Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: FFB Arcade Plugin  (Read 287685 times)

1 Member and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1063
  • Last login:January 01, 2024, 08:20:43 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
FFB Arcade Plugin
« on: July 15, 2018, 04:25:41 pm »
--FFB Arcade Plugin--

 

Version 0.1

 

Created by Boomslangnz, Ducon2016 & Spazzy.

 

This is a plugin to provide Force Feedback and Rumble to various arcade games. Initially this was a small project
to add FFB to Daytona Championship USA and it grew from there to support several more games and rumble was added.
While best efforts were made to try to resemble the real arcade force feedback.

--Credits--

- Reaver from Teknoparrot . Huge thanks to Reaver for supplying code necessary for some games & general force feedback,
extremely generous.

 

- Jackchen for his Daytona Championship USA FFB work at beginning of year.

 

- Howard Castro for help on game FFB code. Always helpful and a big reason this plugin was ever made

 

- Everyone who helps and gives back to this awesome scene. Thanks for everything!

 

--Supported Games--

 

-Afterburner Climax (Rumble only) [opengl32.dll into Teknoparrot folder]

 

-Battle Gear 4 Tuned (Japan version v2.07) [d3d9.dll into game exe folder]

 

-ChaseHQ 2 [d3d9.dll into game exe folder]

 

-Daytona Championship USA (FFB modification by Jackchen required, Disable x360ce FFB!) [dinput8.dll into game exe folder]

 

-Ford Racing [dinput8.dll into game exe folder]

 

-Initial D4 [opengl32.dll into Teknoparrot folder]

 

-Initial D6 [dinput8.dll into game exe folder]

 

-Initial D7 [dinput8.dll into game exe folder]

 

-Initial D8 [dinput8.dll into game exe folder]

 

-Machstorm (Rumble only) [xinput1_3.dll into game exe folder]

 

-Mario Kart GP DX (Version 1.00 & version 1.10) [dinput8.dll into game exe folder]

 

-Pokken Tournament (Rumble only) [dinput8.dll into game exe folder]

 

-Sega Racing Classic [dinput8.dll into game exe folder]

 

-Sega Rally 3 [dinput8.dll into game exe folder]

 

-Wacky Races [d3d9.dll into game exe folder]

 

-Wangan Midnight Maximum Tune 5 (Update 5) [d3d11.dll into game exe folder]

 

--How to use--

 

Place the main dll file, SDL2.dll & FFBPlugin.ini into game folder for most games. For Teknoparrot Lindbergh
games place opengl32.dll, SDL2.dll into Teknoparrot folder & FFBPlugin.ini into same folder as elf file for each game.

ini file contains settings to adjust for each game

 

GameId= **GameId for code to identify game, also has a test FFB mode,-1 for Constant test ,-2 for
Sine test, -3 for Friction test, -4 for Spring test, -5 for Heavy test or -6 for loose test**

 

MinForce= **Minimum FFB force with 0 being lowest value available**

 

MaxForce= **Maximum FFB force with 100 being highest value available**

 

DeviceGUID= **Set Device GUID to connect to specific wheel or controller**

 

EnableRumble= **Turn Off (0) if your wheel supports rumble effect. For controllers, turn on (1)**

 

Logging= **Turn On (1) to allow log.txt to be made to log plugin. Device GUID is given in here**

 

ResetFeedback= **When a command is set that contradicts a prior command, clear the prior command. Should stay as 1**

 

FeedbackLength= **Length of a feedback command**

 

DefaultCentering= **If a game does not specify its own Centering force then a default centering can be applied here.
If a game has any of its own such forces,these values will be overwritten immediately in-game. Use -1 to disable**

 

DefaultFriction= **If a game does not specify its own Friction force then a default friction can be applied here.
If a game has any of its own such forces,these values will be overwritten immediately in-game. Use -1 to disable**

 

BeepWhenHook= **Beep should occur if dll is hooked by executable when turned on (1)**

 

Download

https://mega.nz/#!8FchzKpT!eLDJdWhkJHm1nx-7NNW9l63hPy0sXTVGRjVEwxGMX_U 0.6a version
« Last Edit: February 29, 2020, 01:20:58 pm by Boomslang »

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1758
  • Last login:March 22, 2024, 12:55:20 am
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2018, 08:12:38 pm »
Awesome work, and much respect for your efforts on this! These projects are always great to see. I'm not even using FFB wheels right now, but when I'm rich and famous i will, and it will be great :)

