Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Arcade Power Supplies - What is the -5V terminal for?  (Read 376 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

bperkins01

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
  • Plenty of skills.. gaining experience..
Arcade Power Supplies - What is the -5V terminal for?
« on: November 29, 2017, 09:41:45 pm »
Hi Everyone,

I have a PS showing up tomorrow - it has -5V and +5V  terminals (as well as 12v, etc)

+5V is what (I believe) is the most common.  I will be using it with an Ultimate I/O board.

What is the -5V terminal for?  I can't find any real references for it..
Just curious.
thx
Bob
My Arcade Build and other projects here:
https://bperkins.wordpress.com/

opt2not

  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4341
Re: Arcade Power Supplies - What is the -5V terminal for?
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2017, 09:51:14 pm »
 Some older arcade pcbs use -5v  to function, and for audio circuitry.   Especially pre-JAMMA pcb’s.

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6796
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: Arcade Power Supplies - What is the -5V terminal for?
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2017, 09:52:37 pm »
Audio amps on the pcbs.


bperkins01

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
  • Plenty of skills.. gaining experience..
Re: Arcade Power Supplies - What is the -5V terminal for?
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2017, 08:24:23 am »
Thanks - I figured it was a legacy output.. Just didn't know what.
My Arcade Build and other projects here:
https://bperkins.wordpress.com/

harveybirdman

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2504
  • SHMUP'EM
Re: Arcade Power Supplies - What is the -5V terminal for?
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2017, 09:55:00 am »
Pro tip: If the sound isn't working or partially working on a board hook the -5v up before you go gorilla handed soldering in new components.

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17026
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: Arcade Power Supplies - What is the -5V terminal for?
« Reply #5 on: November 30, 2017, 10:44:59 am »
Pro tip: If the sound isn't working or partially working on a board hook the -5v up before you go gorilla handed soldering in new components.

Or selling them off on eBay because sound doesn’t work
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6796
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: Arcade Power Supplies - What is the -5V terminal for?
« Reply #6 on: November 30, 2017, 10:46:23 am »
Or giving someone negative feedback because they didn't know about it and thought the sound didn't work on the board you sold them.  (not that I'm still bitter about that 15 years later)


Thenasty

  • Trade Count: (+16)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4176
    • Thenasty's Arcademania Horizontal/Vertical monitor setup.
Re: Arcade Power Supplies - What is the -5V terminal for?
« Reply #7 on: November 30, 2017, 10:54:54 am »
much better, post in the FREE section whoever wants to fix the sound issue.
Thenasty's Arcademania Horizontal/Vertical setup.
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=26696.0

Free VGA Breakout Cable
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=38228.0

Ultimate All in One Coin Mech write up (Make your own)
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=19200.0

Vigo

  • the Scourage of Carpathia
  • Trade Count: (+24)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5726
Re: Arcade Power Supplies - What is the -5V terminal for?
« Reply #8 on: November 30, 2017, 11:04:53 am »
Pro tip: If the sound isn't working or partially working on a board hook the -5v up before you go gorilla handed soldering in new components.

Or selling them off on eBay because sound doesn’t work

Even better yet when the entire cabinet is sold for cheap because it is wired wrong.

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6796
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: Arcade Power Supplies - What is the -5V terminal for?
« Reply #9 on: November 30, 2017, 11:32:51 am »
Even better yet when the entire cabinet is sold for cheap because it is wired wrong.

Bought a Frogger once.  The guy that sold it to me dead owned dozens of games and didn't know that "FG" was the ground terminal on the power supply.  Fired right up 5 seconds after he delivered it.   ;D


Vigo

  • the Scourage of Carpathia
  • Trade Count: (+24)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5726
Re: Arcade Power Supplies - What is the -5V terminal for?
« Reply #10 on: November 30, 2017, 11:40:04 am »
Nice!  :applaud:

Bout 6 months ago bought a mario bros for cheap because the owner couldn't get it to power on, plugged it in to power it up for years as he demonstrated to me, but it suddenly stopped working. I took it home, plugged it in, then flipped the switch and it worked right away. Best I can figure is the dude accidentally flipped off the power switch on the back that he never realized it had.

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6796
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: Arcade Power Supplies - What is the -5V terminal for?
« Reply #11 on: November 30, 2017, 11:53:03 am »
The ones I've seen nail a few sellers are the safety switches that were pressed in by the back door.  I guess someone loses the door, turns the switch downwards, and pulls it out to bypass the safety feature.  Works for years until they move it, and the spring loaded switch pulls back in.

Frankly, if it's not worth 15 minutes of their time to pull it out and look everything over, I'm not going to feel guilty about simple fixes.  I've been nailed plenty of times on bad boards and monitors.


  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31