Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: RetroArch - configuration thoughts for video and audio  (Read 795 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

proplayer77

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 163
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
RetroArch - configuration thoughts for video and audio
« on: January 05, 2018, 06:47:57 am »
Im wondering if i can find somewhere a tested list for best settings in RetroArch for cabins with 16:9 LCD screens and amps for speakers?

My settings:

LCD (Im using 24" FullHD)

Im using now from Retroarch 16:15 resolution.
Im not really sure if thats the best way to go, but this is what im using atm.

Sound (im using 2 x 4" with a 2x15W small amp 12v)

I have out the Audio volume DB 10
Mixer level 5

Attached pics from settings:


Would be interesting to hear other cabinowners settings and this topic can help out newcommers too?







ivwshane

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1021
    • My first mame cab! (WIP)
Re: RetroArch - configuration thoughts for video and audio
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2018, 03:12:03 pm »
I just left the settings to their default. I haven't heard a complaint yet.

barrymossel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 375
  • Spectrum
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,157647.0.html
Re: RetroArch - configuration thoughts for video and audio
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2018, 04:25:10 am »
I just left the settings to their default. I haven't heard a complaint yet.
Same here...  ???

proplayer77

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 163
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: RetroArch - configuration thoughts for video and audio
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2018, 04:30:01 am »
Which display you are using? If you try with 16:9 display with defaults it makes the pic very wide and stretched. That was my default, so i changed it. Im just not sure whats best :D

Also audio, when i attached the small amp board, i tried to make some changes, just not sure if i should touch these att all.

barrymossel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 375
  • Spectrum
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,157647.0.html
Re: RetroArch - configuration thoughts for video and audio
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2018, 09:36:41 am »
I have 4:3 screens, didn't really try on the 16:9 TV though. For audio I only set the volume to 100 in Emulationstation. Works fine for me. The only thing I hate is that different games have different volumes.  :angry:

morton

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 232
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: RetroArch - configuration thoughts for video and audio
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2018, 07:41:48 pm »
I do not do much within RetroArch's settings, and my different monitors I use are just taken into consideration in the Pi's config file, where you can specify the resolution you'd like:

https://elinux.org/RPiconfig#Video_mode_options

By doing this, your Pi is delivering the proper video resolution to your monitor. This will ensure anything you do on the video settings in RetroArch will be correctly translated. I personally leave the settings. You may have well already done the config setting, as I've never had a monitor on my VGA666 work without having the correct resolution set.

As for the audio, the "white noise fix" is something I did on mine because I use the 3.5mm jack for audio.

https://github.com/RetroPie/RetroPie-Setup/wiki/Sound-Issues

The volume I set on the mixer accessed from the Retropie Setup menu accessed through Emulation Station. I turn it up until it is red one notch then back it off one. About 88-90 out of 100 IIRC. Reason being, I see red and think to stop. I presume this may indicate clipping. Clipping is bad and can blow speakers a lot easier than too much power can. Plus clipping sounds like ---steaming pile of meadow muffin---. . The 3.5mm jack is fussy and am contemplating a cheap USB audio adapter as it is supposed to sound a bit better than the Pi's onboard audio. Helps when I run my CRT or PC monitor with an external amp in a cab, but on an LED TV at home the HDMI is the way to go IMO.

Aside from that, I am just starting to mess with RetroArch's settings and rotating games etc. The scaling is going to be important though I think, as I want to get as close to possible as intended with the reproduced image on the screen. Sometimes some trickery needs to be employed on certain games etc... I am not that far advanced.

I have 4:3 screens, didn't really try on the 16:9 TV though. For audio I only set the volume to 100 in Emulationstation. Works fine for me. The only thing I hate is that different games have different volumes.  :angry:

Barry, I believe in RetroArch you can set the volumes for individual games, and then save the config, no?

barrymossel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 375
  • Spectrum
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,157647.0.html
Re: RetroArch - configuration thoughts for video and audio
« Reply #6 on: January 11, 2018, 04:04:06 am »
I have 4:3 screens, didn't really try on the 16:9 TV though. For audio I only set the volume to 100 in Emulationstation. Works fine for me. The only thing I hate is that different games have different volumes.  :angry:

Barry, I believe in RetroArch you can set the volumes for individual games, and then save the config, no?
Ah thanks, didn't think of that. Sounds like a lot of work, but might be worth it. Sometime, when I finished my cab and I will make my final RetroPie install...

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31