Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Wells Gardner D9800 multisync adding desktop resolutions to my current ini  (Read 1716 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

808state

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • Last login:March 18, 2019, 01:19:40 pm
  • Wells CRT D9800 27" Full Size HyperSpin CaB
I have recently setup EMU driver 2.0(Chose D9800 & Super Reso)/GroovyMame/Rocketlauncher/Hyperspin on my Wells D9800 27" Full size cab. Mame is working excellent with a dual monitor, dual ATI Card. I have Wells D9800 as primary monitor & 19" ELO Touch Screen as secondary monitor. Many many thanks too GroovyMame!!!

My issue is that i only can run my desktop at 640 x 480. I recently have read I can add 800 x 600 to the super resolutions and use that for my desktop on the wells.

Could someone kindly give me a detailed walk through on adding 800 x 600 to my desktop resolutions please?

Also could I add more ideal/native desktop resolutions for console emulation at or near native on my monitor with SNES/Ultra64/Sega Genesis/PS1/Dreamcast

Thanks

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1109
  • Last login:Today at 06:19:15 am
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Wells Gardner D9800 multisync adding desktop resolutions to my current ini
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2019, 06:08:03 pm »
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,153488.msg1608259.html#msg1608259

From the monitor presets sticky up above in this forum we find a preset for the D9800, which i assume you have set in VMM and are happy using?

   // Wells Gardner D9800, D9400
   d9800, d9400
   
      crt_range0  15250-18000, 40-80, 2.187, 4.688, 6.719, 0.190, 0.191, 1.018, 0, 0, 224, 288, 448, 576
      crt_range1  18001-19000, 40-80, 2.187, 4.688, 6.719, 0.140, 0.191, 0.950, 0, 0, 288, 320, 0, 0
      crt_range2  20501-29000, 40-80, 2.910, 3.000, 4.440, 0.451, 0.164, 1.048, 0, 0, 320, 384, 0, 0
      crt_range3  29001-32000, 40-80, 0.636, 3.813, 1.906, 0.318, 0.064, 1.048, 0, 0, 384, 480, 0, 0
      crt_range4  32001-34000, 40-80, 0.636, 3.813, 1.906, 0.020, 0.106, 0.607, 0, 0, 480, 576, 0, 0
      crt_range5  34001-38000, 40-80, 1.000, 3.200, 2.200, 0.020, 0.106, 0.607, 0, 0, 576, 600, 0, 0

So, let's say we wanted to add 800x600@60.0000.

Scanrate = (total vertical lines) x (frames per second)
and
Total vertical lines = visible lines + blanking interval

With 600 visible lines we'll have a default blanking interval of about 60 more lines.

39,600  = 660 x 60

This is above the highest scanrate your monitor can handle, and you've told VMM to cut off at 38,000 by using the preset. So VMM will either reject the mode, lower the framerate, or turn the mode interlaced (30FPS) and then lower the framerate. For cases right on the edge VMM might simply install the mode as it is.

Install the mode if VMM will let you, then go into ArcadeOSD and try to edit the mode. If you can read the screen, find the screen where you can unlock the v-frequency and start playing with the vertical geometry/porches, remembering that you can always hit esc to go back and not save your changes.

If the mode does not display ok to begin with in ArcadeOSD, try it again at 800x600@58.0000 or as low as 57.0000 and go again.

You want 60.0000 if you can get it as that will give you more flexibilty, and stop some older games that are v-sync locked from slowing down under 60Hz.



808state

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • Last login:March 18, 2019, 01:19:40 pm
  • Wells CRT D9800 27" Full Size HyperSpin CaB
Re: Wells Gardner D9800 multisync adding desktop resolutions to my current ini
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2019, 08:48:02 am »
Thank you for the reply. Yes I am very happy with groovymame on the wells D9800.

So I added the reso via command line and got this as a result. im a little confused, what should the numbers show with correct results?

copy x paste

>>mode add 800x600@60.000000             
"800x600_60 37.68KHz 60.00Hz" 39.79 800 840 968 1056 600 601 605 628 -hsync -vsync
1 mode added to modelist.

thanks much

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1109
  • Last login:Today at 06:19:15 am
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Wells Gardner D9800 multisync adding desktop resolutions to my current ini
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2019, 05:45:22 pm »
Hmmm, that's looks weird to me. The modeline calculates at 37.68kHz, but is listed at 39.79 in the modeline itself. What happens when you install it, and try to switch to it in ArcadeOSD?

