Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: GroovyMAME with Integrated Intel Video  (Read 1005 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

imtrashed

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 66
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
GroovyMAME with Integrated Intel Video
« on: December 04, 2017, 01:46:37 pm »
Can I run GroovyMAME and CRT Emudriver on my Dell board with integrated onboard video (Intel HD Graphics 2000, I believe from memory) via VGA out to J-PAC and my arcade monitor without issues?  Bought ArcadeVGA card, but can't get it working, but now wondering if I even need it. 

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6196
Re: GroovyMAME with Integrated Intel Video
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2017, 03:55:01 pm »
It won't work with Intel, unfortunately. It's only for ATI/AMD. The "HD" labelling is misleading.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

krick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1927
  • Gotta have blue hair.
Re: GroovyMAME with Integrated Intel Video
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2017, 05:03:19 pm »
You should pick up a supported ATI/AMD Radeon HD 5000 series (or higher) card from the CRT Emudriver 2.0 supported list here...

http://geedorah.com/eiusdemmodi/forum/viewtopic.php?pid=1009

Though they are supported, it's not recommended to use HD 2000, HD 3000, HD 4000 cards.  Much better results are achieved with HD 5000 and higher.

Unfortunately, an ArcadeVGA doesn't give optimal results either.
Hantarex Polo 15KHz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7750 2GB (GCN)
GroovyMAME 0.197.017h_d3d9ex
CRT Emudriver & CRT Tools 2.0 beta 13 (Crimson 16.2.1 for GCN cards)
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4.8GHz
ASUS Z87M-PLUS Motherboard

alex2005

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME with Integrated Intel Video
« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2017, 05:45:39 pm »
whats the issue with the arcadevga?
to me it was easiert to set it up and was really happy with the results (avga 5000)
emulator wise it will require similar setups no matter which one you use.

imtrashed

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 66
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME with Integrated Intel Video
« Reply #4 on: December 05, 2017, 08:04:45 pm »
You should pick up a supported ATI/AMD Radeon HD 5000 series (or higher) card from the CRT Emudriver 2.0 supported list here...

http://geedorah.com/eiusdemmodi/forum/viewtopic.php?pid=1009

Though they are supported, it's not recommended to use HD 2000, HD 3000, HD 4000 cards.  Much better results are achieved with HD 5000 and higher.

Unfortunately, an ArcadeVGA doesn't give optimal results either.
I might give up on this ArcadeVGA card and go that route.  Would this fit the bill? 
https://www.amazon.com/MSI-Profile-PCI-Express-R6450-MD1GD3-LP/dp/B004X6ABTM/
Would definitely be cheaper if Andy will take this card back.  Then I just have to make sure I can run my other games this way (Atari 5200/7800 and NES) in addition to my MAME roms. 

imtrashed

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 66
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME with Integrated Intel Video
« Reply #5 on: December 05, 2017, 08:07:09 pm »
whats the issue with the arcadevga?
to me it was easiert to set it up and was really happy with the results (avga 5000)
emulator wise it will require similar setups no matter which one you use.
Can't get it to work with my PC and arcade monitor.  Thinking it's an issue with my Dell PC or problems with onboard integrated video adapter.  Talked about it briefly here: http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,155984.0.html

krick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1927
  • Gotta have blue hair.
Re: GroovyMAME with Integrated Intel Video
« Reply #6 on: December 05, 2017, 08:35:35 pm »
I might give up on this ArcadeVGA card and go that route.  Would this fit the bill? 
https://www.amazon.com/MSI-Profile-PCI-Express-R6450-MD1GD3-LP/dp/B004X6ABTM/

Yeah, I think that would work.  I did a search on the GroovyMAME forum for 6450 and there were quite a few hits.
Hantarex Polo 15KHz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7750 2GB (GCN)
GroovyMAME 0.197.017h_d3d9ex
CRT Emudriver & CRT Tools 2.0 beta 13 (Crimson 16.2.1 for GCN cards)
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4.8GHz
ASUS Z87M-PLUS Motherboard

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31