Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Venting my cabinet  (Read 391 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

morton

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 187
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Venting my cabinet
« on: November 04, 2017, 10:01:00 am »
I am just about to prime my cabinet and the only thing I need to do is place some ventilation on the back side of the cabinet. I originally was going to install two 120mm fans at the top to exhaust the hot air, but realize many cabinets simply have venting. I have a few options, but due to the weather and such, have to drill, and a router is out of the question.

I can either:

- Buy a 4.5" hole saw to cut two 120mm fan vents
- Use a 1.5" hole saw and drill 4 or 5 holes across the top of the cabinet

Would the passive venting with the 1.5" holes be sufficient or would I be best to spend the $$ on a new 4.5" hole saw and install fans? I realize the fans will be more effective, but also see some don't believe fan is necessary and others say its better to have more, but would like to limit my expenditure if possible. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Titchgamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1976
  • I have a gaming addiction.....
Re: Venting my cabinet
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2017, 11:50:36 am »
It really depends how much heat your set up generates.

I would drill some 4.5 vent holes and put a cover over them.

If you need extra cooling just add fans after.

morton

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 187
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Venting my cabinet
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2017, 12:08:17 pm »
Fans I have. The 4.5" bit will set me back almost $40 with tax tho... that's my biggest issue at this point. I'm just using a CRT and a Pi at this point. Not sure if heat will be more than a traditional cab, some of which i notice have minimal venting.

Titchgamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1976
  • I have a gaming addiction.....
Re: Venting my cabinet
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2017, 02:05:02 pm »
If you are using a Pi you wont need and big fans.
Just put a small fan on a pi case and heat sinks on the chips.

Just a few small holes for CRT heat to pass in the top should be good to go :)

morton

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 187
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Venting my cabinet
« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2017, 08:43:37 am »
Thanks Titch :)

Spawn2k

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Venting my cabinet
« Reply #5 on: November 05, 2017, 03:04:22 pm »
If you use a speaker cover over fan hole then the hole doesn't need to be perfect.

WetpantsMcGee

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6709
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: Venting my cabinet
« Reply #7 on: November 06, 2017, 11:49:30 am »
Draw a space invader on graph paper, tape it to your cabinet, use a nail punch to mark the holes, and then drill them out.  That will give you plenty of venting and doesn't cost anything.


bperkins01

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 30
  • Plenty of skills.. gaining experience..
Re: Venting my cabinet
« Reply #8 on: November 06, 2017, 01:00:50 pm »
Cutting larger circles is pretty simple with a router.
https://www.amazon.com/Jasper-200J-Circle-Cutting-Plunge/dp/B00009K77A

They sell jigs for it - but you can make one out of scrap for free for a single use like 4" circles.
No need to purchase a large hole saw..
This style does a neater job.  If the hole saw jumps - you just ruined the surface of your work..
The router style plunges and you just spin around the center pin..
Simple and clean.  cut any size hole you need.
My Arcade Build and other projects here:
https://bperkins.wordpress.com/

proplayer77

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 68
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Venting my cabinet
« Reply #9 on: November 08, 2017, 12:02:53 pm »
On my bartop i used 120x120 fan for the cabin and a 40x40 on Rasp (a bit big but at least stays cool :))

I driller holes and then used a electric saw to cut the square out.


morton

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 187
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Venting my cabinet
« Reply #10 on: November 08, 2017, 07:13:56 pm »
The router makes too much of a mess... that was my original plan and would like to, but it was too wet outside. Realized normal cabinets didn't come with fans, and just elected to drill 5 1.5" holes along the top of the cabinet. They provide more than some cabs appeared to have. If it proves insufficient, I will go back to the drawing board in the spring. Have enough on my plate trying to get this primed ATM... painting is the worst  :banghead:

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31