Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Rotary controller  (Read 4356 times)

Elevator-Action

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:July 25, 2020, 06:56:38 am
  • The road to hell is paved with good intentions!
Rotary controller
« on: July 23, 2020, 10:39:42 pm »
I'm pretty new to MAME and have two mayflash f300 elite sticks, but I want to play games like "Front Line", "Wild West", and of course "Ikari Warriors". What do you recommend for a controller?
I am for the stars, but sometimes I hit London
WVB

PL1

• Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Online Online
  • Last login:Today at 08:28:19 pm
  • Designated spam hunter
Re: Rotary controller
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2020, 03:17:16 am »
I want to play games like "Front Line", "Wild West", and of course "Ikari Warriors". What do you recommend for a controller?
You're talking about two very different controllers for those games.

The wiki's Joystick Database has pictures of the Taito Aim-n-Fire and a similar controller used on some Nintendo games.

Taito:

Nintendo (?):

There are six games that used this type of controller:
- Front Line
- The Tin Star
- Wild Western
- Sheriff (Nintendo)
- Bandido (Exidy -- licensed re-release of Sheriff)
- Western Gun Part II (Taito -- licensed re-release of Sheriff)

The controller acts like a joystick that is always pressed in the direction that the knob points.
- Twist to aim.
- Press to fire.