Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing  (Read 11313 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

leapinlew

  • Some questionable things going on in this room with cheetos
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6739
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #200 on: May 30, 2018, 08:39:44 pm »
Put the side panels on the freakin computer and clean the dust off of it. I bet the CPU heatsink is totally impacted with dust.
The side panels were off to get into the fan power.  The fan power is only accessible outside the main unit.  And yes, I need to clean it. 

Jesus, rough crowd.

No worries bro. It's not the crowd, just a couple hecklers. Ignore them and you'll be fine.  :)

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 321
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #201 on: May 30, 2018, 08:41:30 pm »
Arcade switch successfully wired up to the power strip I will run the PC, Monitor, and 12v LED strip. Female connectors are in solid, and so is the cable into the switch from the wall.

Plugged in:



Plugged in and switch on:

javeryh

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5823
    • Bella's Arcade
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #202 on: May 30, 2018, 09:22:25 pm »
Arcade switch successfully wired up to the power strip I will run the PC, Monitor, and 12v LED strip. Female connectors are in solid, and so is the cable into the switch from the wall.

Awesome.  Can you show a close-up of your wiring?

Thanks.   :cheers:

PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 6773
  • 2013 UCA Awardee
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #203 on: May 30, 2018, 09:37:38 pm »
The GGG Red-board to Dupont pins cable will work with the Ultimate I/O board if you extract the ground pin from the housing since the 5v and ground pins are not next to each other on that board.
Sorry Iím still a little confused by that statement.

Are you saying the Happ Trackball will pin into the Ultimarc Ultimate, but I will need to remove the ground pin from the quick connect since it wonít fit?
If you look at the trackball Dupont pins on the Ultimate I/O board (top, just left of center), the ground pins (G) are on the left, the data pins (X1/X2, Y1/Y2) are in the middle, and the 5v pins are on the right.



If you look at the picture of the GGG Trackball Cable for Opti-Wizô "No-Solder", one of the 1x2 black Dupont pin housings has 5v (red wires) and ground (black wires) next to each other.



To make the GGG trackball cable work with the Ultimate I/O board, you'll need to pull one of those two pins (I recommend ground) out of that 1x2 housing using this procedure.

If you have a spare 1x1 or 1x2 Dupont housing, you can put it on the extracted pin or you an just plug the bare pin directly onto the Ultimate I/O board.

Plug the one ground pin on the left, the four data pins in the center, and the one 5v pin on the right.


Scott

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 321
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #204 on: May 30, 2018, 10:24:50 pm »
To make the GGG trackball cable work with the Ultimate I/O board, you'll need to pull one of those two pins (I recommend ground) out of that 1x2 housing using this procedure.

If you have a spare 1x1 or 1x2 Dupont housing, you can put it on the extracted pin or you an just plug the bare pin directly onto the Ultimate I/O board.

Plug the one ground pin on the left, the four data pins in the center, and the one 5v pin on the right.

Thanks!   :applaud:

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 321
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #205 on: May 30, 2018, 10:44:47 pm »
Awesome.  Can you show a close-up of your wiring?

Thanks.   :cheers:

You can follow this guyís tutorial. Basically itís +,- Ground, and then chaining the switch down:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=W4Vhkgq4JEg

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 321
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #206 on: June 03, 2018, 08:57:16 pm »
Re-drew the outside cabinet walls..

Thoughts on the new outline?  The space in front of the buttons/sticks?

The CP is also at 3' 4" or 40" high at the stick (angled down at 5 degrees).  I'm 6' even, and that feels pretty good, but I'm not sure what normal is...

Also, the screen is not angled backwards at all, it is straight up and down, anyone have input on that?




obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 321
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #207 on: June 03, 2018, 09:14:57 pm »
Also, what kind of access do people plan for on the back side of the cabinet?  I assume I need a door into the computer and if I need to ever re-wire areas. 

I don't think I need anything on top since I could re-wire the marquee from the front if I absolutely have to.


Drnick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1284
  • Plodding Through Life
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #208 on: June 04, 2018, 12:10:13 pm »
Also, what kind of access do people plan for on the back side of the cabinet?  I assume I need a door into the computer and if I need to ever re-wire areas. 
I don't think I need anything on top since I could re-wire the marquee from the front if I absolutely have to.

Quickest and easiest solution below,  Add a single lock if using hinges, use either rare earth magnets or 2 or 3 locks to hold in place if you are just push fitting into place.
« Last Edit: June 04, 2018, 12:13:48 pm by Drnick »

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 321
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #209 on: June 04, 2018, 12:42:11 pm »
Quickest and easiest solution below,  Add a single lock if using hinges, use either rare earth magnets or 2 or 3 locks to hold in place if you are just push fitting into place.
That seems like a very heavy door since I'm cutting mine out of 3/4" plywood.

