Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: [SOLVED] Mouse issue for spinner in advmame  (Read 907 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Marcoqwerty

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 105
[SOLVED] Mouse issue for spinner in advmame
« on: April 23, 2018, 06:46:03 am »
Again here... ;D

This time i have a sall issue with mouse (spinner) detection on ADVMAME 1.4:

Hardware:

- Ultimarc MINIPAC
- Raspberry PI3

WERE IM SURE IT WORKS...

- On windows as X axis
- On linux after the test below

What i have do:

- Test if the mouse works on raspberry (YES ITS WORK), i followed this guide:

https://github.com/RetroPie/RetroPie-Setup/wiki/Spinners,-Trackballs,-Lightguns,-and-other-Mouse-Devices#advancemame-mouse-input-testing

- Change the line on advmame-1.4.rc and advmame.rc:

https://github.com/RetroPie/RetroPie-Setup/wiki/Spinners,-Trackballs,-Lightguns,-and-other-Mouse-Devices#spinner

RESULT

- When i open advmame TAB controls mapping, nothing were detect at the ANALOG CONTROL when i moving the SPINNER.  :hissy:

I missing some step?

« Last Edit: April 24, 2018, 09:48:47 am by Marcoqwerty »

DaOld Man

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4758
  • Wheres my coffee?
    • Skenny's Outpost

Marcoqwerty

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 105
Re: Mouse issue for spinner in advmame
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2018, 09:05:48 am »
Already added to both .rc file, advmame-1.4.rc and advmame.rc

I add these files renamed as jpg

Marcoqwerty

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 105
Re: Mouse issue for spinner in advmame
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2018, 06:58:12 pm »
Sorry but...its normal the files MOUSE0 where are pointing the Advmame-1.4.rc are empty?

Code: [Select]
device_mouse raw
device_raw_mousedev[0] /dev/input/mouse0
device_raw_mousedev[1] /dev/input/mouse1
device_raw_mousedev[2] /dev/input/mouse2
device_raw_mousedev[3] /dev/input/mouse3
device_raw_mousetype[0] ps2
device_raw_mousetype[1] ps2
device_raw_mousetype[2] ps2
device_raw_mousetype[3] ps2

Marcoqwerty

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 105
Re: Mouse issue for spinner in advmame
« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2018, 10:11:39 pm »
After this aweasome post:

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,150652.0.html

I discovered the mouse works on game...BUT WRONG!

I do not know why but under windows works perfect and smoot....here make only small steps from 1....0....-1 on every direction i rotate the spinner.

Happens from the beginning but i had ignored this...

Im quite lost and tired at the moment, i hope there will a solution!  :banghead: :banghead: :banghead: :banghead: :cry:

Marcoqwerty

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 105
Re: [SOLVED] Mouse issue for spinner in advmame
« Reply #5 on: April 24, 2018, 09:53:03 am »
SOLVED

i found a wrong contact between the +5v and GND.

The issue (on my case) is the +5v not the discovered wrong shourtcut:

+5v -------------------------- + 5v Raspberry
GND BUTTON ------------------------------  GND minipac encoder
-5v and NO button contact  ------------------------------   Input signal Minipac


Now it works!

the contacts were really close and making some trouble on this way, now i have checked and works perfectly!

The consideration about to "NOT TRUST TAB MENU FOR SETUP ANALOGS CONTROLS" are true! please be careful and do not trust at this menu, play a game and check directly!  ;)
« Last Edit: April 25, 2018, 11:01:24 am by Marcoqwerty »

DaOld Man

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4758
  • Wheres my coffee?
    • Skenny's Outpost
Re: [SOLVED] Mouse issue for spinner in advmame
« Reply #6 on: April 25, 2018, 10:21:44 am »
Wiring mistakes and a wrongly placed decimal point will get you every time. LOL
Glad you got this fixed, and thanks for sharing, it might help someone else along the way.

nitrogen_widget

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1067
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: [SOLVED] Mouse issue for spinner in advmame
« Reply #7 on: April 27, 2018, 02:14:11 pm »
Glad you struggled through this.
I'm building a small cab using a 2 1/2" ps2 trackball and your pain got me in the right direction to get my trackball working so Thanks!


Marcoqwerty

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 105
Re: [SOLVED] Mouse issue for spinner in advmame
« Reply #8 on: May 04, 2018, 04:07:01 am »
Glad you struggled through this.
I'm building a small cab using a 2 1/2" ps2 trackball and your pain got me in the right direction to get my trackball working so Thanks!

 :cheers:

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31