Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Reading .nv files  (Read 2072 times)

mike5im5

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:December 23, 2021, 03:22:21 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Reading .nv files
« on: June 20, 2018, 10:40:17 am »
Hi All,

I'm a bit new to the software side of emulations and wondered if someone could help explain a few things to me?

I wanted a way to extract and share high scores between my brother and I playing on two different systems (he lives on the other side of the world). I recently built him a pi3 based gameboy and it will be really good for us to get competitive on some old coin ups (track and field, galaga, 1942 etc).

I'm a competent C++/java programmer so writing a utility to upload the data to a web server and hosting it with a nice front end would be easy enough for me.

However my binary/hex knowledge is very thin.

Can someone tell me if it's even possible or point me in the right direction? I'm assuming that save data should be in the .nv file somewhere so as long as I could find references to where this is. I could extract and interpret it in some way.

Questions:

1. Does the format/content of the .nv file change between different versions of mame?
2. Should I be using the highscore.dat and .hi files instead? Is this even supported?