To be extra safe, try installing 800x600@57.0000 - that should show the number in the position 39.79 as lower than 38.00. You would then install that mode, switch to it in ArcadeOSD, edit the modelines, unlock the v-freq, and raise it or the scan rate or the dot clock (any of these things should raise the v-freq/FPS if you're doing it right). And see how high you can go in small steps. You can always hit esc to go back before you save changes.

ahofle

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4540
  • Last login:September 29, 2020, 12:42:02 am
    • Arcade Ambience Project
Re: Wells Gardner D9800 multisync adding desktop resolutions to my current ini
« Reply #4 on: February 26, 2019, 12:12:10 am »
I just went through the same thing with my D9400 (same resolutions).
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,159469.msg1678313.html#msg1678313

Basically just add the one line I pasted in that link to your super resolutions mode ini file right under the 640x480@60 line, regenerate modes and reinstall them.

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7102
  • Last login:Today at 12:43:07 am
  • Quote me with care
Re: Wells Gardner D9800 multisync adding desktop resolutions to my current ini
« Reply #5 on: February 26, 2019, 03:32:36 am »
Hmmm, that's looks weird to me. The modeline calculates at 37.68kHz, but is listed at 39.79 in the modeline itself. What happens when you install it, and try to switch to it in ArcadeOSD?

The mode is fine, 39.79 is the pixel clock, not the horizontal frequency. They're just close by coincidence.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7102
  • Last login:Today at 12:43:07 am
  • Quote me with care
Re: Wells Gardner D9800 multisync adding desktop resolutions to my current ini
« Reply #6 on: February 26, 2019, 03:33:27 am »
I just went through the same thing with my D9400 (same resolutions).
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,159469.msg1678313.html#msg1678313

Basically just add the one line I pasted in that link to your super resolutions mode ini file right under the 640x480@60 line, regenerate modes and reinstall them.

Yes, that's the way to go. I reminded the issue had been addressed recently but didn't know where, thanks.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

808state

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • Last login:March 18, 2019, 01:19:40 pm
  • Wells CRT D9800 27" Full Size HyperSpin CaB
Re: Wells Gardner D9800 multisync adding desktop resolutions to my current ini
« Reply #7 on: February 27, 2019, 09:17:39 am »

   Thank You Much for replys. So i have added some I hope, console friendly  reso's but i'm not seeing them under
windows 10 displays settings or prpoerties. here is a copy x paste of my new modelist...do they look ok for GroovyMame and popular windows console EMU's?





