Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Mario Kart GP 1 & 2 Network/Lan Support?  (Read 466 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

dgrace

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 194
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Mario Kart GP 1 & 2 Network/Lan Support?
« on: November 07, 2017, 05:46:21 pm »
Is it possible to play this game on the triforce emulator with LAN/Multiplayer support (i.e. using 2 separate PCs) and if not, is there a way for someone to figure that out? Or for future dolphin emulator improvements to be able to play these games (including Fzero Triforce)? Would be sweet. Thanks

nugarp

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 153
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Mario Kart GP 1 & 2 Network/Lan Support?
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2017, 01:37:43 am »
Is it possible to play this game on the triforce emulator with LAN/Multiplayer support (i.e. using 2 separate PCs) and if not, is there a way for someone to figure that out? Or for future dolphin emulator improvements to be able to play these games (including Fzero Triforce)? Would be sweet. Thanks

Is it possible? Probably, but not today.
Is there a way for someone to figure it out? Yes, but that doesn't mean they will.
I don't think Dolphin has any plans to develop Triforce support beyond the fork that already existed.

I'm holding my breath for this as much as you are, but I don't think we'll see it for a long time, if at all.

On a more positive note, you should be able to get the gamecube mario kart double dash to work, as that actually supports lan play: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eKQNw9HsM4c

shaolindrunkard

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 253
Re: Mario Kart GP 1 & 2 Network/Lan Support?
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2017, 03:11:32 pm »
Unfortunately no. But as nugarp said you can play Mario Kart Double Dash via LAN. Although it is limited. It assigns you a character at random and you don't have many options for how you play. The other thing is the game wasn't designed for a steering wheel so it controls kinda funky if you try to use one. But it is playable with a tweak of settings.

I think it will be years before we see any emulator be able to pull this off. I'm a big Mario kart fan and I think its a shame Nintendo doesn't build LAN support into every version of the game...  Double Dash is the only one that came out on consoles that had any kind of LAN/sytem link type support.

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 406
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Mario Kart GP 1 & 2 Network/Lan Support?
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2017, 07:20:56 pm »
Erm double dash supports wheels fine. Even has force feedback

You using correct controller?

shaolindrunkard

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 253
Re: Mario Kart GP 1 & 2 Network/Lan Support?
« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2017, 09:24:16 pm »
It supports wheels and all that but it wasn't designed for a wheel. Whether you set it to Wheel or controller in dolphin, you'll notice when you turn the character turns into a skid almost immediately. It was designed for a controller.

If you look at old reviews of the Gamecube wheel or even reviews on amazon you'll see even then people had trouble using the wheel effectively with DD.

Take a look at this video. notice that the kart turns into a skid almost immediately on a subtle turn. The guy in the video is happy with it and I will definitely be playing some DD on my cab when its done but like I said its playable but its not perfect.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YVkjOB63Lr8&t=453s
« Last Edit: November 08, 2017, 09:28:40 pm by shaolindrunkard »

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 406
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Mario Kart GP 1 & 2 Network/Lan Support?
« Reply #5 on: November 08, 2017, 09:51:20 pm »
ah you could be correct, I remember it was quite sensitive but it still officially supported the gamecube wheel so it's better then nothing I suppose

I wouldn't of relised anything was different the times ive played it as I never played it originally anyway but I turned down that sensitivity a bit and made it a bit better

shaolindrunkard

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 253
Re: Mario Kart GP 1 & 2 Network/Lan Support?
« Reply #6 on: November 08, 2017, 10:31:20 pm »
Yeah you just have to fiddle with the settings a bit and you can get it to decent state. I wouldn't have noticed either but I spent a lot of time messing with the settings and eventually tried to reason out why it didn't feel quite right. Like I said its not enough to stop me from playing, in fact I can't wait to finish my project so I can!

nugarp

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 153
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Mario Kart GP 1 & 2 Network/Lan Support?
« Reply #7 on: November 11, 2017, 02:25:35 am »
I gave MKDD a go tonight. I fiddled around with the settings for a while. Here is what I'm using for a DFGT (separate pedals). Sure, the sensitivity is a little annoying, but I have the drift working just the same as with Sonic All Stars Racing (Ring) now --> Brake + Gas = Drift.

