Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: HDMI scanline generator (just a quick dirty review)  (Read 2064 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

NIVO

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1249
  • danny_galaga is my mail man.
    • N.A.M.E. - arcade cabinet project
HDMI scanline generator (just a quick dirty review)
« on: March 09, 2018, 09:59:49 am »
Just got it in the mail. I hope to test it out over the weekend, but finding time is a  :angry:. $29 shipped on fleabay from a seller in Mitchigan, arrived in 2 days. Saw a few test vids on Youtube and caught my interest enough to buy one. Also like the fact its in-line(no power needed unless you have a long cable run which i dont) AND, no hardware taxation on your system(frame drops stuttering etc etc).

Link to fleabay(I hold no allegiance to seller, just bought it from this person because they were close)  https://www.ebay.com/itm/263385178575

Well I installed this little badboy in 5 minutes(just plug in two hdmi cable leads and all was well. At first it didnt work. Im thinking the switches were put on in reverse compared to what the photo indicated as what switch did what function. Once I figured that out, I turned the switch on, loaded up mame to see a few games. Nothin! Looked around back and noted it said if you see nothing try turning on the sync switch(so i did). Bam there it is i can see faint scanlines. Screen darkens just ever so slightly due to the filter effect taking place. So now I play a few games. Looking good, albeit not up to standards i want. Time to dick with it a bit more.
     OK, it has 3 pots on it R-G-B so i messed with the color saturation just a wee bit and i now think i have it where i want it. Games look pretty damned good if i do say so. Takes away that chunkiness that lcd gives it and reduces the sharpness. Now I am seeing the detail in the sprites like it was meant to look. And at no taxation to your GPU whatsoever. Even has reduced some tearing in side scrolling games which in my opinion is a huge plus. I would say its most definitely well worth the $28.99. Hardware generated and not having to mess with .ini files is where this wins out. Not to mention the look is amazing; night and day difference once you get it dialed in.
So far this is without the smoked plexi glass over the monitor. I am sure ill have to up the brightness 2 notches or so before i put the glass on. But that wont take but a few moments of testing before i put it in.

Thats about it, if you were looking at one and on the fence I'd say its most definitely worth the coin, and the classic gamer in you will be well satisfied.

One last note, havent tested on console games(NES/SNES etc etc) but I cant help but think itll make them look awesome again too. Can't wait to test it against Super Mario World SNES.  Game On!

nipsmg

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1304
  • ROONEY!! ERRGH!!
    • Arcadia
Re: HDMI scanline generator (just a quick dirty review)
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2018, 11:31:47 am »
Images?

Nephasth

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 933
  • Bitches love Centipede
Re: HDMI scanline generator (just a quick dirty review)
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2018, 12:09:17 pm »
HDMI audio doesn't pass thru... Lame.
%Bartop

nipsmg

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1304
  • ROONEY!! ERRGH!!
    • Arcadia
Re: HDMI scanline generator (just a quick dirty review)
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2018, 02:42:07 pm »
oof that's weak.   

NIVO

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1249
  • danny_galaga is my mail man.
    • N.A.M.E. - arcade cabinet project
Re: HDMI scanline generator (just a quick dirty review)
« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2018, 09:18:52 pm »
yea pass through audio not really an issue with most cabinets imo. Really a non issue, why I never mentioned it.

Mattiekrome

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 68
  • Laser Rocket Arm
Re: HDMI scanline generator (just a quick dirty review)
« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2018, 12:49:26 pm »
Have you noticed any increased input lag with this in line?

Moksi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 98
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: HDMI scanline generator (just a quick dirty review)
« Reply #6 on: April 13, 2018, 02:04:27 pm »
i use an vga scanline generator with an vga to hdmi adapter

cant play arcade without it

Jakobud

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1940
    • jakobud.com
Re: HDMI scanline generator (just a quick dirty review)
« Reply #7 on: May 07, 2018, 01:35:37 am »
HDMI audio doesn't pass thru... Lame.

Wait, do people actually use the speakers on their monitors/tvs in cabinets? I did this like back in 2002, but I figured it was pretty easy these days to just hook up speakers + amp...
Jakobud 
Arcade Cabinet Plans and Dimensions http://jakobud.com

gamepimp

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 311
Re: HDMI scanline generator (just a quick dirty review)
« Reply #8 on: May 07, 2018, 08:12:19 am »
i use an vga scanline generator with an vga to hdmi adapter

cant play arcade without it

+1 on this. Although I've always wondered why no HDMI option existed. Glad to see one is available now.  :cheers: Would definitely like to see some screenshots if possible...
« Last Edit: May 07, 2018, 08:15:05 am by gamepimp »

nipsmg

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1304
  • ROONEY!! ERRGH!!
    • Arcadia
Re: HDMI scanline generator (just a quick dirty review)
« Reply #9 on: May 07, 2018, 08:50:33 am »
HDMI audio doesn't pass thru... Lame.

Wait, do people actually use the speakers on their monitors/tvs in cabinets? I did this like back in 2002, but I figured it was pretty easy these days to just hook up speakers + amp...

I've got a "showcase" pedestal base with a 27in LCD on a stand behind it.  Unfortunately I don't have anywhere great besides at knee level to put speakers.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31