Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Cocktail Cabinet Rehab Help - Total Newbie  (Read 1382 times)

dookie4fun

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:December 09, 2017, 01:50:22 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Cocktail Cabinet Rehab Help - Total Newbie
« on: November 11, 2017, 03:24:44 am »
I received a non-functional "classic arcade 400v" CRT cocktail cabinet for free and have been doing a lot of tinkering with it to see what is wrong and if I can fix it and now I have hit the point where writing/composing a lengthy forum post feels better than trying any of the ideas I have left.

Setup:
Orion A48JLL40X
Jamma JPAC 10161311
MOBO - AV49P v1.3B
CPU - Inel Celeron 1.7ghz
GPU - Rage 128 Pro
SOUND - Creative Labs CT4750
RAM - MDGVD5F3G375B1EZ4 DDR400 (2.5) 256M*8

Original Symptoms:
No video output with just a blue screen, but monitor powers on
Audible clicking noise from inside case 

Probable source:
CMOS battery had leaked all over mobo
Hard drive had obviously failed

Diary of events:
--Pulled hard drive and clicking stopped
--Pulled mobo out and found lots of corrosion all over the board with leaking CMOS battery
--I replaced mobo/cpu and HDD with garbage parts sitting around. Some sort of AMD setup from a gateway.
--Fresh installed windows xp using old dell LCD
--Installed Rage 128 and sound card into case