Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: ML-1 Hard drive crashed... is there a work around?  (Read 789 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

minivipr

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
ML-1 Hard drive crashed... is there a work around?
« on: May 23, 2018, 04:00:45 pm »
Not really wanting to spend the money on a new hard drive for this ML-1. I have tried to clone a working drive to a new hard drive and had no luck, get a critical error /r during boot up. Tried to clone the old hard drive with a working hard drive and I get the same error. I assume then it must be some protection in the boot up that I am not getting with the cloning software. Has anybody had any luck in finding out a way around this. I have seen removing and swapping the board between the old and new hard drive but I am afraid that I have already overwritten whatever protection that may be on the old drive. AMI really don't really have any information on the programming of these hard drives - their suggestion - buy a new hard drive.

orizzle

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 134
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: ML-1 Hard drive crashed... is there a work around?
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2018, 05:31:57 pm »
New hard drive is the only way. Period

lilshawn

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6138
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: ML-1 Hard drive crashed... is there a work around?
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2018, 05:40:23 pm »
the harddrives are encoded to the machine and harddrives serial numbers.  so even a working drive from another machine won't work... nor will a clone.

Ami handles parts for megatouch (what's left of them).  possibly betson imperial may have drives and software.

minivipr

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: ML-1 Hard drive crashed... is there a work around?
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2018, 10:39:04 am »
While it is true that the hard drive is paired to the host machine replacing the hard drive from another unit is possible. The software will realize it is in a different cabinet and require a factory reset to be used with the new machine.

Asure

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: ML-1 Hard drive crashed... is there a work around?
« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2018, 03:18:29 pm »
I was informed these are bitlockered drives and as such will throw up the bitlocker screen asking for password when you change bios stuff, swap drives, etc.
You'll need to get around that first.

mahkeymike

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 541
Re: ML-1 Hard drive crashed... is there a work around?
« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2018, 11:57:42 pm »
I have have two ML-1's and neither of them have a bios password. If you try to clone a drive it will  throw an error loading and get to 99% loading and a jit will pop up.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31