Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Vcarve Pro and CNC help - cabinetmaker not supporting vcarve?  (Read 1016 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

stuzza

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 493
  • I'm a llama!
    • ScreenshotArchive
Vcarve Pro and CNC help - cabinetmaker not supporting vcarve?
« on: January 30, 2018, 08:40:21 pm »
I have friend of a friend who is a cabinet maker with a CNC machine.  I'd like him to cut some Nintendo Donkey Kong Upright cabs using the plans from classicarcadecabinets.  However his software for his CNC does not support vcarve pro files. 

He can open the dxf files from that site but they don't have any positions for the blocking etc...  If I download a trial of vcarve and load the vcarve files they have all the blocking exact positions on the pieces.

Is there a way to get the vcarve file into a dxf file or other compatible file so he can use that on his machine without having to purchase vcarve? 

Thanks.

EddieM

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Vcarve Pro and CNC help - cabinetmaker not supporting vcarve?
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2018, 01:02:40 am »
The dxf file is located underneath the vcarve file.


lilshawn

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6108
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: Vcarve Pro and CNC help - cabinetmaker not supporting vcarve?
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2018, 01:34:05 am »
you may have to try downloading the trial of vcarve from vectric, loading the vcarve file and then exporting it as DXF from there. it might give you a good DXF to work with.

stuzza

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 493
  • I'm a llama!
    • ScreenshotArchive
Re: Vcarve Pro and CNC help - cabinetmaker not supporting vcarve?
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2018, 08:38:51 pm »
The dxf file is located underneath the vcarve file.

Yeah I have those files but unfortunately they don't have the blocking sections in them which is what I'm after.

stuzza

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 493
  • I'm a llama!
    • ScreenshotArchive
Re: Vcarve Pro and CNC help - cabinetmaker not supporting vcarve?
« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2018, 08:39:45 pm »
you may have to try downloading the trial of vcarve from vectric, loading the vcarve file and then exporting it as DXF from there. it might give you a good DXF to work with.

Unfortunately the trial version doesn't allow you to export a file.

Does anyone here have this software and might be able to export for me?

EddieM

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Vcarve Pro and CNC help - cabinetmaker not supporting vcarve?
« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2018, 09:19:52 pm »
I have Aspire, I can shoot you the vcarve file in dxf in another 20 minutes or so.

stuzza

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 493
  • I'm a llama!
    • ScreenshotArchive
Re: Vcarve Pro and CNC help - cabinetmaker not supporting vcarve?
« Reply #6 on: January 31, 2018, 09:32:22 pm »
I have Aspire, I can shoot you the vcarve file in dxf in another 20 minutes or so.

That'd be great.  Thanks.  I'll pm you my email.

EddieM

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Vcarve Pro and CNC help - cabinetmaker not supporting vcarve?
« Reply #7 on: January 31, 2018, 09:50:55 pm »
Just sent you an email, but I noticed the dxf is 15 mg.  Reason its so large is because when you export from vcarve to dxf, all of the text from vcarve turns to thousands and thousands of line segments.

Hopefully you receive the file, if not I can make the file size more manageable for email.

JDFan

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3047
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Vcarve Pro and CNC help - cabinetmaker not supporting vcarve?
« Reply #8 on: February 01, 2018, 12:36:17 am »
Just sent you an email, but I noticed the dxf is 15 mg.  Reason its so large is because when you export from vcarve to dxf, all of the text from vcarve turns to thousands and thousands of line segments.

Hopefully you receive the file, if not I can make the file size more manageable for email.

Or upload to dropbox or similar service and E-mail him the download link.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31