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1063
  • Last login:January 01, 2024, 08:20:43 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2018, 10:18:40 pm »
It works on controllers too

deidos

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • Last login:December 23, 2018, 02:05:10 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2018, 04:32:07 am »
is there any way I can play Daytona Championship USA with my old  genius trio racer f1   :'(

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1063
  • Last login:January 01, 2024, 08:20:43 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #4 on: July 16, 2018, 04:34:55 am »
Looks like that wheel has no force feedback so no it won't work with this plugin

MrThunderwing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1054
  • Last login:March 24, 2024, 07:22:01 pm
  • As I pass, do I give you the ass or the crotch?
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #5 on: July 16, 2018, 10:35:35 am »
Awesome stuff!

isamu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 807
  • Last login:March 18, 2024, 02:38:32 am
  • I'm a llama!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #6 on: July 16, 2018, 02:10:39 pm »
Awesome and great work dude!  :cheers: However just a little clarification please....is this plugin beneficial or advantageous to those of us who ALREADY have working and proper FFB in Teknoparrot running games like Sega Racing Classic, ID7, ID8 and WMMT5? I run those games in TP and the FFB already feels like proper working FFB. How does this plugin improve on that?

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1063
  • Last login:January 01, 2024, 08:20:43 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #7 on: July 16, 2018, 04:18:18 pm »
Well we use different game code for games compared to teknoparrots built in ffb so it's up to users to see what they prefer.

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19399
  • Last login:March 16, 2024, 05:59:16 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #8 on: July 16, 2018, 07:00:01 pm »
Glad you got this out there.  Hopefully I'll get to try it soon but atm I think my racing rig is inaccessible.  Thinking of getting an old sidewinder just for afterburner climax. 

isamu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 807
  • Last login:March 18, 2024, 02:38:32 am
  • I'm a llama!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #9 on: July 17, 2018, 03:08:26 am »
Well we use different game code for games compared to teknoparrots built in ffb so it's up to users to see what they prefer.

Cheers mate. I don't see OR2 on the list. Is support coming for it as well?

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1063
  • Last login:January 01, 2024, 08:20:43 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #10 on: July 17, 2018, 04:05:46 am »
yea Ill do outrun 2 at some stage

BadMouth

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9226
  • Last login:March 25, 2024, 08:10:48 pm
  • ...
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #11 on: July 17, 2018, 10:08:04 am »
Thinking of getting an old sidewinder just for afterburner climax.

The old sidewinder wheel from that era was before there was any standard for handling FFB.
Games had to be programmed specifically for that wheel.  FFB in a game would only work with the wheel it was designed for and no others.
I assume the old sidewinder joystick is the same way, so do your homework before blowing any money.

segaturbo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 45
  • Last login:June 04, 2023, 12:31:01 pm
  • SEGA FOREVER
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #12 on: July 17, 2018, 12:22:07 pm »
having trouble getting this working with Daytona Championship USA
I have it running but lacking ffb
I think I am lacking this file FFB modification by Jackchen required
every thing loads in log but at the end it says 0 to everything
can anyone point me to jackhen file

thanks  :dunno
« Last Edit: July 17, 2018, 12:45:57 pm by segaturbo »

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19399
  • Last login:March 16, 2024, 05:59:16 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #13 on: July 17, 2018, 01:33:51 pm »
Thinking of getting an old sidewinder just for afterburner climax.

The old sidewinder wheel from that era was before there was any standard for handling FFB.
Games had to be programmed specifically for that wheel.  FFB in a game would only work with the wheel it was designed for and no others.
I assume the old sidewinder joystick is the same way, so do your homework before blowing any money.

Well the thing is, force-feedback on flight stick has seemed to have gone the way of the dodo.  Even the really expensive sticks don't seem to have it.  Honestly I'd be happy with just some rumble as I really only want to play afterburner on it anyway. 

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1063
  • Last login:January 01, 2024, 08:20:43 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #14 on: July 17, 2018, 03:36:18 pm »
I have an old sidewinder 2 here so I should test it out and see if it works with sdl2

Atm I only added rumble but we could do more

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1063
  • Last login:January 01, 2024, 08:20:43 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #15 on: July 20, 2018, 10:34:12 pm »
I did ffb for San Francisco Rush on mame and it works pretty well, would some mame games interest you guys?