My settings are attached.
I also set the input to 120 for Left/Right (right click those and you can up/down the sensitivity). I know making it higher isn't going to help the low-turn sensitivity but it feels better at the ends of the turn for me. You can adjust as you want.

shaolindrunkard

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 253
Re: Mario Kart GP 1 & 2 Network/Lan Support?
« Reply #8 on: November 11, 2017, 08:16:12 am »
Cool, thanks for the info. My set up is different so I will probably have to mess with the settings on my own when I set it up again (soon). But thanks for the info.

nugarp

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 153
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Mario Kart GP 1 & 2 Network/Lan Support?
« Reply #9 on: November 11, 2017, 08:28:49 am »
Sure thing. Can anyone comment on how to set up networking? I finally tried it and I couldn't get it to work.

My setup:
* Both machines are static IP (192.168.0.5 & 192.168.0.6), Win 10 x64. Dolphin is latest build (5.x).
* Installed OpenVPN as per Dolphin's instructions and added a TAP connection.
* Bridged OpenVPN with Ethernet connection (ethernet isn't connected to WWW, however, just a local switch/hub)
* Set Bridged connection to have same static IP settings as the original Ethernet connections
* Ran MKDD in Dolphin; had already picked BBA in the expansion slot.
* Both PCs/games say that they're starting to link, but when searching for other GCs, the timer runs down from 180 to 0 with no luck.
* Both PCs have firewall completely disabled.
* Each PC is able to ping the other pc just fine.

In addition, that whole bridging mess made things like FNF arcade stop working in multiplayer (one of the cars was wonkily placed like almost near the first checkpoint at the start of the race...).

Thanks in adv!
« Last Edit: November 11, 2017, 08:30:54 am by nugarp »

shaolindrunkard

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 253
Re: Mario Kart GP 1 & 2 Network/Lan Support?
« Reply #10 on: November 11, 2017, 08:32:26 am »
I did it once and don't remember it being that complicated, I do remember sometimes you have to try more than once and it will connect on the second try so maybe try that.

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 406
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Mario Kart GP 1 & 2 Network/Lan Support?
« Reply #11 on: November 11, 2017, 12:35:40 pm »
I only turn on the bridge when I'm gonna play mario kart dd personally and I use a seperate ip from my normal address.

Works first time every time for me whenever I attempt to play network

I found bridge mode didn't work on pcsx2 network etc so its just easier for me. I would love a way to automatically set bridge mode however if thats possible

nugarp

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 153
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Mario Kart GP 1 & 2 Network/Lan Support?
« Reply #12 on: November 12, 2017, 04:25:47 am »
Thanks for the replies. After ~10 hours I have finally figured out what was going on...it was likely that my Dolphin installations were using the same MAC address. I had copied my Dolphin folder from one computer to the other..perhaps a default mac is stored in there somewhere.

What I did to solve:
Go into Dolphin's Sys\GameSettings\GM4E01.ini (INI file for Mario Kart DD)
Added the following:
Code: ("GM4E01.ini") [Select]
[Core]
BBA_MAC = 123456789004

I set the BBA_MAC on my other computer to 123456789003 (it's for machine #3) but obviously you can use any MAC-length value...and now it works 100% of the time (have to wait ~10 seconds for the emulators to see each other).

Next, for Boomslang,

Here are some scripts I wrote for automating bridging. I have only tested this on Windows 10. To get this set up, I renamed the OpenVPN adapter to "Gamecube" so I only had one very obviously-labeled adapter called "Ethernet". What I do is add and remove the Ethernet adapter to/from the bridge. This script is not very robust, but it works. The only difference between the AHK scripts is the sleep period.

