Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Begging for mouse spinner activation assistance  (Read 1178 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Hawkeye71

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 56
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Begging for mouse spinner activation assistance
« on: February 15, 2018, 04:45:15 pm »
.. and I do pretty much mean begging as well. I've been trying to do this for a week and i'm at my wits end now.

 I just cannot figure out how I activate a mouse/ spinner on  a Raspberry Pi.


Ive got a Ultimark spinner through an I-Pac and the closest to success i get is once typing cat/dev/input/mice on the PI is a left and right twist of the spinner does react with digits coming up on the screen. Evidently the spinner can be seen and its Mouse 1.

Also a normal PC mouse will react also. Ive also got a Sidewinder Joystick hacked star wars yoke and a racing wheel. lsusb can see those also although they dont react in cat/dev/input....

Have also got a Trackball but as its extremely analogue I think i'm going to have to forget about that.

I have gone through web page after web page how to instructions all week, including that Github.com  spinner page but I just don't understand the instructions or they just dont end up working as implied

Would anyone be above to explain to me clearly how activating these controllers is done as things are getting very close to me having to ask a raspberry themed IT chap to come out and do it for me.

Much thanks

mahuti

  • Wiki Master
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2507
  • Back from the dead.
Re: Begging for mouse spinner activation assistance
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2018, 08:54:30 pm »
What app are you trying to use the spinner in? MAME?
Formerly known for the (apparently now defunct) arcadeartlibrary

Hawkeye71

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 56
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Begging for mouse spinner activation assistance
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2018, 03:19:31 am »
Yes primarily although once I learn how its done I dare say I will use it for other Emulators.

I've got Mame 2003, Adv Mame, Mame4all. At the moment nothing reacts  in TAB

All these gadgets of mine work fine on Hyperspin on the PC but 8 days on I just cannot get my head round how I activate them on a Pi.

Many thanks


Hawkeye71

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 56
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Begging for mouse spinner activation assistance
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2018, 06:49:35 am »
Repeating a desperate plea for help

dbinott

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Begging for mouse spinner activation assistance
« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2018, 04:33:13 pm »
I am having somewhat the same issue. I have it working in Tempest, but not in Arkanoid.

Hawkeye71

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 56
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Begging for mouse spinner activation assistance
« Reply #5 on: February 23, 2018, 06:40:50 am »
Right.

Can I let anyone that stumbles across this thread in the future with similar problems know ... just because there is no reaction in the Advance Mame dial tab it does not mean the  spinner, mouse, trackball isn't already working fine in the Mame. Suggest playing the game to find out for sure

Took me 12 days to figure this out.

1500points

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 557
    • How to succeed at Robotron
Re: Begging for mouse spinner activation assistance
« Reply #6 on: February 25, 2018, 04:02:55 pm »
Have you tried the steps here. Which version of adv mame you use will change the .rc file that must be edited.

The settings in the tab ui do nothing for the setup other than control the dial sensitivity.

https://retropie.org.uk/forum/topic/2836/turbotwist-2-spinner-for-retropie


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31