I would have to do it for a specific build of mame really as the addresses would change with any future versions etc and I dunno if i could be bothered finding them over and over lol


Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19399
  • Last login:March 16, 2024, 05:59:16 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #16 on: July 21, 2018, 12:43:49 am »
It might be worth it to talk to whoever is in charge of mame atm and see what their thoughts on including some support would be.  I've tried in the past, but they were a bit too picky in regards to the code layout and I lost interest.  I've even got some ancient files for afterburner and a few of the missing sega games.  If it's in mame as an output it can then be handled several ways....  mamehooker could just do it all, or it could simply pass the data along to your plugin, or the plugin could be modified to support outputs. 

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1063
  • Last login:January 01, 2024, 08:20:43 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #17 on: July 21, 2018, 12:55:27 am »
yea id love to modify plugin to support outputs as that would solve me getting ffb data on virtua racing etc and would then support games for future etc.

for san fran rush ive just got a static pointer which works fine but obviously wont work on any other build of mame right now etc.

Is there any source code anywhere on how to recieve the output data from mame?

I could always code a export from plugin for mamehooker to send values too it otherwise, but would require a new mamehooker version

- Edit -

Works on San Francisco Rush: The Rock too, didn't even have to find a new address funny enough. Must use same rom file or something
« Last Edit: July 21, 2018, 02:05:00 am by Boomslang »

isamu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 807
  • Last login:March 18, 2024, 02:38:32 am
  • I'm a llama!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #18 on: July 21, 2018, 03:33:36 am »
I did ffb for San Francisco Rush on mame and it works pretty well, would some mame games interest you guys?

I would have to do it for a specific build of mame really as the addresses would change with any future versions etc and I dunno if i could be bothered finding them over and over lol

Having FFB in Rave Racer would make me go from playing it once every couple of weeks to playing everyday  :lol If you can pull that off I'd be eternally grateful!  :notworthy: :cheers:

Hard Drivin', Race Drivin', OutRunners, California Speed and the CruisN games would be cool too.

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1063
  • Last login:January 01, 2024, 08:20:43 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #19 on: July 21, 2018, 05:12:35 am »
I did ffb for San Francisco Rush on mame and it works pretty well, would some mame games interest you guys?

I would have to do it for a specific build of mame really as the addresses would change with any future versions etc and I dunno if i could be bothered finding them over and over lol

Having FFB in Rave Racer would make me go from playing it once every couple of weeks to playing everyday  :lol If you can pull that off I'd be eternally grateful!  :notworthy: :cheers:



Hard Drivin', Race Drivin', OutRunners, California Speed and the CruisN games would be cool too.

I had a look at Rave Racer but i couldn't actually find an address for it really, there is an option in game settings to turn feedback steering on or off and also a steering motor test etc but i still couldn't find anything that seemed like the real ffb

well not unless hitting walls does nothing in rave racer cos any address i found didn't change when hitting walls etc

but here is San Francisco Rush for a bit of a play with , it will only work on mame 0.199 32bit version

I was just having some fun adding this game as I was curious to try out a mame game

San Francisco Rush or San Francisco Rush The Rock will work

make a seperate folder for it as it will work across any mame game with the way its done, instructions in txt file

also if using a wheel, I suggest turning off wheel deadzone with command -joystick_deadzone 0 and I set my wheel to 270 degrees rotation

Removed attachment, will post new one below
« Last Edit: July 21, 2018, 08:00:25 am by Boomslang »

trick72

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 67
  • Last login:February 21, 2024, 03:49:05 am
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #20 on: July 21, 2018, 05:43:15 am »
Hi,
I tried SR3 with this force feedback plugin.  I enabled logging and the "hook"sound. this sound is played when starting SR3 so it seems to hook. In the log file I see it detected my Logitech G27 wheel fine. Still, I do not get any type off ffb during gameplay.
Also, enabling rumble does not do anything. I don't feel anything.
Not sure what's going on.
Thanks for helping. Log file attached.


Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1063
  • Last login:January 01, 2024, 08:20:43 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #21 on: July 21, 2018, 05:49:35 am »
hm, it appears to be reading the values fine and it's hooking fine etc so that's good

Just to make sure, you have Teknoparrots FFB disabled in Teknoparrotui?

it will be under emulation settings, untick Use Force Feedback

trick72

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 67
  • Last login:February 21, 2024, 03:49:05 am
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #22 on: July 21, 2018, 07:15:32 am »
Yes, ffb is unticked (disabled) in teknoparrot. Does it need a specific minimum version of TP? I don't use the most recent...
I also tried with Sega Racing Classic and got the same behaviour. It "seems" to run, but I don't have any ffb feelings.
Do I need to modify something in Logitech profiler perhaps?
I'm running Windows 10.
Can somebody with a G27 wheel confirm to get it working ?
« Last Edit: July 21, 2018, 07:19:44 am by trick72 »

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1063
  • Last login:January 01, 2024, 08:20:43 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #23 on: July 21, 2018, 08:07:02 am »
Yes, ffb is unticked (disabled) in teknoparrot. Does it need a specific minimum version of TP? I don't use the most recent...
I also tried with Sega Racing Classic and got the same behaviour. It "seems" to run, but I don't have any ffb feelings.
Do I need to modify something in Logitech profiler perhaps?
I'm running Windows 10.
Can somebody with a G27 wheel confirm to get it working ?

