Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: MaLa Hot Keys Question/ Load from BATCH file ? (SCREENSHOT ADDED)  (Read 615 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

mike boss

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2537
Forgive me if this is super easy, but I was not able to figure it out.

Trying to get MaLa to close "The House of the Dead" games via ESC.
I know to close the games require "ALT + F4."
Am I able to edit the hot keys where ESCAPE would be equal to ALT + F4 ?


SOLVED - info found on the malafe.net site.

Another question, for HOTD1 -- when I click the EXE my colors are all messed up.
But if I click the BATCH file to launch the game the colors display correctly.
Can I launch a game from MaLa with a batch file ?
It will still pose an issue as I always have to confirm the settings, but I'm hoping to resolve that issue shortly.
The ability to load from the batch file however would be great as I can launch from MaLa.


SOLVED - using the hotkeys option in Mala I was able to map SPACE (player 1 button3) to ENTER. This will allow me to bypass the settings. For some reason it did not work when I tried using L-CTRL (player 1 button1). Either way I'm happy as this issue is solved.

Thank  you all
« Last Edit: May 06, 2018, 01:36:13 pm by mike boss »

bmanbdaman

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 71
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: MaLa Hot Keys Question/ Load from BATCH file ?
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2018, 06:36:20 pm »
I run mt BAT just fine. Choose .bat for the extension.

Code: [Select]
@thotd.exe -d3d -d3d_setup

Mouse exits the game OK as well after ESC.

mike boss

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2537
Re: MaLa Hot Keys Question/ Load from BATCH file ?
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2018, 08:27:29 am »
I appreciate the info, thank you.
I wonder if all will close well with ESC....hmmm
Now I just need to solve the issue I get where I need to
confirm my settings at every boot. I ran HOTD before on an older PC
with no issues. Now on this set up I get issues....WTF!
I need everything to be a simple as possible as I'll be using MaLa and
mouse clicks not really an option. I know I solved (with help) my MaLa loss
of focus issue with the help of Da Old Man. This may required some help also!


As noted above I solved my two issues. The actual information for how to exit a game using ALT +F4 was found on the malafe.net site. I then used what little I learned about hotkeys to map my SPACE button to ENTER to bypass the options issue when playing HOTD1. I just need to test now to see if the SPACE button will cause any issue with HOTD 2 & 3.


« Last Edit: May 06, 2018, 01:38:14 pm by mike boss »

mike boss

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2537
Re: MaLa Hot Keys Question/ Load from BATCH file ?
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2018, 08:43:56 pm »
Ok here are some details.
Image one is the contents of the HOTD folder.
Image two is how the game displays if launched from the EXE.
Image three is the settings screen that displays when launched from the BAT file.
I'd like to disable this, or find out how I can change it where the option is already selected.
As seen in image 4, the game displays with proper color when launched via the BAT file.
Any help is appreciated.

Thanks

EDIT - I enabled hot keys via Mala, but I noticed HOTD will close. But then shows in my taskbar as still running.
I'd like to try and solve this as I'm sure it will cause some complications with it still running. I hate the fact that the game wants to you to confirm exit. I think if I can switch the hot key to = ALT + F4 it eliminates the need to confirm quit/exit


Hot Key issue solved with the info posted directly on the malafe.net site. Thanks
EDIT - If you look at image 3, I can skip this by simply hitting enter. I don't need to specifically click on anything. I'm just unsure of things like Auto Hot Key, etc. Would a pre command work to emulate pressing "ENTER." ?
« Last Edit: May 06, 2018, 01:27:11 pm by mike boss »

DaOld Man

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4743
  • Wheres my coffee?
    • Skenny's Outpost
Re: MaLa Hot Keys Question/ Load from BATCH file ? (SCREENSHOT ADDED)
« Reply #4 on: May 05, 2018, 08:24:35 pm »
Anyway to set those options with arguments from the exe command?

mike boss

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2537
Re: MaLa Hot Keys Question/ Load from BATCH file ? (SCREENSHOT ADDED)
« Reply #5 on: May 06, 2018, 06:57:04 am »
Anyway to set those options with arguments from the exe command?


I'm unsure.

I'm looking into Auto Hot Key now for possible help.
I'm not well versed in AutoHotKey, but I'm hoping it will help to resolve both issues.
I'm also looking to have all the HOTD games display on one list. Prior I had them in one list but they appeared as HOTD3D-shortuct, HOTD2-shortcut, etc. I wanted the games to display as House Of The Dead 1 thru 3. I got them to display correctly, but they are individual lists.

EDIT - I got all the games on the one list displaying with the correct names.
I spent a lil bit this morning on YouTube trying to learn about AutoHotKey.....I haven't figured it out yet.
I feel (from what I know) that it will be the means to fix it. It's just writing the script that is the hard part.
« Last Edit: May 06, 2018, 12:41:29 pm by mike boss »

bmanbdaman

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 71
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: MaLa Hot Keys Question/ Load from BATCH file ? (SCREENSHOT ADDED)
« Reply #6 on: May 09, 2018, 06:28:17 pm »
I ended up shortening my .bat and this ran fine. I guess you have to initialize at least once?

@thotd.exe -d3d

I checked my Compatibility Mode on thotd.exe and it was WinXP/640x480/256 Colors

mike boss

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2537
Re: MaLa Hot Keys Question/ Load from BATCH file ? (SCREENSHOT ADDED)
« Reply #7 on: May 10, 2018, 08:56:57 am »
I'll try this outside of mala and see if it works. If so I'll adjust my mala settings.
Thank you

mike boss

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2537
Re: MaLa Hot Keys Question/ Load from BATCH file ? (SCREENSHOT ADDED)
« Reply #8 on: May 12, 2018, 02:52:13 pm »
I plan on trying this shortly.
I'll post my findings.

Thanks


Modified the BAT file as mentioned above, it did the trick.................... THANK YOU!
So I eliminated the HOTKEY and all seems fine.
I'll do a couple more reboots and do a bit more testing later.

Thanks again
« Last Edit: May 12, 2018, 04:56:39 pm by mike boss »

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31