Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Groovymame, Switch 57Hz to 60Hz for the Games!  (Read 553 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

marcelosofth

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Groovymame, Switch 57Hz to 60Hz for the Games!
« on: April 13, 2018, 09:32:57 am »
Hello friends,

Friends, what is the definition for me to put in mame.ini to change the frequency of the games 320x224 (H) 57.230000 Hz to 320x224 (H) 60.054389 Hz?
« Last Edit: April 13, 2018, 02:47:38 pm by marcelosofth »

yo1dog

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 230
    • MikeArcade
Re: Groovymame, Switch 57Hz to 60Hz for the Games!
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2018, 03:30:59 pm »
Not sure why you removed the original context of this question. You originally said that you were using crt_emudriver and GroovyMAME. You said the geometry for Sega System 16 games was offset downwards on your CRT. You mentioned that GroovyMAME/switchres was using a 320x224 (H) 57.230000 modeline instead of 320x224 (H) 60.054389 for these games. Now you are asking: How do I get switchres to use a refresh rate of 60.054389?

My question for you is: What is the native refresh rate for your Sega System 16 games? If it's 57.23Hz, why are you trying to force it to 60Hz?

To answer your question: look at this post:
Quote
To force specific MAME and Groovy MAME settings into one only game/machine (or just the games from a particular MAME driver), a machinename.ini file should be placed in MAME's INI folder (or a drivername.ini in ini\source, for the MAME driver case). The machinename is the exact name of the particular romset (including the ones for home systems, as their BIOS romsets) in MAME, without the extension.
...
to force a particular video mode already predefined in [the] system ... a machinename.ini file must be created containing the line:
Code: [Select]
resolution                XxY@f
...where XxY@f is the "label" associated to the desired video mode according to Arcade OSD.

So it sounds like you first need to ensure that you have a modeline stored in the registry for 320x224 @ 60.054389Hz. Use VMMaker to do so and ArcadeOSD to confirm. Then you need to create .ini files for the ROMs in question which contains the "label" ArcadeOSD associates with 320x224 @ 60.054389Hz modeline. It's probably something like:

Code: [Select]
resolution  320x224@60p

This is assuming you want to force the video mode for only individual games. To force the video mode for all games I believe you can add that "resolution XxY@f" line to your main mame.ini file.

Edit: You should post your VMMaker log so we can see what modelines are being generated and stored along with the crt_range.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2018, 03:50:47 pm by yo1dog »

marcelosofth

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Groovymame, Switch 57Hz to 60Hz for the Games!
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2018, 03:53:03 pm »
My friend, my question is very simple, the System 16 games are perfect, and they use 320x224 60hz but the System 18 games use 57Hz so the image does not plug full and shifted down, I need an alternative to change the 57Hz to 60Hz the same System 16 uses understood?

yo1dog

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 230
    • MikeArcade
Re: Groovymame, Switch 57Hz to 60Hz for the Games!
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2018, 05:19:21 pm »
understood?

I think? :laugh:

My questions and the answers are the same. Just replace "16" with "18". I detailed in my previous post how to specify the video mode for specific games/roms. Try creating a machinename.ini file as the docs I linked to describe.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2018, 06:09:37 pm by yo1dog »

marcelosofth

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Groovymame, Switch 57Hz to 60Hz for the Games!
« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2018, 05:38:22 pm »
Give me a language you use in your mame.ini that you created to run a particular game, so I'll apply for myself ok?

yo1dog

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 230
    • MikeArcade
Re: Groovymame, Switch 57Hz to 60Hz for the Games!
« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2018, 06:15:40 pm »
Create the file "yourMameInstallaionDir/ini/nameofyourrom.ini". In that file put:

Code: [Select]
resolution  320x224@60p


Start that rom in GroovyMAME and see if that works. I think the language barrier may be too great for me to be of any help.

yo1dog

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 230
    • MikeArcade
Re: Groovymame, Switch 57Hz to 60Hz for the Games!
« Reply #6 on: April 13, 2018, 06:16:59 pm »
If you want ALL your games to run at 320x224 @ 60Hz then try adding the following to your mame.ini:

Code: [Select]
resolution  320x224@60p

marcelosofth

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Groovymame, Switch 57Hz to 60Hz for the Games!
« Reply #7 on: April 13, 2018, 06:22:52 pm »
It worked, the line of code that the OSD Arcade generated I put inside the mame.ini and full screen and everything perfect.,tks my friends  :cheers:
« Last Edit: April 13, 2018, 06:59:02 pm by marcelosofth »

yo1dog

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 230
    • MikeArcade
Re: Groovymame, Switch 57Hz to 60Hz for the Games!
« Reply #8 on: April 14, 2018, 12:06:13 pm »
Glad it worked for you.

However, note that because you are forcing the refresh rate to be different from the native refresh rate you will experience either: A. the games will run faster than normal, B. tearing, or C. frame delay/input lag. Depends on how you have everything configured.

That said, I don't know how to combat vertical geometry issues with modelines. Changing the porches won't help vertically like it does horizontally.

Also, because you put the configuration in mame.ini, all games will be forced to 320x224@60p. So any games that are not 320x224 will be stretched and will look terrible.

Enjoy! :cheers:

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31