Hm yeah it would need to at least be from a few months ago when Teknoparrot did FFB for SR3 etc but shouldn't matter for Sega Racing Classic as that's read directly from exe

You were recieving the values etc for SR3 tho and it even shows it is attempting to move wheel

AFAIK you shouldn't need to touch anything in logitech profiler and I also run Windows 10 and use a Logitech g27 and Logitech G920 for testing so it should work fine and does for everyone else ive spoken too

I'm not sure what the problem would be if you have the 3 files in the folders etc and setup GUID number in ini, that's basically all that's required. Sorry I can't be more help, let us know how you get on, perhaps reinstall Logitech G27 driver software?

Just to make sure you have put those files in game folders the dinput8.dll, FFBPlugin.ini and SDL2.dll? Unplug wheel and reconnect etc? It seems strange you aren't getting the effects

« Last Edit: July 21, 2018, 08:29:51 pm by Boomslang »

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1063
  • Last login:January 01, 2024, 08:20:43 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #24 on: July 21, 2018, 08:34:59 pm »
Got requested to add 64bit support and also to support a couple different versions of San Francisco Rush so here it is


Will work on San Francisco Rush, San Francisco Rush The Rock, San Francisco Rush 2049 and San Francisco Rush 2049 SE, works on San Francisco Rush The Rock Wavenet too but think mame doesn't emulate this properly. Also now works on 32bit or 64bit of Mame 0.199 and also now detects window name etc so won't mess with any other mame games

**edit**

Removed link, new link added below for updated version
« Last Edit: July 26, 2018, 04:28:50 am by Boomslang »

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1063
  • Last login:January 01, 2024, 08:20:43 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #25 on: July 24, 2018, 05:07:36 am »
Slight change again to support Mame binary 32 or 64bit aswell as MameUI64. Supports all the San Francisco Rush games and Rave Racer. Only works on Mame version 0.199 of those

 
Please read txt file for info before messaging that it doesn't work!

**edit**

Removed link, new link added below for updated version
« Last Edit: July 26, 2018, 04:29:19 am by Boomslang »

trick72

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 67
  • Last login:February 21, 2024, 03:49:05 am
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #26 on: July 24, 2018, 11:05:30 am »





Hm yeah it would need to at least be from a few months ago when Teknoparrot did FFB for SR3 etc but shouldn't matter for Sega Racing Classic as that's read directly from exe

You were recieving the values etc for SR3 tho and it even shows it is attempting to move wheel

AFAIK you shouldn't need to touch anything in logitech profiler and I also run Windows 10 and use a Logitech g27 and Logitech G920 for testing so it should work fine and does for everyone else ive spoken too

I'm not sure what the problem would be if you have the 3 files in the folders etc and setup GUID number in ini, that's basically all that's required. Sorry I can't be more help, let us know how you get on, perhaps reinstall Logitech G27 driver software?

Just to make sure you have put those files in game folders the dinput8.dll, FFBPlugin.ini and SDL2.dll? Unplug wheel and reconnect etc? It seems strange you aren't getting the effects

I have a twin race cab, the other PC has the same issue. seems to work in logs but no ffb. Boomslang, could it be a driver issue for the g27? May I ask what version you have of the g27 driver and are you at latest win10 update?

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1063
  • Last login:January 01, 2024, 08:20:43 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #27 on: July 24, 2018, 04:16:17 pm »
Yeah it sounds like driver issue to me if you have done the guid number to ini etc

Yes I use latest Windows 10 update

Think I use g27 5.10 driver.

