Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Recreating pixel art  (Read 4350 times)

Smalkmus

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:February 17, 2019, 09:57:23 am
  • Arcade noob! I'm here to learn!
Recreating pixel art
« on: July 03, 2018, 12:18:33 am »
I have what may seem like a silly question. I am a beginner and have next to no idea what I am doing. I’m working on creating some graphics for an arcade cabinet kit. I want the theme to be Mega Man. I noticed whenever I bring images into photoshop and transform them into larger sizes they get pixelated or leave some artifacts behind. I don’t know enough to say exactly why that happens but I think the original images just aren’t good enough quality and by enlarging them their imperfections show up (or something). So I had this idea if I made pixel art in photoshop by zooming in to like 3200% and using the 1 pixel pencil tool and “drawing” the pixels from an image like the one attached, I end up with this tiny image but it can be transformed to a much larger size and doesn’t seem to pixelate or show any artifacts.