Code: ("bridge.ahk/bridge.exe") [Select]
WinClose, Network Connections
; Open "Network Connections"
Run, control ncpa.cpl
Sleep, 500
; Find "Ethernet" Label
Send {E}
Sleep, 500
; Go to "Add to Bridge" or "Remove from Bridge" Option
Send +{F10}
Sleep, 100
Send {Down}
Sleep, 100
Send {Down}
Sleep, 100
Send {Down}
Sleep, 100
Send {Down}
Sleep, 100
Send {Enter}
; Wait for adapter updates to kick in
Sleep, 16000
; Close window
WinClose, Network Connections

Code: ("quick-unbridge.ahk/quick-unbridge.exe") [Select]
WinClose, Network Connections
; Open "Network Connections"
Run, control ncpa.cpl
Sleep, 500
; Find "Ethernet" Label
Send {E}
Sleep, 500
; Go to "Add to Bridge" or "Remove from Bridge" Option
Send +{F10}
Sleep, 100
Send {Down}
Sleep, 100
Send {Down}
Sleep, 100
Send {Down}
Sleep, 100
Send {Down}
Sleep, 100
Send {Enter}
; Wait for adapter updates to kick in
Sleep, 5000
; Close window
WinClose, Network Connections

And my script to launch mario kart dd (bat file):
Code: ("MKDD.bat") [Select]
# Bridge if needed
cd C:\arcade\utils
netsh bridge show adapter | find /i "Ethernet" || bridge.exe

# Run game
cd C:\arcade\games\gamecube
Dolphin.exe Roms\s3-mkusa.iso -b

# Unbridge if needed
cd C:\arcade\utils
netsh bridge show adapter | find /i "Ethernet" && quick-unbridge.exe

100% success rate for LAN Mario Kart DD.

I have some super hacky way to keep my IP addresses the same between both adapters, but it significantly lengthens the mkdd.bat file I use to launch the game, and it needs admin privileges..be careful to note that the IPs of 192.168.0.105, 192.168.0.5, and 192.168.0.205 that I use in the script below should be unique per machine (e.g. another machine will have 192.168.0.6, 192.168.0.106, and 192.168.0.206).
Code: ("MKDD.bat with IP-replacement") [Select]
# Update ethernet IP to some arbitray IP (add 100 to it -- this machine's default IP is 192.168.0.5)
netsh interface ip set address "Ethernet" static 192.168.0.105 255.255.255.0 192.168.0.1 2

# Enable the bridge and update it's IP to use this machine's original IP
netsh interface set interface "Network Bridge" ENABLED
netsh interface ip set address "Network Bridge" static 192.168.0.5 255.255.255.0 192.168.0.1 2

# Add "ethernet" to bridge if it needs to be added
cd C:\arcade\utils
netsh bridge show adapter | find /i "Ethernet" || bridge.exe

# Run game
cd C:\arcade\games\gamecube
Dolphin.exe Roms\s3-mkusa.iso -b

# Remove "Ethernet" from bridge
cd C:\arcade\utils
netsh bridge show adapter | find /i "Ethernet" && quick-unbridge.exe

# Set arbitrary IP address for network bridge (+200) and disable it
netsh interface ip set address "Network Bridge" static 192.168.0.205 255.255.255.0 192.168.0.1 2
netsh interface set interface "Network Bridge" DISABLED

# Restore ethernet IP address (192.168.0.5)
netsh interface ip set address "Ethernet" static 192.168.0.5 255.255.255.0 192.168.0.1 2
« Last Edit: November 12, 2017, 03:04:00 pm by nugarp »

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 406
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Mario Kart GP 1 & 2 Network/Lan Support?
« Reply #13 on: November 12, 2017, 01:13:45 pm »
Woah awesome man. I'll try this out tonight!

RetroRacer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Mario Kart GP 1 & 2 Network/Lan Support?
« Reply #14 on: November 21, 2017, 07:06:58 am »
Thanks for the replies. After ~10 hours I have finally figured out what was going on...it was likely that my Dolphin installations were using the same MAC address. I had copied my Dolphin folder from one computer to the other..perhaps a default mac is stored in there somewhere.

What I did to solve:
Go into Dolphin's Sys\GameSettings\GM4E01.ini (INI file for Mario Kart DD)
Added the following:
Code: ("GM4E01.ini") [Select]
[Core]
BBA_MAC = 123456789004

I set the BBA_MAC on my other computer to 123456789003 (it's for machine #3) but obviously you can use any MAC-length value...and now it works 100% of the time (have to wait ~10 seconds for the emulators to see each other).

Next, for Boomslang,

Here are some scripts I wrote for automating bridging. I have only tested this on Windows 10. To get this set up, I renamed the OpenVPN adapter to "Gamecube" so I only had one very obviously-labeled adapter called "Ethernet". What I do is add and remove the Ethernet adapter to/from the bridge. This script is not very robust, but it works. The only difference between the AHK scripts is the sleep period.