Does it really need to be that high?

javeryh

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5823
    • Bella's Arcade
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #210 on: June 04, 2018, 12:45:33 pm »
Quickest and easiest solution below,  Add a single lock if using hinges, use either rare earth magnets or 2 or 3 locks to hold in place if you are just push fitting into place.
That seems like a very heavy door since I'm cutting mine out of 3/4" plywood.

Does it really need to be that high?

The weight will be supported by the bottom rear panel.  You can use a cam lock or something up top plus some interior wood strips as stops to keep it in place.  You will almost never go back there once you set everything up.

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 321
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #211 on: June 18, 2018, 10:17:29 pm »
How far do people cut into their control panel for their joysticks?  I have a 3/ď piece of plywood and Iím not sure how far I need to plunge into the wood so the joysticks liner up correctly. Iím using Sanyo joysticks.

Additionally, is there a ďnormalĒ size of t-molding cut that most people use for a 3/4Ē strip.

Finally, I assume a plunge router could also lock in place to cut the T-molding, but I realize that Iíve just been assuming. If anyone can give me clarification on that it would be helpful.  I know thereís changeable base routers, but do I need one of those?

javeryh

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5823
    • Bella's Arcade
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #212 on: June 19, 2018, 05:32:47 am »
A plunge router should work fine with the slot cutter.  Just lock it to the proper depth.

Joystick depth is a personal preference thing.  Some people like longer sticks and others like shorter ones.

3/4Ē t-molding will work fine for 3/4Ē plywood.  Some places that sell it will send you test strips in different colors before you order if you ask. 

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 321
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #213 on: June 19, 2018, 08:38:15 am »
A plunge router should work fine with the slot cutter.  Just lock it to the proper depth.
I wasnít sure if I could lock a plunge at a certain depth or if I needed to keep pressure on it. Although I feel like both should work.


Joystick depth is a personal preference thing.  Some people like longer sticks and others like shorter ones.
I feel like anything less than 1/8Ē is playing with fire, but then again I havenít done this before.

3/4Ē t-molding will work fine for 3/4Ē plywood.  Some places that sell it will send you test strips in different colors before you order if you ask.
I should have specified, I know 3/4 plywood will work, but Iím unsure on what size rotary but for the actual line I cut into the width of the plywood to push the T-molding into. I have some samples for colors and stuff, but maybe it says on the specs and I just have to look again. 

luizw81

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
  • I love the Power Glove. It's so bad.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #214 on: June 19, 2018, 09:26:01 am »
Concerning the plunge router,  make sure you lock it in tight before you start and after every plunge.  If it gets loose you'll plunge right through the board....thats what happened to me.

As for the slot cutter, the T-molding website should have the specs.  I bought my 3/4 molding from Tmolding.com and it needed a 1/16" slot.

Sent from my SM-J320R4 using Tapatalk

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 321
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #215 on: June 19, 2018, 09:42:34 am »
Concerning the plunge router,  make sure you lock it in tight before you start and after every plunge.  If it gets loose you'll plunge right through the board....thats what happened to me.

As for the slot cutter, the T-molding website should have the specs.  I bought my 3/4 molding from Tmolding.com and it needed a 1/16" slot.

Sent from my SM-J320R4 using Tapatalk

Thanks!

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 321
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #216 on: June 21, 2018, 09:43:09 pm »
Iíve got wood.


And tools:

Richie_jones

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 229
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #217 on: June 24, 2018, 11:49:45 am »
Looking forward to see how it all turns out..

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 321
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #218 on: June 24, 2018, 10:26:10 pm »
Printed out, measured, clamped.  Foreman is on the site ready to go.




Turned out okay for first cut, my crappy jigsaw started beveling so Iíll need to get a new one soon. In the meantime it will have to do. Just more sanding in my future.



Iíll cut the other one tomorrow hopefully, then on to routing and pairing up the sides.

Edit: yes I know I didnít bevel to top corners... see bad jigsaw comment.

proplayer77

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 163
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #219 on: June 25, 2018, 06:46:00 am »
Nice to see you have started your project. Im on final steps with mine, started about 6 weeks ago and used about total of 5 hours  / week for it sofar. :)

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 321
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #220 on: June 25, 2018, 07:10:59 am »
Nice to see you have started your project. Im on final steps with mine, started about 6 weeks ago and used about total of 5 hours  / week for it sofar. :)

That looks great!

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 321
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #221 on: June 25, 2018, 02:00:15 pm »
Nice to see you have started your project. Im on final steps with mine, started about 6 weeks ago and used about total of 5 hours  / week for it sofar. :)

Are you doing any artwork?

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 321
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #222 on: June 25, 2018, 11:03:08 pm »
Cut out the other side and practiced with the router. 



I originally had the bevel issue on one of the pieces that you can see:



But now I guess both are evenly bad.  :-\



The goal will be to sand out the bad portions tomorrow on one side and then use the router to make the other side pair to it.

