Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Will this monitor work good?  (Read 403 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

savj14

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 134
Will this monitor work good?
« on: October 12, 2017, 08:57:56 am »
https://www.cnet.com/products/panasonic-ct-27sl13g-27-crt-tv/specs

I have a supported ATI Card for custom modelines . Since this TV has a component connection what do I need to convert this to RGB/Scart and get it on connected to VGA on my video card?

lilshawn

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 5851
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: Will this monitor work good?
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2017, 02:45:14 pm »
you are going to have to convert VGA to "component" and assuming it's proper YpbPr you can get something like this:

https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=7113

you have to really research your TV though and actually scour the manual to find out what the "component" video actually is.... a lot of TV of this era say component.

component could be "YpbPr" or it might actually be Y'UV420 which is not particularly compatible with YpbPr without another conversion or  possibly modifying a setting in the set itself. it may take both...hard to say.

savj14

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 134
Re: Will this monitor work good?
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2017, 02:53:03 pm »
Thanks for the info. I found the manual for this TV here: https://www.manualslib.com/manual/191852/Panasonic-Ct-27sl13u.html?page=4#manual

It looks like the Composite is YpbPr. So there's no other conversion that needs to be done to get custom modelines working? I was reading some other posts here about converting from to RBG/Scart and than VGA. I'm a little confused though haha.

lilshawn

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 5851
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: Will this monitor work good?
« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2017, 03:01:41 pm »
RGB/SCART/VGA are all kind of related. it's red green BLue video signals with sync information carried separately.

composite video has the sync coded in with the video information. this can result in artifacts/shimmering/colorshift in the video signal after the sync is stripped out.

IDEALLY you'd want a TV with VGA/RGB/SCART already so you don't have to convert.

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 331
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Will this monitor work good?
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2017, 09:20:39 pm »
you are going to have to convert VGA to "component" and assuming it's proper YpbPr you can get something like this:

https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=7113

So... that things works backward as well? The listing doesn't say that, it only lists a VGA output?

savj14

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 134
Re: Will this monitor work good?
« Reply #5 on: October 12, 2017, 09:27:19 pm »
Hmm the pics of it show VGA In and VGA out. Hopefully it works as I already ordered one.  :dunno

lilshawn

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 5851
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: Will this monitor work good?
« Reply #6 on: October 12, 2017, 09:30:12 pm »
https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=8668

too many of the exact same looking things

savj14

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 134
Re: Will this monitor work good?
« Reply #7 on: October 12, 2017, 10:08:56 pm »
Would something like this be better?

https://www.ebay.com/i/142525905318

lilshawn

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 5851
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: Will this monitor work good?
« Reply #8 on: October 12, 2017, 11:38:39 pm »
they all pretty much use the exact same junk inside to do the conversion.

savj14

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 134
Re: Will this monitor work good?
« Reply #9 on: October 13, 2017, 12:17:34 am »
So the original link that you gave me for the converter won't work right?

lilshawn

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 5851
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: Will this monitor work good?
« Reply #10 on: October 13, 2017, 11:42:37 am »
no, sorry, that goes the other way. (component to VGA instead of VGA to component) seems they make a pile of converters all using the same case so they all look alike, even though they all do something different. it looks the same as the one I got only it's VGA to component so I thought that was the one.

Monoprice has been good to me about returns. I've ordered piles of stuff from them and returned with no problems. If it hasn't shipped, you can probably get them to change it.

savj14

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 134
Re: Will this monitor work good?
« Reply #11 on: October 16, 2017, 11:10:55 am »
The VGA to Component Adapter didn't work so I'll be returning it. I  think because the TVs Component is 480i and this adapter is 480p and above.

I was reading more up on this and it seems like in order to accomplish what I want to do is by going from VGA--> Scart --> YUV Converter

Scart cable like this: http://www.ebay.ca/itm/VGA-TO-SCART-RGB-ARCADEVGA-CABLE-ADAPTER-1-6M-EUROCONECTOR-for-JAMMA-system-/141663388712?hash=item20fbcbc428:g:DF8AAOSwD0lUfz1z 

Scart to YUV Component Video Converter like this: http://www.ebay.ca/itm/NEW-SCART-RGB-to-YUV-Component-Video-Converter-Scaler-/221156873851?hash=item337dfa167b:m:mL77q83PIBdVHyF2RvMlcww

I just don't get why I'd have to do this instead of VGA right to Component.

lilshawn

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 5851
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: Will this monitor work good?
« Reply #12 on: October 16, 2017, 11:40:09 am »
yeah digging more into the manual it appears later on it does say "set can receive 480i signal only" My old TV has a menu option for switching the input from "interlaced" to "progressive scan" mode. Unfortunately this TV does not appear to have any such option.

the adapter you listed does indicate it outputs YUV and YPbPr.

