, 2023, 04:07:42 pm
Playing mostly classics or almost all classics ?