Drnick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1284
  • Plodding Through Life
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #223 on: June 26, 2018, 03:26:29 am »
I don't envy the sanding job :) Gotta be honest here,  this is one of the reasons for me buying a table saw  :laugh2: for the straight edges I would clamp a straight edge and use the router to clean up. Only using the sander on the curved areas :)

yamatetsu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1926
  • Just because.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #224 on: June 26, 2018, 04:58:14 am »
The goal will be to sand out the bad portions tomorrow on one side and then use the router to make the other side pair to it.

No need for the router. Just clamp the boards together so that the straight lines match and sand away the imperfections. You'll automatically get two identical boards.
                  

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 321
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #225 on: June 26, 2018, 08:49:15 am »
No need for the router. Just clamp the boards together so that the straight lines match and sand away the imperfections. You'll automatically get two identical boards.

I am going to try that, but I didnít know if it would be perfect. Also one board still has a bevel so I didnít know if that made sense...

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2037
  • Buy a Multimeter
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #226 on: June 26, 2018, 09:01:42 am »
Every time you try to shape a hunk of wood to your will, you learn something new.

javeryh

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5823
    • Bella's Arcade
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #227 on: June 26, 2018, 09:36:45 am »
I would use a straight edge, a flush trim bit and a router to clean that up.  Sanding that straight could take all day unless you have a belt sander and some 80 grit but it (probably) won't come out as crisp as you'd like.  Then you can adjust your sketch-up plans accordingly when you lose 1/8" or whatever it ends up being.

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12968
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #228 on: June 26, 2018, 11:25:50 am »
your first go turned out heaps better than my first go. Have you decided on a theme yet?
No matter one's station in life, the Dance of Death unites us all.

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 321
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #229 on: June 26, 2018, 08:55:07 pm »
your first go turned out heaps better than my first go. Have you decided on a theme yet?

Not yet... Iím thinking Marvel vs Capcom, but that may change. Deciding between a lightning ďZeusĒ theme and going with something like MvC

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 321
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #230 on: June 26, 2018, 08:58:29 pm »
Did some sanding today... this stuff eats up a lot more time than you think... maybe I shouldíve done this before I had a kid.  ;)

Excuse the ďpic stitchĒ but it made the uploading a lot easier.



The ďarmĒ still looks off to me. I may have to touch it up tomorrow.



JudgeRob

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 385
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,149265.120.html
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #231 on: June 26, 2018, 11:00:40 pm »
You don't have a router?  Getting real familiar with mine was one of the best parts of building a cab.  Learned lots of things it could do.

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 321
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #232 on: June 26, 2018, 11:04:21 pm »
You don't have a router?  Getting real familiar with mine was one of the best parts of building a cab.  Learned lots of things it could do.

I have one, what are you suggesting I do with it?  Create a guide?

JudgeRob

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 385
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,149265.120.html
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #233 on: June 27, 2018, 11:57:08 am »
Straight edge as a guide down the straight sides, the router makes really sharp straight lines and gets rid of the bevelling problem.  But I guess maybe you already sanded down the sides?

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 321
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #234 on: June 27, 2018, 12:04:47 pm »
Straight edge as a guide down the straight sides, the router makes really sharp straight lines and gets rid of the bevelling problem.  But I guess maybe you already sanded down the sides?

Yeah thatís what I thought youíd suggest. I will likely take a straight edge and do that and just sand to smooth.

proplayer77

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 163
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #235 on: June 27, 2018, 12:29:50 pm »
Nice to see you have started your project. Im on final steps with mine, started about 6 weeks ago and used about total of 5 hours  / week for it sofar. :)

Are you doing any artwork?

Im waiting for the marque art, but its very simple.

JudgeRob

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 385
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,149265.120.html
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #236 on: June 27, 2018, 02:05:29 pm »
Quote
Yeah thatís what I thought youíd suggest. I will likely take a straight edge and do that and just sand to smooth.

It's time consuming until you get a good method down, but the results are so worth it!  At least you're not using MDF so it won't look like Christmas hit your face.   :D

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 321
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #237 on: June 27, 2018, 10:00:36 pm »
Twinsies! 

Fixed wood blemishes with wood filler, sanded over both pieces front, back, and side with 60 grit.

Tomorrow Iíll run over both sides with 120 grit and 220 grit sandpaper and get to painting.




obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 321
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #238 on: June 27, 2018, 10:18:41 pm »
Actually I need to take a step back and put on guides for the back, front, top and bottom portions of the cabinet with wood glue/screws.

Right?  Paint after?  Anyone? ???

Drnick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1284
  • Plodding Through Life
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #239 on: June 28, 2018, 02:20:47 am »
Paint after installation of the guides, especially if you are also going to paint the inside, you want wood-wood connection for gluing and screwing :)

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31