Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: New Cabinet Build: Lakeside Arcade - plenty of pics.  (Read 7309 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

bperkins01

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 103
  • Plenty of skills.. gaining experience..
Re: New Cabinet Build: Lakeside Arcade - plenty of pics.
« Reply #80 on: April 01, 2018, 10:13:24 am »
Thanks 'DaOld Man'  - I like your Jukeboxes...  I will be adding some of that software to my cabinet.

Great day of wiring and getting things in place.  I started with the marquee LED strips.  These turned out to be pretty simple - I had never worked them before and it looked like they could be a pain to solder. 

I cut off a the smallest section of the strip, put a little solder ball on each pad a then soldered a lead wire into it.  It was as easy as the YouTube video made it look. 



My marquee with strips in place ready for connecting wires.



All  lit up and ready to go.  I may need some diffuser material to flatten out the pattern depending on how it looks behind the marquee.



Here is how I decided to power the cabinet - there are a few 12V items (LED strips, AMP, reject button bulbs) - much simpler to connect them to terminal blocks.  The arcade power supply mounted next to the strip kept everything pretty compact.



I borrowed this Velcro strip idea from someone in the forum (Flynn's Arcade maybe?)  its a great way to manage wires and create pathways.  I ran out of it..  Need to get more to finish cleaning up the cabinet.



A few more wires getting into position on the 12v terminal blocks.



Upper speakers in place - I filled the compartment with insulation and closed it up.  The small amplifier works  quite well.  The best place to put it was right behind the monitor and above the PC. 



The top parts in place for the last time (hopefully).  Cooling fans are under these grates, but they are a little louder than I expected.  So they will stay unplugged until I determine if they are actually needed - or maybe I can find a temperature sensing controller that can spin them up at a variable speed as the cabinet heats up..  The hand holds are working out really nice..  Glad I saw these on someones page.



Here is where I am at the moment - Still need to attach the toe kick and clean up a few items.  I'll be in a bit of a holding pattern for a while until all of the artwork is finalized and gets printed up. 

As for the sound - I connected the amp directly to my iPhone and ran some songs off my playlist to get the levels balanced out etc..  For an arcade cabinet - this box sounds really good.  People said that the subwoofer would need a port so that it didn't sound muted..  I put my hand over the hole where the speaker wire came out and there was a steady breeze - pretty cool.  I did cut a hole in the front to let it breath just a bit more and the bass is reasonable.  I'll mess with it more once the whole thing is enclosed.  Audio off of the iPhone is way better than expected. 

Audio from the PC is not not right yet.  There is background hiss and other noise that makes no sense..  Its certainly coming from the PC since everything is identical except the source.



While I wait on the control panel artwork - I'll start getting the software set up to auto boot, remote access, etc..  clean the shop - what a mess once you get wiring..

(more to come...)
My Arcade Build and other projects here:
https://bperkins.wordpress.com/

Drnick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1147
  • Plodding Through Life
Re: New Cabinet Build: Lakeside Arcade - plenty of pics.
« Reply #81 on: April 01, 2018, 01:25:12 pm »
Audio from the PC is not not right yet.  There is background hiss and other noise that makes no sense..  Its certainly coming from the PC since everything is identical except the source.

While I wait on the control panel artwork - I'll start getting the software set up to auto boot, remote access, etc..  clean the shop - what a mess once you get wiring..

(more to come...)

Sounds like you have a ground loop somewhere,  Are you powering the amp from the PC or the separate PSU,  I had a similar problem and the resolution was to run the Amp from a separate psu.  Also are you running your audio connection next to power?  Ideally should be run as far from power as possible.

jennifer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1650
Re: New Cabinet Build: Lakeside Arcade - plenty of pics.
« Reply #82 on: April 02, 2018, 01:44:48 am »

bperkins01

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 103
  • Plenty of skills.. gaining experience..
Re: New Cabinet Build: Lakeside Arcade - plenty of pics.
« Reply #83 on: April 02, 2018, 08:14:46 am »
Thanks for the audio help.   Drnick - the AMP is connected to the Arcade PS..
I would think some external source is not causing the noise...  simply moving the headphone jack from the iPhone to the PC is the only difference between no hiss and some background noise.

The PC seems to have *smart* headphone jack inputs..  When you plug in the amplifier - it can sense it - it then asks me what I plugged in..
Headphones, surround speakers and a few other options. Its something to do with that - I haven't worked through all of the settings to see if one is better than the other..  Do they still even make sound cards?  Maybe a cheapo one of them with get it if I don't figure it out.  :)
My Arcade Build and other projects here:
https://bperkins.wordpress.com/

Drnick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1147
  • Plodding Through Life
Re: New Cabinet Build: Lakeside Arcade - plenty of pics.
« Reply #84 on: April 02, 2018, 06:59:50 pm »
Yeah they still make cheap soundcards, they also do usb soundcards nowadays, didn't realise the little adapter in a NUC I recently got was a USB soundcard till I took a closer look at it.  Designed to look like a valve tube. Funny looking thing. https://www.amazon.co.uk/Maplin-Audio-Transparent-Vacuum-Stereo/dp/B00QS3QKNE

rave0035

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 42
  • Disassemble First, Ask Questions Later...
Re: New Cabinet Build: Lakeside Arcade - plenty of pics.
« Reply #85 on: April 02, 2018, 08:21:40 pm »
Could still be a ground loop issue.  You don't have the same issue when you use the iPhone since it doesn't share a ground with the amp.

