Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Anyone add jamma to a MAME cabinet  (Read 571 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

rackoon

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 641
  • I EAT PENCILS!
Anyone add jamma to a MAME cabinet
« on: September 30, 2017, 04:39:36 pm »
Yea I know, why add a jamma set up if you have MAME running.

To be more specific, I want to add a Soul Calabur II pcb to a MAME cab. It was one of my favorite games and I would like to be able to play a decent version of it.

How are folks doing this in regards to wiring?  :dunno Should I just solder the jamma wires to the disconnects?  I really don't want to cut all the disconnects off and twist the jamma wires on then put on new disconnects. :dizzy:

Titchgamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1827
  • I have a gaming addiction.....
Re: Anyone add jamma to a MAME cabinet
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2017, 06:45:13 pm »
You need to provide more info really.
Whats your current setup?

keilmillerjr

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1257
  • Web Developer.
Re: Anyone add jamma to a MAME cabinet
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2017, 08:29:19 pm »
Use a jamma switcher.

PC -> JPAC -> SWITCH -> JAMMA HARNESS
PCB -> SWITCH -> JAMMA HARNESS

Something like that.
« Last Edit: September 30, 2017, 08:32:51 pm by keilmillerjr »

paigeoliver

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10661
  • Awesome face!
Re: Anyone add jamma to a MAME cabinet
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2017, 08:46:26 pm »
Most important question here really is what are you using for a monitor.
Acceptance of Zen philosophy is marred slightly by the nagging thought that if all things are interconnected, then all things must be in some way involved with Pauly Shore.

keilmillerjr

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1257
  • Web Developer.
Re: Anyone add jamma to a MAME cabinet
« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2017, 08:54:42 pm »
Most important question here really is what are you using for a monitor.

I assumed crt since soul caliber 2 pcb uses a pc with a jpac like device to connect to jamma and crt. I hope I'm not making an @ss out of you and me.

opt2not

  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 4259
Re: Anyone add jamma to a MAME cabinet
« Reply #5 on: September 30, 2017, 09:01:42 pm »
I always say people should wire up their MAME machines to JAMMA.
It can help keep your wiring standard for when you want to upgrade or change it later. Plus itís good for reselling if it comes to that.

Though with that being said, JAMMA switchers can be expensive if you plan on using them. But theyíre the easiest way of getting a switcher installed, if your cabinet is already setup for JAMMA.

A cheaper option is to use relays on your existing wiring. Chopperthedog has done this before and itís the most cost effective way of switching, but itís a lot more work: http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,130607.0.html
« Last Edit: September 30, 2017, 09:03:15 pm by opt2not »

rackoon

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 641
  • I EAT PENCILS!
Re: Anyone add jamma to a MAME cabinet
« Reply #6 on: September 30, 2017, 10:32:47 pm »
my set up is three jfl8's- two are eight ways with 8 ultralux buttons and one is a four way with two buttons

I also have a trackball and a spinner

monitor is a 32" dual sink lcd using hdmi

and finally its all hooked up to a ipac ultimate ;D

the control panel is a copy made from the file knieval sent me / ever seen the neon cab/ it that but green :cheers:

paigeoliver

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10661
  • Awesome face!
Re: Anyone add jamma to a MAME cabinet
« Reply #7 on: September 30, 2017, 11:59:33 pm »
my set up is three jfl8's- two are eight ways with 8 ultralux buttons and one is a four way with two buttons

I also have a trackball and a spinner

monitor is a 32" dual sink lcd using hdmi

and finally its all hooked up to a ipac ultimate ;D

the control panel is a copy made from the file knieval sent me / ever seen the neon cab/ it that but green :cheers:
I don't know what a dual sink is, but since Jamma boards don't just hook up to TV sets you have more problems than wiring.
Acceptance of Zen philosophy is marred slightly by the nagging thought that if all things are interconnected, then all things must be in some way involved with Pauly Shore.

rackoon

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 641
  • I EAT PENCILS!
Re: Anyone add jamma to a MAME cabinet
« Reply #8 on: October 01, 2017, 02:17:39 am »
Whoops! I wanted to type dual sync, It works analog and digital. I guess that doesn't mean much anymore. But it does have vga and hdmi hook ups. :P