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1063
  • Last login:January 01, 2024, 08:20:43 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #28 on: July 26, 2018, 04:27:21 am »
another day, another change lol, fixed the sfrush games as outputs were part of FFB address so fixed now as could of made FFB effects do unnecessary effects. Supports Sfrush 2049 TE now & Modified Rave Racer FFB code as was missing some effects eg jumps.


vandale

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 408
  • Last login:October 10, 2023, 04:01:16 am
  • Id 10 and t error
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #29 on: July 26, 2018, 06:18:54 pm »
Cant wait to try this on my new build, great work guys  :applaud:

DarthMarino

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 565
  • Last login:Today at 06:51:56 am
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #30 on: July 26, 2018, 10:15:10 pm »
Thanks for letting me know about this on my Rush The Rock video. I tried it out and it works great for me.  I made a new video of it in action and how I set it up.


shaolindrunkard

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 570
  • Last login:August 19, 2021, 11:13:43 am
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #31 on: July 26, 2018, 11:00:49 pm »
This is awesome! Is rumble supported in all games on the list?

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19399
  • Last login:March 16, 2024, 05:59:16 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #32 on: July 26, 2018, 11:41:29 pm »
Hey I'm still moving boxes around, but I was wondering if the rumble function works with xinput devices as well.  I've yet to find a modern flight stick with rumble, so I might Frankenstein a usb flight stick with a xb360 gamepad. 

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1063
  • Last login:January 01, 2024, 08:20:43 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #33 on: July 26, 2018, 11:50:02 pm »
yeah should work fine on xinput devices and yes rumble works on any game

shaolindrunkard

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 570
  • Last login:August 19, 2021, 11:13:43 am
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #34 on: July 26, 2018, 11:53:37 pm »
Hey I'm still moving boxes around, but I was wondering if the rumble function works with xinput devices as well.  I've yet to find a modern flight stick with rumble, so I might Frankenstein a usb flight stick with a xb360 gamepad.

I'm almost done adding a ch products flight stick to my driving cab, I was able to wire the pots in the flight stick directly to the right analog stick on an xbox 360 controller. Works very well. I have one rumble motor output going to a large motor that shakes the whole cab, but I was thinking I could use the other output and shove a small motor inside the base of the flight stick. But either way I think Afterburner climax would be rad with my large motor set up shaking the whole cab. Haven't had time to set up Afterburner with teknoparrot yet though.

Hoping to post about it soon, just working on the bracket to hold the flight stick. And I'm trying to make it easily removable so the flight stick doesn't get in the way when playing regular driving games...

shaolindrunkard

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 570
  • Last login:August 19, 2021, 11:13:43 am
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #35 on: July 26, 2018, 11:54:12 pm »
yeah should work fine on xinput devices and yes rumble works on any game

Awesome, thanks!

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19399
  • Last login:March 16, 2024, 05:59:16 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #36 on: July 27, 2018, 12:57:50 am »
Cool.  Which stick are you using?  I've got a xb360 candy controller I was going to hack up for seat rumble, thought I could just plug into one of the motors for afterburner.  Btw I thought about it and I figured the best way to power my big motors would be to run the motor signals though an audio amp for smooth analog control of the motor.  Anyone tried that?

segaturbo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 45
  • Last login:June 04, 2023, 12:31:01 pm
  • SEGA FOREVER
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #37 on: July 27, 2018, 06:23:00 am »
hi howard any chance this could be made to work with your launcher for Daytona championship
when you use the launcher you got manual gears no feedback when you use the plugin with Daytona exe you get the feedback but no gears or using wheel to select race car and track

 ;)

shaolindrunkard

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 570
  • Last login:August 19, 2021, 11:13:43 am
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #38 on: July 27, 2018, 08:09:10 am »
Cool.  Which stick are you using?  I've got a xb360 candy controller I was going to hack up for seat rumble, thought I could just plug into one of the motors for afterburner.  Btw I thought about it and I figured the best way to power my big motors would be to run the motor signals though an audio amp for smooth analog control of the motor.  Anyone tried that?

Its the Ch Product F-16 Combat Stick, its very similar to the Ch Products F-16 Fighter Stick except the Combat stick has a more buttons instead of a bunch of POV hats. I bought the old serial version, there's actually a usb version but its much more expensive... Since I was hacking it anyway there was no need to get the usb version. Here's what it looks like.


Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19399
  • Last login:March 16, 2024, 05:59:16 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #39 on: July 27, 2018, 01:18:41 pm »
hi howard any chance this could be made to work with your launcher for Daytona championship
when you use the launcher you got manual gears no feedback when you use the plugin with Daytona exe you get the feedback but no gears or using wheel to select race car and track

 ;)

Daytona probably needs a full rebuild.  It has more problems with it than just lack of ff.  If Boomslang wants to add those features to his plugin though I'll be glad to send him any needed data.