Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Golden Tee Fore stopped working  (Read 915 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

MillerRichard

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Golden Tee Fore stopped working
« on: January 06, 2018, 02:37:17 pm »
I bought a golden tee off craigslist. Brought it home and it worked fine for a couple weeks.
The game locked up while playing a round.
Now when I turn it on the screen is blank.
I figured the hard drive went bad so I purchased a new hard drive off eBay.
I installed the new hard drive and nothing has changed.

When I turn the game on this is what the green board is doing.
D5A status 2 - green LED blinks
D20 status 1 - green LED on solid
D2 IDE activity LED light is off
D75, 76, and 77 red LED lights are on solid

When I unhook hard drive power the D2 IDE activity LED will turn on but not very bright

When I unhook hard drive communication cable, D2 IDE activity LED goes out

Any help troubleshooting would be appreciated.

This type of stuff is not my background.
Is there someplace I can send to have it repaired? 


lilshawn

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6074
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: Golden Tee Fore stopped working
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2018, 11:10:16 am »
if you replace the harddrive you most likely need to also swap out the eagle bootrom (U15) to support the new drive. it needs to be version 2.09 for it to work. if it's version is earlier you will need to change it for a new version.

that said, if you have no video output, I'd look at your video card connection and power supply. even with no hard drive installed the game will still boot and display information on the screen because that is all contained in that aforementioned bootrom and not on the disk.

check your power voltages and make sure you have good 5 volts and 12 volts (also 3.3 volts if you have a red board) if you have a red board it is a standard PC power supply connection, you can purchase a regular old ATX power supply and plug it on there. If it's a green board, you may have to get creative. Suzo happ has replacement supplies, but they are pretty pricey.

also remove and install the video card, it's a pain in the but to do since it's mounted really weirdly, but  this connection is a source of many issues.

MillerRichard

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Golden Tee Fore stopped working
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2018, 01:23:04 pm »
When I switched out the hard drive I changed out the eagle bootrom as well. The version on the bootrom is 2.09.

I will check the video card and power supply tonight

Thanks for the help.

MillerRichard

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Golden Tee Fore stopped working
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2018, 06:52:49 am »
I took a look at the video card. I removed it and inspected. No obvious damage. Cleaned connection and put back in. No change when I try to start the game up.

I'm not sure where to check the voltage like you suggested. Check it on the main green board or on the video card? 

lilshawn

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6074
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: Golden Tee Fore stopped working
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2018, 09:54:41 pm »
just take a volt meter and set it to read at least 20 volts. find the 2 molex plugs in the middle of the board or going into the back of the harddrive... and jam your black probe in the back of the plug with one of the black wires (doesn't matter which) and your red lead in one of the colored wires (color will vary depending on manufacture of that supply/wiring etc.) but will likely be orange and red or possibly yellow and red)

in any case one of those wires should be 5 volts (5.0 to 5.3 volts) and the other will be 12 volts (11.4 to 12.6) if the supply is low or high outside of these ranges it will need to be adjusted (usually the 5 volt is adjustable) to bring it back into tolerance. if the supply installed is not adjustable and it is out of tolerance, it will need to be replaced.

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3972
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Golden Tee Fore stopped working
« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2018, 09:59:26 pm »
when u swapped the boot-rom u15
did u make note of pin#1 ?

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

MillerRichard

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Golden Tee Fore stopped working
« Reply #6 on: January 12, 2018, 07:47:43 pm »
Checked the power supply. Got 5.3 volts and 12.7 volts.

The new boot rom went in according to the instructions that came with the hard drive.  I'm pretty confident it's installed correctly.

Thanks again for the help and suggestions

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3972
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Golden Tee Fore stopped working
« Reply #7 on: January 12, 2018, 08:16:04 pm »
please answer my questions the way I ask
u15's notch is backwards to the reset.
if u are certain that it is in right
then that leads us to 3 paths

1 question first
what was the label on the old boot room ?

ed


Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

MillerRichard

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Golden Tee Fore stopped working
« Reply #8 on: January 13, 2018, 10:24:32 am »
Label on the old boot rom
Golf fore U15 V1.06
2001 IT inc

The notch is in the direction of the boards outside edge
Opposite side of the status 1 led
Sorry not trying to be difficult but I'm not sure where the reset is