Try plugging the PC into another outlet and see if it solves any issues.  If it does, there are inexpensive solutions.

Mike
You can't truly know how something works until you've ruined it by taking it apart.

bperkins01

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 103
  • Plenty of skills.. gaining experience..
Re: New Cabinet Build: Lakeside Arcade - plenty of pics.
« Reply #86 on: April 03, 2018, 09:01:52 am »
Thanks for the lead rave0035.  I plugged the arcade power supply into a different circuit - still some of the same noise sadly.. 
Turns out sound cards are under $20..  I will play with settings and stuff a bit more to see if I can find any additional clues..  then probably pick up a card.
Its relatively minor - I just hate that type of issue.
thanks!
My Arcade Build and other projects here:
https://bperkins.wordpress.com/

jennifer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1650

bperkins01

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 103
  • Plenty of skills.. gaining experience..
Re: New Cabinet Build: Lakeside Arcade - plenty of pics.
« Reply #88 on: April 03, 2018, 12:35:53 pm »
Hi jennifer -

Sorry I did not respond sooner  :dizzy:  I read through the link and I *think* I understand..  I may be able to put some sort of filter on the speaker lines that are just under the marquee (they are coaxial) that (I'm assuming) blocks above a certain frequency?  (20K?)
They are certainly inexpensive enough to try..

Am I on the right track?
thanks for your help..
My Arcade Build and other projects here:
https://bperkins.wordpress.com/

jennifer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1650
Re: New Cabinet Build: Lakeside Arcade - plenty of pics.
« Reply #89 on: April 03, 2018, 12:43:06 pm »
Well kinda....Basically you loop your speaker wire around (the round ones anyway) And the magnet changes the phase to be out of sync with your noise.

wp34

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3929
  • 8 Bit...16 Shy
Re: New Cabinet Build: Lakeside Arcade - plenty of pics.
« Reply #90 on: April 03, 2018, 12:44:09 pm »
That some nice clean mounting and wiring inside your cabinet.   I especially like how you mounted your PC.   :cheers:

Is that cap just screwed in?

bperkins01

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 103
  • Plenty of skills.. gaining experience..
Re: New Cabinet Build: Lakeside Arcade - plenty of pics.
« Reply #91 on: April 03, 2018, 01:27:26 pm »
Thx jennifer - I will do some more reading on it.  Plenty of time to mess with it while I do other things..

wp34 - yes - the PC is sitting on the shelf and the cap is a very snug fit.  No screws into the PC..  Just three into the cabinet side to hold the cap on.  It is very tightly in place.

I didn't want the PC on the floor of the cab to (hopefully) reduce the amount of dust it sucks in.. and the access is easier to the ports, etc..
My Arcade Build and other projects here:
https://bperkins.wordpress.com/

Ian

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 785
  • "A day without Laughter is a day wasted"
Re: New Cabinet Build: Lakeside Arcade - plenty of pics.
« Reply #92 on: April 03, 2018, 03:53:27 pm »
Make sure you get a high quality marquee material... otherwise those led's will wash that marquee right out.
Every normal man must be tempted at times to spit on his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin to slit throats.

bperkins01

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 103
  • Plenty of skills.. gaining experience..
Re: New Cabinet Build: Lakeside Arcade - plenty of pics.
« Reply #93 on: April 03, 2018, 04:18:34 pm »
Thanks Ian -
   I'm a little worried about that.  I want to find some diffuser material to flatten that light out - maybe an old flat screen TV at the dump and cut the LED diffuser out.

I have them covered with cardboard right now - when I fire the cabinet up - they are a little blinding.

My Arcade Build and other projects here:
https://bperkins.wordpress.com/

barrymossel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 246
  • RetroPie all the way!
Re: New Cabinet Build: Lakeside Arcade - plenty of pics.
« Reply #94 on: April 04, 2018, 10:46:21 am »
Thanks Ian -
   I'm a little worried about that.  I want to find some diffuser material to flatten that light out - maybe an old flat screen TV at the dump and cut the LED diffuser out.

I have them covered with cardboard right now - when I fire the cabinet up - they are a little blinding.
Maybe something like this? https://www.plexiglas-shop.com/GB/en/plexiglas-led/fuer-hinterleuchtung-fgs06f3a5ma.html?tx=7zylw5x7mcm

bperkins01

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 103
  • Plenty of skills.. gaining experience..
Re: New Cabinet Build: Lakeside Arcade - plenty of pics.
« Reply #95 on: April 12, 2018, 04:01:26 pm »
Not much new to report - stalled a bit until the artwork for the CP is completed.
I've been doing software work - learning to program AutoHotkey so that things work the way I'd like..  But I have a way to go on it..  my coding skills are rusty to say the least.

I did solve my crappy sound problem.
Inexpensive SoundBlaster card - bypassed the internal one - no more noise..

My Arcade Build and other projects here:
https://bperkins.wordpress.com/

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31