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16615
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: Anyone add jamma to a MAME cabinet
« Reply #9 on: October 01, 2017, 01:39:12 pm »
Youíre going to need a separate card to convert the signal to use with an LCD.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

rackoon

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 641
  • I EAT PENCILS!
Re: Anyone add jamma to a MAME cabinet
« Reply #10 on: October 02, 2017, 10:51:25 pm »
Ok i think I know what you mean. Are you talking about a cga to vga card :dunno

paigeoliver

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10661
  • Awesome face!
Re: Anyone add jamma to a MAME cabinet
« Reply #11 on: October 02, 2017, 10:52:33 pm »
Honestly, you are better off getting a second cabinet than you are trying to do what you want to do there.
Acceptance of Zen philosophy is marred slightly by the nagging thought that if all things are interconnected, then all things must be in some way involved with Pauly Shore.

opt2not

  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 4259
Re: Anyone add jamma to a MAME cabinet
« Reply #12 on: October 03, 2017, 12:40:26 am »
Or just sell me that SCII.  >:D

rackoon

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 641
  • I EAT PENCILS!
Re: Anyone add jamma to a MAME cabinet
« Reply #13 on: October 04, 2017, 10:23:37 pm »
No room for a second cab. This thing in a inner city high school algebra classroom. I have been turning on all the youngsters to retro gaming :notworthy:



I have a feeling I am going to end up soldering the jamma harness to the surface of the female disconnects

paigeoliver

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10661
  • Awesome face!
Re: Anyone add jamma to a MAME cabinet
« Reply #14 on: October 08, 2017, 11:45:52 pm »
No room for a second cab. This thing in a inner city high school algebra classroom. I have been turning on all the youngsters to retro gaming :notworthy:



I have a feeling I am going to end up soldering the jamma harness to the surface of the female disconnects

School lets you bring in pirated video games? That is certainly strange.
Acceptance of Zen philosophy is marred slightly by the nagging thought that if all things are interconnected, then all things must be in some way involved with Pauly Shore.

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1057
  • Buy a Multimeter
Re: Anyone add jamma to a MAME cabinet
« Reply #15 on: October 09, 2017, 07:16:15 am »
That ship sailed a long time ago. If Amazon sells the stuff, a school classroom should be okay. ::)

1500points

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 352
    • How to succeed at Robotron
Re: Anyone add jamma to a MAME cabinet
« Reply #16 on: October 09, 2017, 08:27:20 am »
I toy with so many different topics and games in my mame cab that I love having it jamma wired.
For MAME I use a J-pac to a laptop.

I used to have a normal LCD which meant I kept a gonbes cga to vga card in the cab.
Then I switched to a Wells-Gardner 19inch arcade flat panel that has inputs for both CGA and VGA, and converts the signal internally.

Now it is no biggie to run an FPGA in cga video out mode, or even real pcbs like Pacman and Galaxian using a jamma edge connector.

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12211
  • Redhead pee the bed, blame it on a cabbage head.
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: Anyone add jamma to a MAME cabinet
« Reply #17 on: October 09, 2017, 08:35:18 am »
So we're all pretending that Namco System 246 cant output a 31 kHz (VGA) signal right?
2014 Standup UCA Runner Up
2015 Restoration UCA Winner
2016 thomas_surles choice award
2017 International Evil Buddhist Award

Latest project: http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,150902.0.html
RedheadKingPinball aka GingerBalls

KI to Open Ice Conversion: http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,152600.0.html

rackoon

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 641
  • I EAT PENCILS!
Re: Anyone add jamma to a MAME cabinet
« Reply #18 on: October 14, 2017, 01:09:26 pm »
I am kinda shock about this. I assumed that every one was doing this and  I was just to lazy to get around to it, :dizzy:

Here is a funny note about having these games in my classroom, I have had the mayor, a congressman. two superintendents, and all of them shook my hand and thanked me for building such a neat project with troubled youth. No one ever thought about where the games came from :dunno


Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12211
  • Redhead pee the bed, blame it on a cabbage head.
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: Anyone add jamma to a MAME cabinet
« Reply #19 on: Today at 11:55:54 am »
you could just emulate the gamecube or PS2 version?
2014 Standup UCA Runner Up
2015 Restoration UCA Winner
2016 thomas_surles choice award
2017 International Evil Buddhist Award

Latest project: http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,150902.0.html
RedheadKingPinball aka GingerBalls

KI to Open Ice Conversion: http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,152600.0.html

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31