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3972
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Golden Tee Fore stopped working
« Reply #9 on: January 13, 2018, 10:35:35 am »
ok now we are getting some where
ya 1.06 is old.. through it out
the new rom however is the first spot we need to focus
here is why
a=sockets go bad
b=u can easily and I mean easily cut the fine trace under the ic removing it.!!!! ouch
c=u have a bent pin on the new eprom
d=u received a garbage eprom
status 1 is the ide/u15/u2 chain getting reset
guess what ?, something is holding it off
we do u15 first then we move to led1

if u can erase and burn a eprom
look me up in misc forms >ed12< >golden tee golf
u will find 2 .zip files >they are egale 2.09 proper

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

MillerRichard

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Golden Tee Fore stopped working
« Reply #10 on: January 13, 2018, 06:01:23 pm »
I'm not able to erase and burn eprom.
If it's necessary I could get the tools to do so or order a new eprom.

I pulled the eprom back out. I checked to make sure the pins were good.
I put the eprom back in and powered the game back up.

This time both green led status lights were blinking and the red led lights were out.
After status 1 blinks 35 times it pauses and goes solid.
D77 red led comes on while status 1 is solid.
Then status 1 goes back to blinking and D77 goes out.
It's a repeatable process. 35 blinks on status 1, then it pauses solid.


ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3972
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Golden Tee Fore stopped working
« Reply #11 on: January 13, 2018, 06:46:13 pm »
ok now we are getting somewhere
lets pause >u< and I will try to explain to u what I want done next.
the ide cable >hard drive to motherboard< is a 40 pin cable , about 6" long correct ?
see if there is a >plastic pin in it < either end of it ?
if so disgrad the cable as it is a cable select style cable and worth crap to us.
u want a straight through 40 pin ide cable.
now mind pin 1 >normal has a red stripe on it <
this has to line up with the pin 1 on gt board and pin 1 on the hard drive

u have to understand the order of lights
status-2-status-1-led-1 >hard drive activiy in that order
where sub-system has reset >
where system 2 has reset
where bios has reset
now back to the start
if the above is true for you ?
then crap socket
crap eprom
crap hard drive
hard drive can be tested in any pc that gives u a free ide port
I can explain what s/w to get

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

MillerRichard

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Golden Tee Fore stopped working
« Reply #12 on: January 13, 2018, 10:18:33 pm »
The IDE cable does not have a plastic pin.
There is 1 pin that is red.
The IDE cable connector to the board and hard drive is set up so in can only connect 1 way.
I assume this lines up the 1 pin on board and hard drive.

I plug the hard drive in to the board and connected the power to the hard drive.
Status 2 flashes, status 1 flashes and every 3 flashes of status 1 the IDE activity flashes.
On the 3rd flash the IDE flashes and status 2 holds on for a couple seconds.
When status 2 holds on for a couple seconds the D77 red led comes on.
All the other red LEDs are off.
Once the status 2 goes back to blinking the D77 goes back off.

When the status 2 led stays on for a couple seconds the game makes a noise.
Not sure if this helps but I thought I would mention it.


ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3972
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Golden Tee Fore stopped working
« Reply #13 on: January 13, 2018, 11:06:23 pm »
this

if the above is true for you ?
then crap socket
crap eprom
crap hard drive
hard drive can be tested in any pc that gives u a free ide port
I can explain what s/w to get

can u test the hard drive ?

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

MillerRichard

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Golden Tee Fore stopped working
« Reply #14 on: January 14, 2018, 10:04:15 am »
I will need a couple days to test hard drive.
Would it do me any good to try the old hard drive with the new EPROM?

By crap socket do you mean the socket on the board or the IDE cable connector?
There is 2 sockets on the board, can the other one be used for the hard drive?

When the red led for IDE flashes it doesn't appear very bright.
Not sure if this means anything but thought I would pass along info.





ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3972
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Golden Tee Fore stopped working
« Reply #15 on: January 14, 2018, 10:54:01 am »
socket for u15
and  go get chd.exe and look in your pm I will tell u where to get the chd u need
also find mini parition tool >>9<< do no use 10
download it also
and away we go

edit:
chk your pm

ed
« Last Edit: January 14, 2018, 11:00:37 am by ed12 »
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31