This is the problem of TV in this time frame. all the video formats where in the process of changing. so there is a real hit and miss.

savj14

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 134
Re: Will this monitor work good?
« Reply #13 on: October 16, 2017, 12:04:31 pm »
What TV do you have? I picked this one up really cheap so I'm considering getting a different/better option.

"the adapter you listed does indicate it outputs YUV and YPbPr."
Does this mean it should work for the TV that I have?

Do you know why I'd have to go from VGA --> Scart --> YUV/Component Converter? I'm confused on that. Wouldn't I be able to do VGA to Component Converter/Transcoder as long as it accepted 480i input? Something like this: http://www.ebay.com/itm/192116647418

Dochartaigh

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Will this monitor work good?
« Reply #14 on: October 16, 2017, 01:18:27 pm »
This is total overkill, but the Shinybow SB-2840 is what most of us use to convert RGBS to YPbPr Component (and is super useful for converting any of your video game consoles which output RGBS, so you can use them on a consumer TV with component inputs).

So you would have to convert the VGA (RGBHV) to RGBS with an Extron RGB interface (which start at ~$20 on eBay), then pair that with the above...I'm sure there's an easier way but this is using the higher end stuff which has useful applications in other areas of your setup at least.

lilshawn

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 5851
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: Will this monitor work good?
« Reply #15 on: October 16, 2017, 02:04:19 pm »
I don't recall the exact model number, but it was a sanyo branded near flat 32 inch model. it prominently displayed "Component video input" as a label on the front center of the unit. I specifically bought it for DVD at the time as my player had progressive scan output. (again that weird time where everything was changing.)

There was a menu option to specifically change the component from interleaved video to progressive.

I've long since gotten rid on the TV, opting to replace it for a 50 inch DLP with 1080i HDMI, later still plasma and LCD units.

savj14

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 134
Re: Will this monitor work good?
« Reply #16 on: October 16, 2017, 02:14:29 pm »
This is total overkill, but the Shinybow SB-2840 is what most of us use to convert RGBS to YPbPr Component (and is super useful for converting any of your video game consoles which output RGBS, so you can use them on a consumer TV with component inputs).

So you would have to convert the VGA (RGBHV) to RGBS with an Extron RGB interface (which start at ~$20 on eBay), then pair that with the above...I'm sure there's an easier way but this is using the higher end stuff which has useful applications in other areas of your setup at least.
Hey thanks for the info on this I appreciate it. So is this what I want? http://www.ebay.com/itm/Shinybow-SB-2840-RGB-SCART-to-Component-Video-YPbPr-Converter-/142537241340?hash=item212fe1b2fc:g:NzUAAOSwL2lZ39Om

What is the model of the Extron RGB? I assume that would have the Scart interface that ties in with the Shinybow?

savj14

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 134
Re: Will this monitor work good?
« Reply #17 on: October 16, 2017, 05:58:39 pm »
I'm going to buy the Shinybow SB-2840. Couldn't I just use the VGA to Scart Cable to connect from my graphics card VGA to the Scart Input of the Shinybow? Using this cable: http://www.ebay.ca/itm/VGA-TO-SCART-RGB-ARCADEVGA-CABLE-ADAPTER-1-6M-EUROCONECTOR-for-JAMMA-system-/141663388712?hash=item20fbcbc428:g:DF8AAOSwD0lUfz1z

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 331
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Will this monitor work good?
« Reply #18 on: October 16, 2017, 07:30:29 pm »
I think you'll need to get composite sync out of your graphics card on VGA pin 13 (normally H-sync) to use the cable you linked. I'm not 100% on that, though. Maybe ask the seller.

You can use Winmodelines to do this with some cards, i think. Might depend on driver version and Windows version. I'd actually appreciate comments from anyone who knows more about the functionality of Winmodelines working with crt_emudriver, because i'd like more info myself.
« Last Edit: October 16, 2017, 07:33:41 pm by buttersoft »

savj14

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 134
Re: Will this monitor work good?
« Reply #19 on: October 16, 2017, 08:45:18 pm »
Has anyone heard good or bad things about this device? This semms to be something that might work in my case as well.

Retrotek VGACTV1
VGA to Component Transcoder
https://www.ebay.com/i/192116647418

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 331
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Will this monitor work good?
« Reply #20 on: October 16, 2017, 10:35:33 pm »
That's a better option because it will take VGA and turn it into YPbPr, without altering the resolution at all. I hear good things about that device.

savj14

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 134
Re: Will this monitor work good?
« Reply #21 on: October 16, 2017, 10:48:26 pm »
Thanks for reply. With that device as long as my Windows desktop is set to 640x480 interlaced I should have no issues in Windows right? And all of my custom low arcade resolutions should look perfect within GroovyMame with the customer modelines?

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 331
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Will this monitor work good?
« Reply #22 on: October 16, 2017, 11:08:22 pm »
If the transcoder works as it says it does, and if you have the OS and hardware to run crt_emudriver, and crt_emudriver is set up right, you should be fine.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31