Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Vertical hold issue on 27” Neotech monitor from a Golden Tee  (Read 302 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

mclovin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 222
  • GT newbie
I am attempting to repair a Golden Tee machine with a Neotech monitor, there was multiple issues with this machine including a major horizontal issue with the monitor. So I replaced quite a few Caps put it back together and all looks great. Then I was having issues from what appeared to be the video card, so I replaced that. Now I have a perfect picture but every time I restart the machine It goes to a vertical split or rolling screen( see attached pic). Then I carefully adjust the vertical hold in the control panel to get it to a full screen again which is difficult and touchy to get hit right. All seems well again until  I unplug and restart, then it goes back to the same thing in a different position or rolling screen.  Has anyone seen a vertical hold issue like this before?

I am a newbie with very limited knowledge so try and bare with me. Thanks in advance!
« Last Edit: October 02, 2017, 02:51:09 am by mclovin »

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3949
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Vertical issue on 27” Neotech monitor from a Golden Tee
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2017, 12:01:42 am »
ya
it is not substaining its vertical lock (sync)
did u replace the bi-polar output cap 10-50mf/50v ?
I forget the true value
that has a lot to do with vert feed back
do u have the schematic ?

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

mclovin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 222
  • GT newbie
Re: Vertical issue on 27” Neotech monitor from a Golden Tee
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2017, 12:32:31 am »
I replaced a bad 10uf 50v bipolar cap at C550 that was shot. But the monitor didn’t do the vertical hold issue before. So I don’t think that cap is related.

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3949
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Vertical hold issue on 27” Neotech monitor from a Golden Tee
« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2017, 11:36:53 am »
oh it is
feedback ..
try putting 20-50 in place of the 10

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

mclovin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 222
  • GT newbie
Re: Vertical hold issue on 27” Neotech monitor from a Golden Tee
« Reply #4 on: October 02, 2017, 12:53:49 pm »
I don’t have any BPs left. I’ll try to pick some up. Could the change in video card do this?

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3949
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: Vertical hold issue on 27” Neotech monitor from a Golden Tee
« Reply #5 on: October 02, 2017, 01:17:36 pm »
50/50
I am leaning towards monitor
but best way is lcd (u should know this 1) (wink wink)

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1139
  • Buy a Multimeter
Re: Vertical hold issue on 27” Neotech monitor from a Golden Tee
« Reply #6 on: October 02, 2017, 01:50:30 pm »
This is a noob suggestion. I just had this exact problem. The vertical hold was really touchy, and would never lock in. The sync cable was plugged into the +H sync pin. I moved it to the -H sync pin and the picture locked right in.

I am new to this so that is probably pretty obvious, but it is worth mentioning.

mclovin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 222
  • GT newbie
Re: Vertical hold issue on 27” Neotech monitor from a Golden Tee
« Reply #7 on: October 02, 2017, 02:33:30 pm »
I am a noob... where would I find the -h Sync pin?

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1139
  • Buy a Multimeter
Re: Vertical hold issue on 27” Neotech monitor from a Golden Tee
« Reply #8 on: October 02, 2017, 03:03:00 pm »


Mine was originally plugged into the red underlined pin. I moved it to the blue pin and the picture snapped right into place. Different monitors are probably different. You would have to look up the manual.



mclovin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 222
  • GT newbie
Re: Vertical hold issue on 27” Neotech monitor from a Golden Tee
« Reply #9 on: October 02, 2017, 08:11:43 pm »
Really strange it would appear to be the video card. I borrowed another one and it works fine. I know this card worked fine in another board. Either way hope this helps someone else in the future.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31