Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: I need fix the "non-power-of-two textures" issue with ATI 9200 and Groovymame  (Read 305 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

metwar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Hello! I'm spanish, disculp my English, please. Congratulations to all the people, I'm pleased to talking here.

I have an Athlon XP 2400+ with a modded avga radeon 9200 for 15kHz, and crt emudriver under windows XP.
When i launch groovymame 0.189 I receive this message: your card not fully supporting "non-power-of-two textures"... and some more about direct3d9 etc...

I'll be very greatful if some one help to me. Thanks.

DaredevilDave

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 165
  • Yes, I really am still working on it!
Hello!

A power of two texture refers to texture images used in the game or program being run. Examples of this would be image sizes of 16x16 pixels, 32x32, 64x64, 128x128, 256x256.....2048x2048....

Apparently whatever you are trying to run contains textures that are not of these sizes. Non-power of two would be 1020x960, 129x129, 53x195, etc.

Your video card is very old (2003 I think) so it sounds like it can't handle these and doesn't support direct3d9.

I think you need a newer video card. Any cheap modern card will do.
« Last Edit: October 18, 2017, 09:36:03 pm by DaredevilDave »
"Computer Space" (1st coin-op game ever) for MAME Front Ends Available Now!
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,155041.0.html

My Custom Motorcycle Cabinet Build For Custom Game (Daredevil Dave):
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,151106.0.html

metwar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Thanks, very much. But I'd readed that if change this in the source files and compile, could fix this issue. I belive that Calamity said this in another post, I'll check it. Of course, You have the truth: my graphic card is VERY OLD, but it's an ArcadeVGA 9200 clone and it's good for many non 3D games. Thanks.


Robbbert

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 61
If you are able to compile you can try this:

Open src\osd\modules\render\drawd3d.cpp

Have a look at lines starting at around 1095 you will see 2 tests for non power of two textures, comment it all out.

Compile and see what happens. It fixed it on my 2011 embedded video, but of course if your card is very old it may simply expose other issues with your hardware.

Good luck.

metwar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Thanks. But I don't know how complile groovymame. I need an updated tutorial. I think that your solution could be posible.

metwar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!

Josef1975

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
    • MY ARCADE CABINET
Compiled version ready to use from bandito :

https://b4nd1t0.blogspot.it/2017/10/mame0190.html?m=1

Thanks robbert for suggestion, if someone Can verify if It works.. I'll try in the weekend in my cab with my old ATI 9250
« Last Edit: November 01, 2017, 07:12:29 am by Josef1975 »

metwar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Downloading for testing. Thanks

metwar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
I'm reading your web about to conect VGA to SCART, and I'm surprised. Very good information. Thank you very much.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31