Code: ("bridge.ahk/bridge.exe") [Select]
WinClose, Network Connections
; Open "Network Connections"
Run, control ncpa.cpl
Sleep, 500
; Find "Ethernet" Label
Send {E}
Sleep, 500
; Go to "Add to Bridge" or "Remove from Bridge" Option
Send +{F10}
Sleep, 100
Send {Down}
Sleep, 100
Send {Down}
Sleep, 100
Send {Down}
Sleep, 100
Send {Down}
Sleep, 100
Send {Enter}
; Wait for adapter updates to kick in
Sleep, 16000
; Close window
WinClose, Network Connections

Code: ("quick-unbridge.ahk/quick-unbridge.exe") [Select]
WinClose, Network Connections
; Open "Network Connections"
Run, control ncpa.cpl
Sleep, 500
; Find "Ethernet" Label
Send {E}
Sleep, 500
; Go to "Add to Bridge" or "Remove from Bridge" Option
Send +{F10}
Sleep, 100
Send {Down}
Sleep, 100
Send {Down}
Sleep, 100
Send {Down}
Sleep, 100
Send {Down}
Sleep, 100
Send {Enter}
; Wait for adapter updates to kick in
Sleep, 5000
; Close window
WinClose, Network Connections

And my script to launch mario kart dd (bat file):
Code: ("MKDD.bat") [Select]
# Bridge if needed
cd C:\arcade\utils
netsh bridge show adapter | find /i "Ethernet" || bridge.exe

# Run game
cd C:\arcade\games\gamecube
Dolphin.exe Roms\s3-mkusa.iso -b

# Unbridge if needed
cd C:\arcade\utils
netsh bridge show adapter | find /i "Ethernet" && quick-unbridge.exe

100% success rate for LAN Mario Kart DD.

I have some super hacky way to keep my IP addresses the same between both adapters, but it significantly lengthens the mkdd.bat file I use to launch the game, and it needs admin privileges..be careful to note that the IPs of 192.168.0.105, 192.168.0.5, and 192.168.0.205 that I use in the script below should be unique per machine (e.g. another machine will have 192.168.0.6, 192.168.0.106, and 192.168.0.206).
Code: ("MKDD.bat with IP-replacement") [Select]
# Update ethernet IP to some arbitray IP (add 100 to it -- this machine's default IP is 192.168.0.5)
netsh interface ip set address "Ethernet" static 192.168.0.105 255.255.255.0 192.168.0.1 2

# Enable the bridge and update it's IP to use this machine's original IP
netsh interface set interface "Network Bridge" ENABLED
netsh interface ip set address "Network Bridge" static 192.168.0.5 255.255.255.0 192.168.0.1 2

# Add "ethernet" to bridge if it needs to be added
cd C:\arcade\utils
netsh bridge show adapter | find /i "Ethernet" || bridge.exe

# Run game
cd C:\arcade\games\gamecube
Dolphin.exe Roms\s3-mkusa.iso -b

# Remove "Ethernet" from bridge
cd C:\arcade\utils
netsh bridge show adapter | find /i "Ethernet" && quick-unbridge.exe

# Set arbitrary IP address for network bridge (+200) and disable it
netsh interface ip set address "Network Bridge" static 192.168.0.205 255.255.255.0 192.168.0.1 2
netsh interface set interface "Network Bridge" DISABLED

# Restore ethernet IP address (192.168.0.5)
netsh interface ip set address "Ethernet" static 192.168.0.5 255.255.255.0 192.168.0.1 2


Seriously dude you may have just changed my life ;D  I spent many evenings trying to get this to work and it was suggested on another forum that Windows LAN latency was likely to be the issue and it wasn't possible.   Now I know for sure it can be done!!!

One question, I remember when I bridged the TAP connector to the Ethernet (I am using a crossover cable to connect two PC's) the TAP connector always kept a red X on it as if the network adapter wasn't working (yet the bridge works for other networked games).  Does your TAP show up as working in the Network Adapter page?

I will try this soon and hope I can get it going.....I will be so pleased.
Thanks for this thread!!
« Last Edit: November 21, 2017, 07:10:29 am by RetroRacer »

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31