Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Sony FD Trinitron Wega + VGA to Component Transcoder + crt_emudriver?  (Read 2095 times)

spacorn

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:August 29, 2022, 10:46:45 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Hello!

I hope I'm making this thread in the right place. It's my first time trying to hook up a PC to a CRT TV and I thought I had read and understood enough to try it but sadly I can't get things to work  :dunno

I got a Sony FD Trinitron Wega (KV-29FA540). It's a huge consumer Sony CRT TV. Since it doesn't have a VGA input, I bought this VGA to Component Transcoder (Retrotek VGACTV). Now I'm trying to hook my PC using VGA Output -> Transcoder ->Component cables input setup. It's the "DVD" 480i input of the TV.

I installed crt_emudriver 2.0 on a PC with a R5 230 following this guide, fresh Windows 7 install and all. But on the EDID emulation step, I can't get the TV to show anything. I tried the NTSC TV preset first, then the Arcade 15hz setting just in case, but I can't get any visible image.

What am I missing? Is the transcoder I got not the right thing for this setup? Or do I need to tweak vmmaker setting in a certain way for this to work on my TV?

Please any advice would be greatly appreciated!

PL1

• Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:Today at 06:46:32 am
  • Designated spam hunter