>>modelist list               
"256x224_60 15.30KHz 60.02Hz" 5.02 256 272 296 328 224 232 235 255 -hsync -vsync
"320x224_60 15.29KHz 59.98Hz" 6.24 320 336 368 408 224 232 235 255 -hsync -vsync
"640x480_60 31.50KHz 60.00Hz" 25.20 640 656 752 800 480 490 492 525 -hsync -vsync
"720x480_60 31.50KHz 60.00Hz" 28.73 720 744 856 912 480 490 492 525 -hsync -vsync
"800x600_60 37.68KHz 60.00Hz" 39.79 800 840 968 1056 600 601 605 628 -hsync -vsync
"2560x240_60 15.72KHz 59.99Hz" 51.18 2560 2672 2912 3256 240 243 246 262 -hsync -vsync
"2560x248_60 16.26KHz 60.00Hz" 53.46 2560 2680 2928 3288 248 252 255 271 -hsync -vsync
"2560x256_60 16.74KHz 60.00Hz" 55.31 2560 2680 2936 3304 256 259 262 279 -hsync -vsync
"2560x264_60 17.28KHz 60.00Hz" 57.92 2560 2688 2960 3352 264 267 270 288 -hsync -vsync
"2560x272_60 17.82KHz 60.00Hz" 60.02 2560 2688 2968 3368 272 276 279 297 -hsync -vsync
"2560x280_59 18.00KHz 59.02Hz" 61.06 2560 2696 2984 3392 280 283 286 305 -hsync -vsync
"2560x288_60 18.72KHz 60.00Hz" 64.40 2560 2704 3008 3440 288 291 295 312 -hsync -vsync
"2560x296_59 19.00KHz 59.37Hz" 65.51 2560 2704 3008 3448 296 299 303 320 -hsync -vsync
"2560x304_58 19.00KHz 57.93Hz" 65.51 2560 2704 3008 3448 304 307 311 328 -hsync -vsync
"2560x320_60 21.30KHz 60.00Hz" 69.86 2560 2760 2968 3280 320 330 333 355 -hsync -vsync
"2560x336_60 22.38KHz 60.00Hz" 74.48 2560 2776 3000 3328 336 346 350 373 -hsync -vsync
"2560x344_60 22.92KHz 60.00Hz" 77.01 2560 2784 3016 3360 344 354 358 382 -hsync -vsync
"2560x352_60 23.46KHz 60.00Hz" 79.39 2560 2792 3032 3384 352 363 367 391 -hsync -vsync
"2560x360_60 24.00KHz 60.00Hz" 81.79 2560 2800 3048 3408 360 371 375 400 -hsync -vsync
"2560x368_60 24.54KHz 60.00Hz" 84.42 2560 2808 3064 3440 368 380 384 409 -hsync -vsync
"2560x376_60 25.08KHz 60.00Hz" 86.48 2560 2808 3064 3448 376 388 392 418 -hsync -vsync
"2560x384_60 25.62KHz 60.00Hz" 88.95 2560 2816 3080 3472 384 396 400 427 -hsync -vsync
"2560x392_60 29.04KHz 60.00Hz" 91.07 2560 2616 2960 3136 392 427 429 484 -hsync -vsync
"2560x400_60 29.04KHz 60.00Hz" 91.07 2560 2616 2960 3136 400 431 433 484 -hsync -vsync
"2560x416_60 29.04KHz 60.00Hz" 91.07 2560 2616 2960 3136 416 439 441 484 -hsync -vsync
"2560x432_60 29.04KHz 60.00Hz" 91.07 2560 2616 2960 3136 432 447 449 484 -hsync -vsync
"2560x448_60 29.40KHz 60.00Hz" 92.43 2560 2616 2968 3144 448 457 459 490 -hsync -vsync
"2560x464_60 30.48KHz 60.00Hz" 96.80 2560 2624 2992 3176 464 474 476 508 -hsync -vsync
"2560x480_60 31.50KHz 60.00Hz" 100.80 2560 2624 3008 3200 480 490 492 525 -hsync -vsync
"2560x496_60 32.04KHz 60.00Hz" 102.78 2560 2624 3016 3208 496 504 507 534 -hsync -vsync
"2560x512_60 32.16KHz 60.00Hz" 103.43 2560 2624 3016 3216 512 513 516 536 -hsync -vsync
"2560x544_60 34.00KHz 59.76Hz" 110.98 2560 2632 3056 3264 544 545 549 569 -hsync -vsync
"2560x560_58 34.00KHz 58.12Hz" 110.98 2560 2632 3056 3264 560 561 565 585 -hsync -vsync
"2560x600_60 37.68KHz 60.00Hz" 127.21 2560 2688 3096 3376 600 601 605 628 -hsync -vsync

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1109
  • Last login:Today at 06:19:15 am
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Wells Gardner D9800 multisync adding desktop resolutions to my current ini
« Reply #8 on: February 27, 2019, 06:39:06 pm »
It'll depend on which emulators you're using. Not all emulators will handle super resolutions, so you probably want 320x240 and mb 256x240 for SNES stuff, IDK.

And, Windows 10 is a pig when it comes to the modelist. Adding more modes slows down resolution switching really, really badly. Once you're set on your emulators, try to trim the list until it contains only modes you're using. When are you reasonably going to use 2560x560, for example? Or even 2560x600? No emulator capable of super resolutions will want it. And 3D games work quite nicely when upscaled a bit, they're not in the same boat as old sprite-based 240p stuff if you ask me. You can always add more modes back later though, but TBH no one plays more than a fraction of the games available in MAME.

808state

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • Last login:March 18, 2019, 01:19:40 pm
  • Wells CRT D9800 27" Full Size HyperSpin CaB
Could I get some direction on the display settings that would be optimal for my Wells D9800 and SNES9x. Do I turn off VSYNC, triple buffering, biliner filtering, NTSC scanlines?

Thanks Much!

ahofle

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4540
  • Last login:September 29, 2020, 12:42:02 am
    • Arcade Ambience Project
I would recommend switching to the latest GroovyMAME for NES/SNES which understands the magic resolutions and has perfect refresh rates out of the box without having to add anything custom.

808state

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • Last login:March 18, 2019, 01:19:40 pm
  • Wells CRT D9800 27" Full Size HyperSpin CaB
Thanks much I will give it another go for sure. I did run a cpl snes games and it looked fantastic with groovymame but wasn't sure if mame was best option for console performance

Thanks